tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Ford KA 1.3 Tyres

Drive a Ford KA 1.3 ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Ford KA 1.3
Nexen N Blue ECO (10) 91% 82% 81% 78% 83% 81% 86% 83% 79,500
Uniroyal RainExpert (112) 85% 91% 81% 77% 74% 86% 85% 83% 1,041,912
Yokohama A539 (7) 89% 76% 87% 84% 70% 77% 96% 83% 58,000
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (53) 89% 79% 73% 79% 72% 68% 76% 76% 702,148
Dunlop SP StreetResponse (5) 78% 82% 76% 74% 87% 62% 70% 76% 39,105
Cooper Zeon XTC (6) 80% 72% 80% 77% 63% 73% 77% 75% 62,700
Radar RPX800 (4) 83% 70% 73% 53% 93% 78% 68% 74% 81,500
Continental Eco Contact 3 (39) 80% 79% 70% 67% 73% 77% 66% 73% 690,732
Nexen SB652 (6) 72% 60% 67% 67% 78% 88% 78% 73% 51,000
Kumho 758 (3) 60% 70% 60% 73% 100% 73% 55% 70% 15,000
Kleber Viaxer (4) 85% 60% 60% 63% 83% 70% 70% 70% 25,500
Barum Brillantis 2 (24) 76% 59% 66% 65% 76% 76% 72% 70% 160,629
Falken SN828 (7) 79% 40% 47% 48% 50% 76% 56% 56% 51,248
Marangoni elogic (3) 70% 33% 50% 40% 63% 43% 40% 49% 107,000

Ford KA 1.3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nexen N Blue ECO given 94% (165-60-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
I have fitted these to my son`s Ka replacing Uniroyals that had lasted and lasted until sidewalls were cracking. Put Nexen on as had been using this make on my Focus ST to great effect. Given the last few months of heavy rain the grip from these tyres has been outstanding. Several months on there is no noticeable wear and the car is a pleasure to drive.
Posted at 2014-03-19 14:07:39
Writing about the Cooper Zeon XTC given 93% (185-60-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 700 average miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2010-10-15 19:29:51
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 91% (195-45-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I bought these tyres after reading these reviews, I can gladly say all the good things people have been saying about them is absolutely true. They're the best tyres I've had. Ford Kas are known as little Go-Karts, and these tyres make that sensation even better, it really does just go where you point it. I have to really make an effort to get them to lose grip in the dry on corners, I can accelerate through corners with only very minimal, completely expected and controllable under-steer. They're very confidence inspiring. My car has no ABS and my previous tyres had a limit where I could "overload" the tyres with the brakes and slide, so when I had these fitted, I did a similar test to see where these tyres' limit is. It's beyond that of my brakes, In warm dry weather, I literally cannot press the brake pedal hard enough to make them lose grip and slide, with new Mintex pads and discs, too. In the wet, they behave almost exactly the same as they do in the dry, not like some tyres that completely change their characteristics as soon as it gets wet. The grip is obviously slightly less in the wet, but they really do grip well even in heavy rain. If you do manage to loose traction on a corner, the feedback is great and the tyres regain traction almost immediately.

These are quite hard to get hold of now and dealers offered me "similar" tyres such as some "evergreen" crap. I'm so glad I stuck it out and hunted these down.

They look awesome too, with the really agressive tread pattern. They look better in real life than in pictures, too.

Road noise is a little higher than my previous tyres, but not excessively loud.

As for comfort, I've got low profile versions of these, so can't expect a smooth quiet ride anyway, but they're comfortable in the way that you know you can trust the rubber you're sat on to stop you if you need to and to keep your car under control if you corner a bit too fast...

In all, they're thoroughly recommended.
Posted at 2012-05-17 10:34:09
Writing about the Dunlop SP StreetResponse given 87% (165-65-13-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Tried many tyres on the KA, these replaced some budgets. The dry grip is as good as the budgets, the wet grip is out of this world! So much grip in the wet, good comfort. Very happy.
Posted at 2012-09-19 12:51:09
Writing about the Uniroyal RainExpert given 86% (165-65-13-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2010-11-02 11:39:50
Writing about the Radar RPX800 given 84% (165-65-13-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
An interesting tyre. Replaced a mix of Toyo 350 and Contis. More than enough dry grip, more comfortable than the Toyo and as quiet as the Conti. Seem to be wearing very well too.

Wet grip is variable. On normal wet roads they're good, and braking seems to be excellent (for a budget tyre) on any road, however they seem to suffer on the warm greasy roads we're getting in the UK at the moment due to a wet summer. I'm not sure if it's the tyres or the roads, but sometimes they'll randomly understeer.

For the price I'm pretty sure they're better than any other budget tyre and a lot of so called mid range tyres.
Posted at 2012-06-13 11:33:59
Writing about the Marangoni elogic given 81% (165-55-13-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
A very good tyre for the money, big improvement in drive quality compared to my old tyres.
In my view these tyres made an awful car to drive a bit more enjoyable, upon driving 500-1000 miles a week on a full set of these tyres improved the cars handling especially at higher motorway speeds and a massive improvement in my fuel consumption and a very good performance on both wet and dry roads to the point that I was able to stop so quickly that the car behind me unfortunately hit my car. To cut a long story short I would recommend these tyres to a friend and would purchase again no question :)
Posted at 2013-12-28 21:10:06
Writing about the Yokohama A539 given 81% (185-60-13-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2014-03-24 05:37:54
Writing about the Nexen SB652 given 79% (165-65-13-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
'Bit' of a car nut and have paced this tyre under allsorts of conditions. Finished off a front set in around 9,000 miles due to worn outer edges but I do work them hard alot of the time. Rears are blistering on the outer edges after 10,000 and tread is slightly worn.

In the wet the grip levels are modest but feedback and feel is really rather detailed and with no ABS on my car it makes it easy to judge and feel the start of an inside front locking up or the back squirming around. Oversteer is progressive and easy to feel and catch when it gets a bit lairy at speed e.g. 50/60 mph.

In the dry decent grip can be had even when pushing on. During 'highly spritied' driving down lanes etc they let go in a gentle slide when pushed though dont give as much detail as in the wet. Having done a track day with these they lasted 3 sessions at max attack with no sign of wear or noticeable handling change.

Overall a bloody good tyre for what it is too be honest. If your after a budget tyre and like your driving at all, i'd recommend this!
Posted at 2009-12-12 15:44:28
Writing about the Kleber Viaxer given 77% (165-65-13-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 easy going miles
bought for ?33 each
may fitters say its a buget brand but they wear and handle like a mid range
after 8-9 k miles they are less than half worn
owned by michelin but far better durability than kormoran and tigar
Posted at 2010-05-19 22:33:39
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: