Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel Tyres

Drive a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (119) 96% 87% 91% 86% 84% 83% 91% 88% 940,389
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Falken Azenis FK510 (56) 91% 90% 86% 87% 77% 78% 86% 85% 446,055
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (270) 90% 89% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,619,734
Viatti Strada Asimmetrico (1) 90% 80% 70% 80% 80% 90% 90% 83% 0
Avon ZZ5 (76) 89% 83% 83% 85% 69% 82% 79% 81% 448,567
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (193) 88% 87% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,404,145
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (247) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,748,205
Nankang N 605 (2) 80% 60% 75% 70% 95% 95% 70% 78% 34,150
Michelin Primacy 3 (143) 86% 81% 78% 77% 68% 81% 68% 77% 2,095,473
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (117) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71% 76% 75% 1,453,372
Federal 595RSR (45) 86% 68% 79% 81% 73% 59% 79% 75% 190,203
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (42) 81% 73% 76% 73% 76% 74% 72% 75% 544,510
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (172) 83% 76% 77% 71% 77% 70% 67% 75% 3,486,640
Continental Sport Contact 5 (176) 88% 84% 79% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,872,448
Pirelli P Zero (95) 85% 72% 78% 74% 62% 67% 59% 71% 1,708,173
Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV (20) 83% 81% 76% 83% 52% 71% 47% 70% 202,500
Wanli S1063 (77) 74% 58% 63% 61% 76% 65% 62% 66% 5,673,081
Mohawk M105 (4) 75% 63% 68% 53% 75% 53% 55% 63% 18,356
Hifly VIGOROUS AT601 (12) 71% 62% 61% 59% 46% 54% 46% 57% 128,307
Durun A One (10) 63% 23% 48% 33% 50% 43% 20% 40% 102,000

Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hifly VIGOROUS AT601 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 10 average miles
Used these tyres on the 2000km Canning Stock Route in Western Australia known for its harsh environment with sand rock gravel all thrown in they preformed better then expected
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-28 05:37:49
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 96% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
My final review of these tyres.
At first they were unbelievably good, dry and wet. They did 10k miles and I swopped the fronts for the rears, another 10k and it's just about all over for them. So they've lasted for almost 20k miles and for 18k of those miles they've been excellent. Frankly the best tyre I've ever bought. The last 2k or so they have been going off, not losing grip as such, but the confidence is now lacking in them, they are starting to feel a bit "woolly" and driving over white lines in the wet is a little alarming.
20k miles in a remapped Mondy that's been tuned for torque is very impressive.
I would definitely recommend these tyres as they've been so good. But just be aware that they drop over "the edge" pretty quickly.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-13 15:38:55
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 94% (215-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 miles
Averaging 25k miles per year in a 2012 petrol Ford Focus 1.6 Zetec 125 on 50% motorway and 50% on B roads, the Premacy 3 tyres have never let me down, no issues on wet roads and great grip when it's dry. I'm on my third set at the front and second on the back, the car has 92k miles on the clock as of March 2017. Seriously, I can't complain with that. Reasonably quiet tyres, but I've no idea about how they improve or impact on the car's MPG.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-19 16:53:15
Writing about the Wanli S1063 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Not so bad for a Chinese brand.. I don't need an expensive tire. This is pretty decent and the price is right. Good job, Wanli. Please don't ever downgrade and disappoint me.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-19 06:05:48
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 93% (195-60-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
These tyres are simply superb. I don't quite have a full set (my left rear is some budget thing that I've never heard of - soon to be changed). But the other three tyres do a sterling job of keeping me out of trees, other people's houses, other people themselves and and the general ecosystem in which we all have to live and breathe. I do quite like to get a move on, even in the rain, and these tyres grip like there is no tomorrow. And even when they do let go, they seem to be very progressive, and I have plenty of time to look in the instruction manual to see how I should be addressing the situation. I did have one spin, in icy conditions, going round a right hander (where most of the load would be on the left tyres - see earlier comment), but even that is not enough to put me off these things. Not too expensive, quiet, seems to last (especially considering how I drive). And also quite tough. I feel very safe driving on these things. Can't really ask for more than that. Can't wait till I have a full set!
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-15 18:52:56
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 87% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
7000 miles and all look good. My previously tyre was the Michelin energy and primacy. NOT again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-01 07:03:51
Writing about the Viatti Strada Asimmetrico given 83% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-07 21:47:52
Writing about the Federal 595RSR given 80% (195-50-15-)
Driving on track for 150 spirited miles
Great tire fir $ Replaced 225/50-15 with 195/50-15 and was surprised how much grip I felt at recent autocross. Steering was faster and once tires warmed up didn’t spin back tires too much. I have 350 hp Detroit locker so I was pleasantly surprised!
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-23 22:14:40
Writing about the Yokohama Parada Spec 2 given 80% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Great tyres. Quite soft compound so do not last long but on my Mondeo ST they love the fwd torque.

Great confident tyres, shame they don't make them for the EU anymore.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-27 13:46:35
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Fitted in my 08 Mondeo 2.5T Estete. Did a very thourough research before buying.Read all the reviews. Including american guy who fitted them to his 350Z(very good reviev BTW).Wanted to have tires that will manage FWD and slightly modded volvo engine (247KM power,387Nm torque). Very quiet tire, noticably quiter than P Zero Nero I had before .Excellent grip while accelerating. Me and TCS dont have to fight with the car with the good start 0-100kph. Very good in the wet as well, despite the pattern.Never felt aquaplaning. Tire looks very good on the car because of that pattern.Ride is comfortable,compound is soft and has soft walls (this tire has no XL markings). With that comes disadvantage which I knew before buing.Turn in is bit wobbly while aggresive driving but normal drivers who never used high performance tires wont notice that.When hot (~30C) rubber becomes sticky an feels like there is little air in tires. Despite the softness handling is good at high speeds (~125mph)
Overall - good tire, met my expectations, would buy again
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-27 22:37:13
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre