Ford S Max Tyres

Drive a Ford S Max? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Ford S Max
Nokian WR A3 (71) 93% 88% 90% 83% 92% 92% 88% 89% 472,743
Continental Premium Contact 6 (36) 95% 91% 88% 91% 82% 87% 82% 88% 167,380
Debica Presto UHP2 (20) 91% 87% 89% 86% 80% 94% 87% 88% 88,111
Nokian zLine (77) 92% 92% 91% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 604,390
Bridgestone A001 (44) 92% 94% 90% 80% 86% 84% 94% 86% 502,216
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons (48) 85% 84% 83% 84% 86% 86% 89% 85% 550,242
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 (26) 90% 94% 89% 88% 80% 80% 89% 85% 283,520
Nokian WR A4 (12) 85% 90% 88% 79% 80% 88% 86% 85% 28,599
Falken Azenis FK510 (61) 91% 89% 86% 85% 78% 78% 87% 85% 538,071
Falken EUROALL SEASON AS200 (19) 78% 89% 80% 81% 81% 84% 87% 83% 198,515
Cooper Zeon CS8 (8) 88% 81% 81% 73% 82% 86% 88% 83% 89,600
General Altimax Sport (25) 81% 80% 81% 78% 87% 81% 84% 82% 209,917
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (197) 88% 87% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,507,645
Nankang SV2 (29) 84% 78% 75% 75% 84% 74% 78% 79% 203,040
Goodyear Eagle LS2 (7) 70% 84% 67% 67% 85% 90% 77% 77% 48,517
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (54) 85% 79% 77% 80% 70% 79% 71% 77% 554,137
Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico (26) 87% 75% 79% 82% 73% 71% 69% 77% 536,516
Continental Sport Contact 3 (239) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,175,337
Michelin Primacy HP (195) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 75% 65% 75% 4,311,094
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (74) 86% 81% 79% 78% 56% 74% 58% 73% 614,626
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Altenzo Comforter (86) 79% 60% 70% 62% 76% 80% 68% 71% 672,161
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (50) 79% 72% 72% 69% 69% 72% 60% 70% 550,624
Marshal Matrac FX MU11 (7) 83% 66% 66% 64% 75% 64% 61% 68% 85,700
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (76) 82% 73% 69% 65% 63% 73% 52% 68% 815,337
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69% 65% 68% 312,033
Maxxis Premitra HP5 (19) 82% 73% 69% 71% 55% 65% 60% 68% 99,744
Semperit Speed Grip (3) 70% 73% 63% 67% 63% 57% 63% 65% 21,000
General AltiMAX HP (11) 75% 64% 60% 52% 55% 61% 48% 59% 127,905
Accelera PHI (128) 70% 47% 55% 54% 67% 59% 53% 58% 1,140,962
Accelera Alpha (127) 65% 44% 54% 49% 69% 56% 49% 55% 1,078,578
Sunny SN3830 (17) 55% 44% 49% 44% 70% 67% 44% 53% 158,990
Constancy LY688 (20) 59% 46% 50% 44% 68% 48% 52% 53% 94,000
Joyroad Sport RX6 (2) 60% 25% 40% 40% 70% 65% 25% 46% 9,000
Triangle TR968 (67) 55% 32% 40% 38% 61% 38% 31% 42% 469,650
Forceum HEXA (8) 53% 34% 45% 31% 40% 34% 31% 38% 85,030

Ford S Max Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken EUROALL SEASON AS200 given 100% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
Having had all season tyres on previous cars and requiring new tyres on my current vehicle I was always going to go back to all season. I used this website to decide which suited my needs and ended up going for Falken Euroall season AS200. We're only just encountering the cold spells of winter and I can confirm i am more than happy with my choice of tyre. We are driving along routinely without any complications compared to other road users within the town. There is clearly a need for these at the moment and I would definetly buy again. Not really done high mileage on them so couldn't comment on wear but I didn't want to leave a negative feedback with out due reason.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-05 13:30:39
Writing about the Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 average miles
519/5000
It's the second train I use on my Ford S-Max 2.0 TD. Very heavy car with great engine torque.
With the first set I made 54,000 km and I changed them because the winter part of the tread was defined, about 4 mm, and we were in January.
With the second I have already done 30,000 km and are still in excellent shape.
Excellent tire in all aspects. Only the noise is a little more accentuated than the summer tires.
Next week I change cars and I have already ordered the same tires in 245/45 18.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-09 19:38:53
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons given 100% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Just got these tyres for the front of my s-max after weeks of research. I want a tyre that ticks all the boxes so i went for these. Good tread pattern, quiet, 300 treadwear rating, Winter rated even the guy from the tyre fitters was impressed by them. Will find out how good they really are over the next 6 months or so when the bad weather comes. I'll post another review then.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-31 21:40:43
Writing about the Nokian WR A3 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12 spirited miles
I have just swooped my Michelin Primacy HP's back onto my S Max 140 tdci after 21,000 kms of winter motoring with the Nokia's.

The front tyres are about half worn and the rears look like new. First impressions going back to the Michelins are that the French tyres are much noisier over course road surfaces and ride quality also inferior. To be honest I was reluctant to put the Michelins back on as I had been so pleased with the Nokias.

Although we did not experience much snow in northern Europe in the winter just past, the Nokias were supremely capable in the range of weather that did occur.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-24 13:12:16
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 spirited miles
Firstly, many thanks to this website and previous reviewers comments for helping me choose these tyres. My choice was also influenced by a very favourable experience with Nokian WR A3 winter tyres, which will shortly be going back on my car as the winter weather arrives.

The original tyres on my 2014 S Max 2.0 tdci 140bhp were Michelin Primacy 3's in 225/50 17" 98 load.

The Michelins were a good all round tyre but were € 136 each to replace. The Nokian Z Lines were €87. Quite a difference if you need four.

First impressioms are that the tyres look great with deep sipes and look more squat on the rim. Initially the tyres were noisier than I expected, but they need a couple of hundred kilometres to bed in. Also tyre pressures are critical as if you have the tyres slightly over aired, you do notice the ride is firmer. That aside, these tyres offer sharp turn in and good directional ability.

Driving in a variety of autumnal conditions in wet conditions these tyres are very reluctant to break away. Grip is excellent and certainly a match for the Michelins when they were new. Also the Nokians demonstrate great resistance to aquaplaning. This was the main reason I changed the Primacys early as the S Max would lose contact with the road in motorway situations with heavy rain.

In dry conditions the Nokians have made the S Max feel more agile and inspire great confidence. On the motorway they are very quiet and the car tracks like an arrow.

In conclusion this is a fine tyre which you will not regret buying.

tyre reviewed on 2015-11-08 17:55:40
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 93% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 45000 average miles
70.000 Km in two summers but i'll use them until october, so I think other 15.000 Km due the 3mm remaining. Very balanced tyre on wet and dry , with no drawback. They have become noisy after the 60K. I think will change them with the new Primacy 3.
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-05 18:15:38
Writing about the Debica Presto UHP2 given 93% (235-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Excellent mid economy tyres that surprisingly outperform some of other premium tyres I’ve used before. Extremely quiet and very comfortable. Excellent wet grip and car felt planted at 70 mph in heavy rain.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-13 15:05:23
Writing about the Nokian WR A4 given 92% (235-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3500 average miles
Instant difference to car handling, much much better than stock Michelin tyres that where on from new! Much reduced road noise, much better grip in dry and wet conditions than other reviewers had given. I was initially a little sceptical, but really unjustified. A very competent tyre in all settings.

Done 3.5k miles in them now and its a joy to drive the car with them on. You can get very leary in them and you know where you stand and what will happen if you push too far, there are no surprises with these tyres. Done long motorway journeys in them and well as short hops between local villages. Its going to be hard to replace them with as comfortable summer tyres with the same attributes.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-28 16:58:35
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 92% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
These are superb tyres and have transformed the ford s-max which came on continental SSR2 run flats. The ride is sublime now ( was previously jittery and bouncy) and the reduction in road noise is staggering. In addition there has been a definite improvement in fuel consumption with the car going 50+ miles more on a tank. Wet grip is great especially on soaked motorways where the car feels sure footed. Only slight downside is slightly less steering feel, but then tyres are geared for comfort. Can't comment on wear as only done 1000 miles so far.
Will buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-21 21:37:34
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons given 91% (225-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
After much research, I decided to buy the Goodyears for the front of my S-Max with the intention of running them year-round. We have a house in the Alps and I was a little anxious that they wouldn't match the performance of the all-out winter tyres that I had on a previous car. I needn't have worried: in the Alps over the Christmas holiday they were superb - never once had to resort to chains, despite often difficult conditions, and I reckon them very close to the snow performance of the tyres I used to have (also Goodyears - Ultragrip 7+), but hoping they'll be less compromised when it comes to summer use. Strongly recommended!
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-07 19:50:00
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre