Ford Focus MK3 Tyres

Drive a Ford Focus MK3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Ford Focus MK3
Continental WinterContact TS 860 S (4) 93% 93% 95% 93% 93% 100% 100% 96% 22,000
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (17) 89% 94% 83% 82% 89% 92% 97% 92% 128,240
Vredestein Ultrac Satin (25) 93% 91% 90% 88% 84% 91% 92% 90% 84,760
Nokian zLine (76) 92% 92% 91% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 596,390
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (121) 94% 93% 87% 89% 80% 83% 85% 87% 1,334,838
Falken Eurowinter HS01 (12) 89% 91% 89% 71% 84% 85% 95% 87% 23,700
Fulda SportControl (38) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 87% 89% 87% 309,931
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (23) 88% 90% 89% 87% 82% 85% 80% 86% 78,500
Michelin Alpin 5 (16) 85% 94% 86% 77% 87% 91% 89% 86% 111,100
Yokohama W drive V905 (14) 90% 86% 82% 83% 86% 80% 86% 85% 117,638
Kumho Ecsta HS51 (17) 90% 86% 80% 83% 78% 86% 79% 83% 267,605
Michelin Primacy 4 (35) 86% 84% 78% 80% 86% 86% 70% 82% 128,730
Nokian WeatherProof (24) 81% 89% 81% 81% 72% 89% 78% 82% 177,414
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81% 88% 81% 292,536
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (49) 86% 82% 79% 78% 75% 80% 83% 80% 409,960
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (21) 94% 95% 89% 90% 86% 89% 88% 80% 141,657
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80% 76% 78% 574,601
Michelin Energy Saver (109) 83% 74% 76% 71% 86% 80% 72% 78% 2,365,208
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78% 74% 77% 1,381,255
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (113) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79% 73% 77% 1,141,558
Michelin Primacy 3 (141) 86% 81% 78% 77% 68% 81% 67% 77% 2,062,073
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Michelin Primacy HP (194) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 75% 65% 75% 4,267,594
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66% 73% 75% 818,878
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (172) 83% 76% 77% 71% 77% 70% 67% 75% 3,486,640
Michelin Primacy LC (11) 81% 77% 64% 65% 70% 86% 70% 73% 191,000
Accelera Beta (10) 86% 62% 62% 56% 93% 79% 71% 73% 179,782
Davanti DX640 (45) 77% 70% 75% 73% 65% 79% 68% 72% 404,596
Firestone TZ200 (25) 79% 70% 71% 70% 75% 72% 69% 72% 552,558
Continental Premium Contact 2 (179) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,164,989
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76% 70% 72% 214,929
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (18) 78% 63% 76% 64% 69% 79% 67% 71% 250,035
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (50) 79% 72% 72% 69% 69% 72% 60% 70% 550,624
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (87) 75% 62% 68% 61% 78% 69% 57% 67% 2,007,921
Landsail LS388 AS (27) 83% 75% 78% 72% 75% 81% 85% 67% 154,662
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (139) 80% 69% 69% 66% 64% 64% 53% 66% 2,016,860
Goodyear EfficientGrip (117) 76% 65% 60% 58% 69% 71% 52% 65% 1,433,767
Infinity INF 050 (18) 64% 45% 57% 52% 76% 49% 48% 56% 147,500
Zeta Ztr10 (21) 60% 44% 50% 49% 62% 56% 45% 52% 61,710
Marangoni Verso (38) 69% 48% 55% 47% 49% 54% 41% 52% 265,079
Kormoran Gamma B2 (17) 58% 34% 46% 41% 46% 56% 32% 45% 132,000
Infinity INF 05 (66) 56% 31% 42% 40% 62% 45% 33% 44% 367,897
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289
Nankang S600 (9) 63% 38% 49% 48% 71% 43% 41% 41% 23,510

Ford Focus MK3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 100% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
First of all let's put this to bed about Davanti tyres, I work in the tyre trade and sell a lot of different brands, the tyre from my own experience and having used two sets so far has been nothing but a great experience, they do everything I want them to do and wet braking is fantastic, handling also amazing, if it's good enough to be used on track cars at autodromo its good enough for me, everyone i know who drives performance cars uses the brand and have nothing but good things to say, let's be honest, I see a lot of reviews by people using terms that people in the tyre trade use to slag off other brands, specially the new boys in town ie being davanti tyres, hope I am wrong and the reviews are all honest
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-12 18:12:13
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta HS51 given 100% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
These tyres , specially HS51 Escata ,
One of the best i ever fitted on my car
On them (25,000 Miles) in all aspects are great i recommend all to buy these
Wet performance is very good excellent , no need have very exp Premium brands
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-21 21:39:25
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 100% (205-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1800 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2010-06-21 20:07:10
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 100% (215-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Have just replaced two front tyres with these and can honestly say they are superb. They replaced ageing Bridegstone ER300s which I now realise were probably some of the noisiest uncomfortable tyres ever put on a car!

The Avon ZV5s are extremely quiet, a joy to drive with and they have transformed my Ford Focus to a hushed comfortable environment. Excellent grip in both wet and dry. Get some, it's like riding on silk.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-22 15:46:36
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 860 S given 99% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
The best winter tyre money can buy
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-18 01:11:07
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 99% (215-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
very good grip in dry and wet conditions , smooth ride , comfortable , low rolling resistance , fuel economy , good braking , good handling in corners ,
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-24 14:19:20
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 97% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
I fitted these to my Ford Focus 2006 model after reading reviews on here, and I am glad I did read the reviews, these tyres are outstanding, they are great in the dry and excellent in the wet (as we live in England, I would recommend these tyres to anyone)

I used to go through tyres really quickly (Avon ZZ3's) but have had these tyres for quite a while now, there is loads of tread to start off with on these tyres, but also has a fairly hard compound, but does not mean it doesnt grip in the dry, because it sure as hell does.

I cannot fault these tyres at all
tyre reviewed on 2010-09-14 01:55:36
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 96% (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25 average miles
Have done 25k on the front and are very near the 2mm mark. Excellent road holding. Will be replacing with same tomorrow.
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-02 21:15:20
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 95% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12500 average miles
I have to say these tyres are the best I've ever encountered. Despite being an F-rated tyre for fuel economy / rolling resistance (suggesting excellent grip), I am getting around 48mpg for a mixture f country and minor A/B roads rising to around 56mpg for motorway and major A roads, which is comparable to Ford's quoted 55-56mpg - impressive.

Tread wear is excellent, after 12500 miles, they have around 2.5mm (I think they started at 8mm) or to put it another way after 12500 miles they now stand at 5.5mm - I should add that these were factory fitted having taken the car from the showroom.

Grip is excellent, I am running the 1.ol 125bhp engine, they are responsive maintaing grip from start, right through the driving range with no judder or wheelspin experienced from either lower quality or poorly maintained tyres.
The tyres also handle well in very wet / torrential rain, frost and ice having driven comfortably whilst maintaining composure at speed on the Herefordshire, Somerset and North & Mid Wales country roads during the winter storms of 2013-14.

The car corners well though it maintains too much grip for quick movements on sharper corners requiring dropping into the low driving range 1st/2nd gears which is a shame as momentum is lost, this is particularly an annoyance for me as the entrance to my street as almost a u-turn from a roundabout, the huge amounts of grip here or very unhelpful - it is these manoeuvres that really let the tyre down as this is where you shall burn through the most amount of fuel.

From inside, the road feedback is good though on newly surfaced roads (not many of these in the UK), it can feel a little dull and almost too protected as though they want to maintain control rather than passing it to the driver (think nannying), though for me, this is a niggle rather than a huge set-back.

Comfort-wise, these tyres really do deaden the noise and associated judder/bounce usually experienced when driving on Britain's roads.

All in all, a good all-rounder with excellent wear and grip on a mixture of roads through different driving styles (both myself and my wife drive differently - she goes mad in my car compared to he relaxed style in her Fiesta), that offers extremely good grip in both wet and dry without compromising too much on fuel economy - think the sole of a Dr Martens boot for wear and grip coupled with the flexibility, weight and performance of a good pair of running shoes: great for most roads and seasons.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-05 13:02:59
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 95% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
Early days yet, but this tyre is showing signs of being just as good as other reviewers have said. Quite a find!
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-31 13:02:35
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement