Ford Mondeo ST220 Tyres

Drive a Ford Mondeo ST220? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Ford Mondeo ST220
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (5) 94% 98% 92% 92% 97% 94% 100% 96% 7,700
GT Radial Champiro WinterPro HP (4) 90% 88% 83% 85% 77% 80% 85% 84% 20,410
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (267) 90% 89% 85% 84% 73% 83% 80% 83% 3,558,984
Neuton NT5000 (60) 89% 79% 82% 77% 85% 85% 86% 83% 689,708
BFGoodrich g Force Profiler (11) 84% 78% 83% 70% 93% 73% 79% 80% 151,175
Continental Sport Contact 3 (237) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,118,337
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Falken FK452 (208) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,685,411
Michelin Pilot Primacy (50) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71% 65% 73% 974,067
Toyo T1R (274) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 73% 3,519,183
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (54) 83% 69% 76% 69% 65% 61% 59% 69% 833,170
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Falken FK453 (27) 77% 71% 62% 58% 60% 69% 60% 65% 207,200
Yokohama ADVAN Sport (34) 76% 66% 64% 65% 47% 50% 45% 59% 314,562
Accelera PHI (124) 70% 47% 55% 54% 68% 59% 53% 58% 1,110,862
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (124) 70% 48% 56% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,233,457
Wanli Snowgrip S1083 (7) 70% 49% 60% 49% 70% 63% 50% 50% 48,500
Event WL905 (126) 59% 31% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 45% 868,429
Triangle TR968 (67) 55% 32% 40% 38% 61% 38% 31% 42% 469,650
Fullrun HP199 (73) 48% 27% 33% 32% 55% 27% 24% 35% 477,951

Ford Mondeo ST220 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 100% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
Went from the Advan Sports to these, there was so much noise I thought I had a wheel bearing on the way out until I changed to these, one of the best all round tires I've ever used.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-10 17:29:01
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 97% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Recently got PS3's for the front end of my st220 after having horrific problems with noise and grip from the budget federal ss595's that i had on before that were dangerous due to me having 220 bhp going through them. The result is as follows:-
NOISE ISSUES/COMFORT
1) Noise level has been reduced by about 70% on road deviations/general running
2) When going down larger holes/drain indentations the impact is far more cushioned and softer
3)speed bumps i hardly feel anymore

DRY GRIP/WETGRIP
1) In the dry they feel like i have an extra 50 bhp compared to the federals and i am getting about 30 miles extra out of a tank of petol
2) In the wet they grip really well with no loss of traction and great progression. I can also now return to going around roundbouts at speed without worrying im about to visit the cows in the fields nearby like i did everytime with the federals losing grip. Dont know why but i felt very slightly more confident in the wet on roundabouts when i had the Pirelli Zero Rosso's on the front, but this may just be down to a difference in the feel of the tyre as i think the Pirellis may be slightly softer.
OVERALL
Massive improvement in the handling of the car and i would definately buy them again. Not sure how long they will last however i will update when im at about 8000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-25 18:35:38
Writing about the Neuton NT5000 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
I have been getting these for firstly my Connect van which I do 30K + a year for over two years now, also got some for my wifes Mondeno ST they are very good, dont be put off by the name , they are a very good tyre, especially in the wet, as good as the more expensive better know names, I have had over 4 sets of these and would recommend these to everyone
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-01 19:53:06
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Pro given 93% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
I decided to try the Vredestein Wintrac Pro based on the price, available reviews and comments made in the 'winter tyre recommendations' video on YouTube.
I paid £98.00 inc vat per tyre, delivered (225/40 R18).

My first outing on the Wintrac Pro's was a trip from Sheffield to Cumbria in very wet 5°C weather, with a good combination of roads to tests them on. Firstly, I was most impressed with the tyres performance in the miserable wet (very wet) conditions! I came from a Falken ZE310 ECORUN - a tyre which has performed very well for me in wet conditions, but the Wintrac Pro had a noticeable increase in lateral grip while cornering over my previous tyres in these conditions, which left a big smile on my face to say the least! Even when pushing the car a little harder than I was previously comfortable with there was no onset of understeer or loss of feel towards the limit of grip.
I was also able to perform a full emergency stop (wet road 5°C), thanks to a suicidal deer! And in and process the car came to a stop very quickly, and with a fantastic sure footed feeling....the dear walked away to live another day with plenty of room to spare.
I would describe the Wintrac Pro as a quiet, very confidence inspiring tyre with excellent handling qualities, with fantastic levels of grip in both the wet and dry. Extremely happy so far! Looking forward to testing them in the ice and snow.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-09 23:41:36
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Primacy given 89% (---)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Only just had these fitted,they are soooo much better than the Pirelli's i had on before, even in the short time i've had these on they gave me so much feedback. will definately replace the rears with these.
tyre reviewed on 2010-02-23 20:52:19
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 84% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I have had these tyres now for 9 months on the front of my ST220 and have covered 9000 miles.The tread now is down to approx 3/4mm. Initially the tyres were superb and very confortable/progressive and great on wet and dry. They do seem to have worn evenly however for the last 1000 miles ive noticed im getting a little tramlining/play through the steering and they are nowhere near as progressive and feels like ive lost about 40bhp compared to when they were new. Ive tried to combat this by increasing the psi from 33 to 36 which seems to have helped with the issues. Not sure if this was caused by the tyre or the suspension/wheel set up as ive had pothole damage previously. Nevertheless they have been through the harsh winter of 2010/2011 and actually coped really well on the snow on a/b roads when other cars got stuck although i think this was down to them being pretty new when the snow came. I did get stuck once on a slight gradiant in my street but hey they are summer tyres and got me home from work 13 miles on the worst night of snow. All in all they were a decent tyre....as for value for money i'd say average as i will probably get ony 12000 miles out of them (although i have to say i drive hard and use most of the 220bhp of my car. I would definately recommend people try them but im gonna give some winter tyres a try in October(maybe Michelin PA3,Continental WinterContact Ts830, or Goodyear Ultragrip performance 2) and then for next summer definately the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 as they have great reviews and i can get them for £130 each fitted from a performance car shop near my work which is £35 per tyre cheaper than the ps3's....
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-13 23:58:16
Writing about the Wanli Snowgrip S1083 given 83% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
I've read numerous reviews on how bad these tyres are and felt I had to have my say before people get the wrong idea about these tyres. I must say that they do exactly what it says on the box. They are WINTER tyres so are designed to work at temperatures below 7 deg. If you drive aggressively at 12 deg temperatures then they will break away and feel like there is no grip in exactly the same way as a summer tyre will not work if not up to temperature. For this type of temperature you need SUMMER tyres. If you do the same type of driving when the temperature is near freezing and you will think you are on your summer track day tyres. In the snow and ice they will grip like you are on a dry road. Not all tyres are the same - just ask the F1 teams. There is no such thing as a universal tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-16 11:53:20
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 80% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Great tyres for the price. handled good in dry conditions and also held their own in the wet at speed on roundabouts and never felt like they were about to slide. Tyre wear wasnt the greatest but still acceptable.
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-20 21:31:45
Writing about the GT Radial Champiro WinterPro HP given 79% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
I first fitted a set of GT-Radial Champiro Winter Pro HP's a couple of years ago and was pleasantly surprised with the all-round capabilities of the tyre, especially factoring in the price! The dry grip and handling is pretty good on these, and is certainly better than the price would suggest, but they fell a little short in the wet. I found myself backing off somewhat while cornering in the wet due to a rather understeery nature in those conditions, but by no means excessive or unpredictable.

I also had chance to use these tyres in rather bad snow and ice, and was really impressed with them in this department. These tyres got me all over the place in fresh snow, compacted snow, ice and all combinations of the above, with little effort.

The negatives of this tyre, at least for me, was the fact that they needed a LOT of balance weights to get the wheel in balance, suggesting they're not made all that precisely. And the tread blocks also wore unevenly, dispite the pressures being obsessively maintained, and with no issue with tracking or suspension geometry, etc.

I decided to go with these tyres again for the rear, so clearly I've been happy with then for the price!
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-14 22:49:08
Writing about the Falken FK453 given 77% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Just completed 20000 miles on a set of these and for the price you will find these at most tyreshops they are pretty good value. In the year I've had these the only criticism I would have with these would be the following-

1 - They are quite noisy, on UK roads and motorways the road noise is as loud as the rest of the car

2 - They seem to have quite hard sidewalls as I could feel every little bump in the road, even joins between sections of roads result in a noticeable thud when passing over them

3 - When worn they become very skittish at high speed on uneven road surfaces (country B-roads etc), you will need to keep a hold on the wheel when on the straights as they tramline a fair bit

I wore my fronts down to the limit (or maybe just past it as they resembled slicks!) and in the wet I still found it fairly hard to break them free, and they didn't seems to aquaplane often.

If you don't want to break the bank then there isn't much else in this price range that will be any better and to get 20000 miles out of them I felt was pretty good value for money.

Overall, this is the 2nd set of Falkens I've had (prev 452's) and have never had any major problems with them, would definitely buy them again if money is tight.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-16 18:25:18
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement