Ford Puma 1.7 Tyres

Drive a Ford Puma 1.7? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Ford Puma 1.7
Nokian iLine (14) 94% 91% 87% 77% 91% 96% 90% 89% 81,500
Uniroyal AllSeasonExpert (4) 78% 90% 78% 80% 93% 83% 75% 86% 41,800
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (28) 94% 72% 91% 91% 70% 75% 91% 84% 166,100
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Nankang AR 1 (18) 91% 50% 87% 89% 78% 74% 87% 79% 49,591
Nankang SV2 (29) 84% 78% 75% 75% 84% 74% 78% 79% 203,040
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84% 87% 78% 173,406
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (117) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71% 76% 75% 1,453,372
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (172) 83% 76% 77% 71% 77% 70% 67% 75% 3,486,640
Goodyear Hydragrip (13) 74% 88% 68% 75% 70% 68% 73% 74% 253,058
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76% 70% 72% 214,929
Maxxis PRO R1 (14) 81% 65% 68% 63% 64% 71% 53% 66% 85,500
Accelera Alpha (127) 65% 44% 54% 49% 69% 56% 49% 55% 1,078,578
Debica Furio (3) 60% 20% 47% 40% 57% 37% 23% 40% 35,000

Ford Puma 1.7 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Hydragrip given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Excellent tire, extremely good in wet
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-12 09:03:27
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 given 96% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres. Dry grip is brilliant, turn in precise and the tyre gives great confidence. In the wet the tyre feels pretty much the same, but with slightly less grip as you would expect. The tyre is also very hard wearing, and very quiet. It is well worth spending the extra for these tyres as they are worth every penny.
tyre reviewed on 2010-10-08 23:49:51
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
I've got a old ford puma which handled like dream with the rainsport 2's putting many new cars to the sword on the twisty's!
The rainsport 3's are even better with less tyre roll than the old RS2's which makes the puma stick to road even better with lots of feedback and control, grip in the wet gives you enough confidence to floor it as if it were dry. I do still think they compliment a medium/small car than a heavier model as you could experience tyre roll the heavier you go, but for the sporty hatches they are a bargin found 195/50/15 V for £38.35 fitted!!
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-15 10:51:37
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 given 86% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres, they grip hard in the dry practically eliminating the squealing understeer I get with lesser tyres. the turn in is also a lot sharper due to the stiffer construction it makes the ride a little harder but its worth it. The wet grip is good showing good communication with progressive breakaway. however they do tend to aquaplane a little earlier in standing water than other not so extreme summer tyres. conclusion if you want a tyre for the road but also want some fun on the track these are up to the job!
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-04 15:58:59
Writing about the Nankang AR 1 given 86% (205-50-15-)
Driving on track for 500 spirited miles
Used to run Avon ZZR's on my car but fancied these to help give my wallet a break! Plus I'd heard good reviews, which seemed to be backed up online, so I had high expectations.

I had my Puma at a track day at Oulton Park and I was immediately impressed by the cold grip levels. As I got a few more laps under my belt it became obvious that the grip levels were increasing markedly and I could feel my lap times started tumbling (not that I was recording them). I noticed I could carry much more speed into the faster corners and had so much more traction out of the slower corners - the car's attitude through the chicane was transformed. I could keep the throttle in harder through the whole section instead of waiting for the grip before flooring it. After a day's hard lapping I didn't notice a drop-off in performance, either (although my brakes were screaming for mercy towards the end!), so these seem like a very durable tyre.

I'll definitely be buying these again when the time comes to renew. Might have to look at my pad compound and some better brake fluid before the next track day, though!
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-18 12:25:22
Writing about the Goodyear Hydragrip given 86% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 spirited miles
Superb all season tyre very well suited to UK climate copes well with deep standing water and slushy snow with astonishing braking performance and directional stability in same conditions even down to legal tyre depth!

The Hydragrip definitely feels compromised on hotter days +25 degree C in both road noise and wear rate increases. Shame about limited availability and sizes now at ?40 a corner certainly a rare gem finding a premium tyre at budget-mid range prices.
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-25 23:38:52
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 83% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 average miles
Excellent, replaced Bridgestone Turanza ER300 and much prefer these. The bridgestones werent worn out (50% ish) but hit a brick in the road and blew one out. Always replace as a pair and these were great looking and a good price. Massive front end grip, car is FWD and 127bhp, but very light so its very easy to sping the fronts up on greasy British country roads. These show a marked improvement in wet weather traction off the line and cornering grip. As the name suggests! They did however take about 200miles to scrub in. The Puma is a superb handling car and these compliment the car very well indeed. They also ride a little softer than the Bridgeys. They so a soft sidewall so on a light car they are great, maybe not so great on a heavier car though. Having said that, the Conti Sports on the front of our A4 Audi are nearly done, so I will give these a shot on the front of that too and see how they perform on a heavier car. They also look brilliant which is a plus of course! Very much recommended. Shop around and they arent even expensive, the ones on the Puma cost £105 fully fitted for a pair including a free alignment check from F1AutoCenter, great value. As for wear, cant comment but who cares really unless its like 5k miles, our cars all get driven enthusiastically so just replace them when done, simple!
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-25 17:47:58
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Just had these on the front. Steering feel was a bit vague for the first 1500 miles but then got better and better. Seem to be wearing fairly quick but they get a hard time.
Swapped them to back ready to buy 2 more for front, meanwhile 2 cheapos on the front. Understeered straight on twice in a week with cheapostyres on front. So must have been driving like a tw*t with Uniroyals on the front! Very good, looking forward to getting new ones on the front and having them all round. Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2010-10-27 15:09:43
Writing about the Nokian iLine given 81% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Very pleased with this new tyre. Budget tires don't offer as much as this... for long km drives over mixed surfaces and temperatures, they grip very good, sometimes ned perfect. Two minuses: no rim protection, and soft sidewalls that lean (although unnoticeable), but being a cheap tyre, i don't blame it for this. i was expecting them to be durable in time and have minimum wear with they did, but for that i expected a compromise in handling or grip. It wasn't the case, even with spirited driving. So I highly recommend this tyre for everyday use, i suspect a more expensive tyre from the same brand will indeed outperform this economical level one. Good job from nokian on building not only good winter tyres, but decent summer ones too!
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-30 13:15:14
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 79% (195-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
The Toyos are hugely confidence inspiring, The car feels planted through the corners and is very predictable on the limit. Even if you do find yourself going beyond the available grip the breakaway is progressive, with good feedback through the wheel wet or dry.
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-20 17:34:32
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement