Ford Focus MK3 Tyres

Drive a Ford Focus MK3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Ford Focus MK3
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (18) 95% 98% 93% 93% 89% 93% 93% 93% 120,730
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (14) 91% 95% 84% 82% 91% 94% 97% 90% 110,240
Falken Eurowinter HS01 (9) 89% 93% 91% 80% 85% 90% 98% 89% 20,000
Michelin Alpin 5 (14) 85% 96% 87% 77% 87% 92% 94% 88% 95,600
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (98) 94% 93% 87% 89% 83% 84% 85% 88% 469,134
Nokian zLine (75) 92% 92% 91% 89% 76% 86% 84% 87% 596,360
Fulda SportControl (38) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 87% 89% 87% 309,931
Yokohama W drive V905 (12) 90% 86% 82% 83% 86% 80% 86% 85% 77,138
Kumho Ecsta HS51 (13) 89% 85% 83% 82% 79% 84% 78% 83% 120,605
Nokian WeatherProof (22) 81% 89% 80% 81% 76% 89% 81% 82% 130,414
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (44) 86% 81% 80% 78% 75% 81% 83% 81% 329,960
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81% 88% 81% 292,536
Michelin Energy Saver (104) 84% 74% 76% 72% 86% 81% 73% 78% 2,268,188
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80% 76% 78% 574,601
Avon ZV5 (109) 84% 79% 77% 77% 71% 77% 74% 77% 1,380,555
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (113) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79% 73% 77% 1,141,558
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Michelin Primacy HP (193) 85% 76% 77% 74% 76% 75% 66% 75% 4,267,594
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66% 73% 75% 818,878
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (170) 83% 76% 77% 71% 77% 70% 67% 75% 3,416,640
Michelin Primacy LC (11) 81% 77% 64% 65% 70% 86% 70% 73% 191,000
Davanti DX640 (39) 77% 71% 75% 74% 65% 79% 68% 73% 370,456
Accelera Beta (10) 86% 62% 62% 56% 93% 79% 71% 73% 179,782
Firestone TZ200 (25) 79% 70% 71% 70% 75% 72% 69% 72% 552,558
Continental Premium Contact 2 (177) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,148,989
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76% 70% 72% 214,929
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (152) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 64% 71% 2,231,801
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (18) 78% 63% 76% 64% 69% 79% 67% 71% 250,035
Continental Sport Contact 2 (222) 85% 75% 76% 71% 61% 66% 60% 70% 4,071,532
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (48) 78% 72% 70% 68% 70% 72% 60% 70% 528,624
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (86) 75% 62% 67% 61% 78% 69% 56% 67% 1,977,921
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (139) 80% 69% 69% 66% 64% 64% 53% 66% 2,016,860
Goodyear EfficientGrip (113) 76% 65% 60% 57% 70% 71% 52% 65% 1,363,722
Infinity INF 050 (18) 64% 45% 57% 52% 76% 49% 48% 56% 147,500
Nankang S600 (8) 64% 39% 51% 49% 79% 44% 46% 53% 23,500
Zeta Ztr10 (21) 60% 44% 50% 49% 62% 56% 45% 52% 61,710
Marangoni Verso (38) 69% 48% 55% 47% 49% 54% 41% 52% 265,079
Kormoran Gamma B2 (17) 58% 34% 46% 41% 46% 56% 32% 45% 132,000
Infinity INF 05 (66) 56% 31% 42% 40% 62% 45% 33% 44% 367,897
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289

Ford Focus MK3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 100% (205-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1800 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2010-06-21 20:07:10
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 100% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
First of all let's put this to bed about Davanti tyres, I work in the tyre trade and sell a lot of different brands, the tyre from my own experience and having used two sets so far has been nothing but a great experience, they do everything I want them to do and wet braking is fantastic, handling also amazing, if it's good enough to be used on track cars at autodromo its good enough for me, everyone i know who drives performance cars uses the brand and have nothing but good things to say, let's be honest, I see a lot of reviews by people using terms that people in the tyre trade use to slag off other brands, specially the new boys in town ie being davanti tyres, hope I am wrong and the reviews are all honest
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-12 18:12:13
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 100% (215-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Have just replaced two front tyres with these and can honestly say they are superb. They replaced ageing Bridegstone ER300s which I now realise were probably some of the noisiest uncomfortable tyres ever put on a car!

The Avon ZV5s are extremely quiet, a joy to drive with and they have transformed my Ford Focus to a hushed comfortable environment. Excellent grip in both wet and dry. Get some, it's like riding on silk.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-22 15:46:36
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 97% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
I fitted these to my Ford Focus 2006 model after reading reviews on here, and I am glad I did read the reviews, these tyres are outstanding, they are great in the dry and excellent in the wet (as we live in England, I would recommend these tyres to anyone)

I used to go through tyres really quickly (Avon ZZ3's) but have had these tyres for quite a while now, there is loads of tread to start off with on these tyres, but also has a fairly hard compound, but does not mean it doesnt grip in the dry, because it sure as hell does.

I cannot fault these tyres at all
tyre reviewed on 2010-09-14 01:55:36
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 96% (215-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25 average miles
Have done 25k on the front and are very near the 2mm mark. Excellent road holding. Will be replacing with same tomorrow.
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-02 21:15:20
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 95% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
Early days yet, but this tyre is showing signs of being just as good as other reviewers have said. Quite a find!
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-31 13:02:35
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 95% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12500 average miles
I have to say these tyres are the best I've ever encountered. Despite being an F-rated tyre for fuel economy / rolling resistance (suggesting excellent grip), I am getting around 48mpg for a mixture f country and minor A/B roads rising to around 56mpg for motorway and major A roads, which is comparable to Ford's quoted 55-56mpg - impressive.

Tread wear is excellent, after 12500 miles, they have around 2.5mm (I think they started at 8mm) or to put it another way after 12500 miles they now stand at 5.5mm - I should add that these were factory fitted having taken the car from the showroom.

Grip is excellent, I am running the 1.ol 125bhp engine, they are responsive maintaing grip from start, right through the driving range with no judder or wheelspin experienced from either lower quality or poorly maintained tyres.
The tyres also handle well in very wet / torrential rain, frost and ice having driven comfortably whilst maintaining composure at speed on the Herefordshire, Somerset and North & Mid Wales country roads during the winter storms of 2013-14.

The car corners well though it maintains too much grip for quick movements on sharper corners requiring dropping into the low driving range 1st/2nd gears which is a shame as momentum is lost, this is particularly an annoyance for me as the entrance to my street as almost a u-turn from a roundabout, the huge amounts of grip here or very unhelpful - it is these manoeuvres that really let the tyre down as this is where you shall burn through the most amount of fuel.

From inside, the road feedback is good though on newly surfaced roads (not many of these in the UK), it can feel a little dull and almost too protected as though they want to maintain control rather than passing it to the driver (think nannying), though for me, this is a niggle rather than a huge set-back.

Comfort-wise, these tyres really do deaden the noise and associated judder/bounce usually experienced when driving on Britain's roads.

All in all, a good all-rounder with excellent wear and grip on a mixture of roads through different driving styles (both myself and my wife drive differently - she goes mad in my car compared to he relaxed style in her Fiesta), that offers extremely good grip in both wet and dry without compromising too much on fuel economy - think the sole of a Dr Martens boot for wear and grip coupled with the flexibility, weight and performance of a good pair of running shoes: great for most roads and seasons.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-05 13:02:59
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 860 given 94% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
After a winter full of snow and about 4000kms on these tyres, on all kind of roads in Romania, from highway to city to country to gravel roads, here are my thoughts about the WinterContact TS860:
- dry grip: very good, not quite on par with the Ccntinental PremiumContact 5 they replaced, you can feel the car drifting a little more in the corners than with the summer tyres, but that is to be expected from a siped winter tyre, and with a tread almost twice as high as the summer tyre (8.8mm when new for the TS860 vs. ~5-6mm for the PremiumContact 5)
- wet grip: very good, never had any slipping or loss of grip whatsoever
- snow grip: excelent, never slipped at all during climbing steep slopes, descending, braking or in curves. Ono could say that it almost takes the fun out of the driving since it doesnt slip at all :)
- wear: here i would say they are absolutely excellent. In one winter and about 4000km, they have lost about 0.4mm from the tread of 8.8mm (measured), so i would say they will last quite a few (read many) winters, in case they wont get cut, punctured or some other damage.
- comfort: very good, about the same as the summer tyres.
- fuel consumption: excellent. In the week i had them fitted, i noticed the fuel consumption was even lower than with the summer tyres. Afterwards, as the winter progresses and it gets colder and colder, the fuel consumption gets higher, but this is to be attributed to the low temperatures, rather than to the tyres.
- value for money: considering the extremely low wear, excellent grip and comfort, they are very good value for money, just as pointed out in most of the reviews, although they are towards the more expensive spectrum of winter tyres.
- buy again: absolutely! :)
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-10 08:14:57
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 94% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 spirited miles
I’ve had PS3’s before and when I changed my tires last year I decided to put the newer PS4’s on for the first time. All the things I loved about the 3’s remain. The quick response. Excellent grip and braking in both wet and dry. I simply don’t slow down for corners like I used to pre PS3 or 4s.

The confidence these tyres give you is excellent. The cabin noiise is about the same as my PS3s and in comparison to the Nexens I had fitted when I purchased my car they are night and day. So much quieter.

Wear is as you would expect. Very average. I have put 14k on my first set of PS4 on my front tyres. I’ve got approx 3mm left on them so I have switched them to the back and fitting 2 more on the front. I expect I will get 17-18k out of a set. Maybe 20k if I drive a little more smoothly.

The fuel economy is marginally better on the 4’s over the 3’s but honestly you don’t buy arguably the best summer sports tyre if you want to save fuel.

All round an excellent tyre. No hesitation in recommending them for any car.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-27 00:56:32
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta HS51 given 93% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
I have these tyres about two years (20.000 Miles) still have 5mm tread on them
They are excellent summer/winter all around .
I think they would last about 50k or less .
Still soft treads not hard dry think after 3rd year will start mid life cycle
I recommend them to all great tyre no need spend alot of money
I'll buy them again


tyre reviewed on 2018-09-02 20:33:31
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement