tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

BMW X5 Tyres

Drive a BMW X5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW X5
Toyo Proxes ST (10) 93% 92% 89% 87% 92% 92% 99% 92% 220,700
Hankook Ventus ST (5) 88% 84% 80% 82% 94% 88% 94% 87% 280,000
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (38) 86% 90% 84% 77% 80% 87% 97% 86% 332,250
Michelin Latitude Diamaris (4) 95% 75% 58% 77% 85% 85% 73% 78% 130,000
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF (6) 85% 73% 73% 72% 45% 70% 45% 66% 60,212
Michelin Latitude tour HP (12) 73% 61% 63% 61% 56% 71% 45% 61% 255,415

BMW X5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Proxes ST given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
I do not know how the folks at Toyo are going to better this .... Was on Michelin daimaRis before this... On sedans I've always liked michelin...they're quiet and responsive... On the X5...it's a nightmare... I thought I was Driving on go-karts...because of that, the x5 felt nervous on high speeds and corners... It felt the car was at 180km/hr when I was driving 140km\hr....

The Toyo Proxes ST2...are just like my michelins on my sedan...quiet, low rolling resistance, a good balance of soft and firm ride on the road... And it feels steady on high speeds..and corners...

I don't know how the folks at Toyo are going to top this with their ST3.... 😃

Meantime I'm loving it...
Posted at 2012-08-18 11:40:39
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Diamaris given 93% (315-35-20-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 32000 average miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2013-04-16 05:49:27
Writing about the Toyo Proxes ST given 91% (315-30-20-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 7000 average miles
Changed the run flats on my 2008 BMW x5 to toyo proxy st front and rear partly due to price (half the cost) and firm ride. Very pleased with improved ride quality and no loss in grip wet or dry. Over 7000 miles later and minimal wear showing. Should easily get over 20000 miles all 4 tyres. A friend got over 30000 miles from these tyres on his vw touraeg.
Posted at 2010-09-03 11:51:53
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 87% (235-65-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Getting my second set fitted this week, having run the last set from November '10 to March '11 and Sept '11 through to July '12. Total mileage over this period has been c.20k, and temps have ranged from -18 up to 22+ deg C.

As my daily drive is a round trip of 100 miles over the Peak District, with regular trips down to London/south Wales, I see a combination of country lanes, A-road, dual carriageway and motorway's in varying states of repair and surface conditions.

The tyres were excellent in temps below 2 deg, where there was a risk of ice. Stopping distances were dramatically reduced, general grip and cornering was superb both on the flat and on slopes. Control was still there when the ABS kicked in on icy roads. On unploughed roads, (5-6" snow covering) the grip was not in question, and the driver gave up before the car. They also had a significant impact in wet/muddy conditions, being able to get the vehicle up and out of sloped fields.

There was a noticed feel of instability when temps got over 10-15 deg C, with them feeling a little 'squirrely' at motorway speeds. There was not enough to lose confidence in the tyre, just that they were not as planted as the summer tyres, (Cooper Zeon's on larger 19" rims), although a deeper tyre wall may have contributed to this feeling.

Overall, given my inexperience with other winter tyre brands, the Vredestein is an excellent winter tyre that is more than capable for my needs. The tyre has gotten me out of a few predicaments, and the first drive back from the fitters' in the snow was like night and day.
Posted at 2012-12-05 10:58:22
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
Wear rate is relatively high but they are on an E70 X5 BMW so really shouldn't complain - very little else to choose from in this size and keep ROF tyres so have gone again for the same.

They wear uniformly and keep their grip right down to the wear markers. Have been impressed with the wet weather grip and they aren't too bad ride comfort wise for a 20" ROF tyre - would recommend in total.
Posted at 2011-07-28 01:15:32
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Diamaris given 83% (245-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38000 easy going miles
WE had these on a 2003 X5, easygoing miles. We covered approximately 38,000 miles on them so far - and near the limit soon. I think they will cover 40,000 miles no problem. They are expensive at the outset, but if you treat them well they will last and give good feedback and grip in all conditions.
Posted at 2013-03-22 13:30:13
Writing about the Hankook Ventus ST given 77% (255-55-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2010-08-11 09:16:51
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF given 69% (275-40-20-W)
Driving on mostly town for 10200 average miles
Only 10,200 mi and already need replacement of all 4. I have the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport RF on order and will compare the wear differences between the two...(the Bridgestones are half the price!) I've read similar reviews on both brands. I have to admit the Dunlops do look nice and aggresive on the 20in. wheels though. Let's see how the Bridgestones compare there as well.
Posted at 2012-06-02 19:32:06
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF given 63% (315-35-20-)
Driving on mostly town for 16000 easy going miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2011-09-03 14:58:05
Writing about the Michelin Latitude tour HP given 56% (225-55-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 30 average miles
Using the tyre in tropical country (Malaysia) on my X5 E73, was driving at about 70-80kmph on wet road, making an easy corner, the car lost grip and skidded and hit a curb and it cost me a rim. Recently was driving on wet on a interstate highway at about 110-120kmph on a perfectly straight road, the car suddenly lost control almost hit to the divider, thank God I managed to steer it back to the left and the car cuts thru 2lanes and gain back control on the emergency lane on the left. Thank God the other cars on the road managed to avoid me. The 4 Michelin are quite new, just replaced 7-8 months ago did about 10k km. Really need a new tyre that can help against aquaplaning.
Posted at 2011-01-22 12:34:22
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: