Holden SS Commodore Tyres

Drive a Holden SS Commodore? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Holden SS Commodore
Dunlop Direzza Sport Z1 Star Spec (6) 92% 83% 88% 88% 77% 82% 95% 86% 39,095
Yokohama C Drive (44) 86% 82% 83% 76% 78% 87% 82% 82% 974,134
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (155) 89% 86% 83% 82% 59% 83% 70% 79% 1,425,323
Nitto NT05 (3) 93% 73% 83% 90% 57% 53% 87% 77% 3,300
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66% 73% 75% 818,878
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (40) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63% 70% 74% 864,661
Pirelli P Zero (98) 85% 72% 78% 73% 62% 67% 58% 71% 1,716,173
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (200) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 59% 58% 69% 3,359,928
Pirelli PZero Nero (129) 83% 66% 71% 71% 68% 64% 60% 69% 2,197,506
Nankang NS2 (200) 77% 58% 66% 62% 75% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,559
Marangoni Mythos (28) 70% 57% 57% 62% 62% 59% 57% 60% 234,637
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (40) 66% 35% 54% 47% 64% 59% 34% 51% 210,508
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261
Rockstone Radial F105 (25) 38% 20% 33% 30% 54% 36% 21% 33% 392,000

Holden SS Commodore Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Marangoni Mythos given 100% (235-40-18-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
The Marangoni tyres saved me from a sideways drift accident with another vehicle on a slightly damp, multi-laned road. The Marangonis really assist tracking and correction if you can drop the power quick enough to allow the wheels to engage the road between gear shifts on this monster. That snaps it straight back into line. I must have missed the dude by no more than 5mm.

It is a 462hp V8 auto, and with the HD trans it fishtails during gear shifts under power. There is no tyre that can resist this motor, but the Marangoni Mythos are having a pretty good try.

Highly recommended tyre!
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-23 15:27:18
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 99% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Good all round tyre...presume a new compound is being used as these tyres grip well in all conditios..well worth a look and the price...
tyre reviewed on 2011-06-05 10:08:53
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-23 06:09:12
Writing about the Marangoni Mythos given 94% (235-40-18-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I run a RWD Street Car - a 462BHP V8 with Marangonis, and am quite happy with the Mythos tyres' ability to hold the road, especially in lateral situations like cornering and hard turning at speed.

There is no tyre known to humanity that can hold this baby on the ground if you want to make the rear wheels spin, but the Marangonis do a great job trying.

This tyre is quite a popular alternative to its Pirelli equivalent here in Australia for Street Commodores.

I've given the tyre a high Wet Rating because I always slow down a bit in the wet, and the braking ability of the Marangonis is without complaint as such. (462hp and wet city roads don't go very well together)
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-05 10:45:15
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza Sport Z1 Star Spec given 94% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15 spirited miles
Apart from the tyres being difficult to balance well and needing a good bit more weights added on the wheels that the string of Bridgestones (B530,So2,RE-050 & RE-050A) never needed or had problems with, and they had more road noise, they provided a good bit more grip and for spirited driving & the car was nicer to drive with an absence of tyre squeal when cornering. Would buy again if the quality control could be improved re. balancing issues.
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-25 17:08:26
Writing about the Yokohama C Drive given 91% (215-70-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
Awesome tyre. Great grip in wet and dry. Performance in wet did wear off a little after about 3 years despite plenty of meat left on the tyre. Don't know what people are talking about this tyre wearing out quickly. I've done nearly 90,000 k, and am likely to get another 10,000. I bought it because i thought it was a soft compound tyre, but i must have been mistaken. Thinking of replacing with another set of same, but am also tempted to check another tyre out just for the hell of it. Overall 9/10.
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-17 13:48:20
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 84% (245-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
These came on my Holden SS-V (1800kg) and have so far gone 33,000km. And are probably getting on there last legs.

A lot quieter than the 2 sets of Toyos i had on my previous commodore. (Proxes T1S and Proxes4)

I wouldnt hesitate in buying these tyres again they are fantastic. But at $450 a corner its going to hurt the wallet.
tyre reviewed on 2009-10-14 11:30:35
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 84% (245-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
When the tyre mechanic suggested I try these tyres saying that they were as good as any premium brand, I was sceptical. They were cheap though so I gave them a go and was very surprised by their performance. I have a lot of motor racing experience and my car is 5.7L, rear wheel drive with 400bhp+ and I drive very hard with speeds up to 250km/h at times. I really can't fault these tyres, in the dry their grip is excellent but I think they are even better in the wet, just amazing. Quite a few all wheel drive performance cars have been left behind in the wet and these tyres just inspire confidence to keep pushing harder. They are very predicable at the limit as well. The only bad point is that they get a bit noisy as they wear out and there durability is around average. Overall, the best value for money performance tyre on the market and I've tried a few.
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-19 11:07:45
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE001 given 81% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
A great all round tyre and very good feedback in the dry. Not as good a wet weather performer as some previous tyres I've used like the Michelin Pilot Sports but still very progressive and easy to read and control. Much better wear than similar performers and really came into it's element on a few track days. A bit noisy on rough highways surfaces but this is well outweighed by the positive points. Definitely one of the better tyres short of a semi-slick at the track. Off to buy another set today.
tyre reviewed on 2010-07-26 04:12:17
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 80% (245-40-19-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60000 spirited miles
I've had these across two mag wheel sizes on my VE SS Holden Commodore and I must say that they are brilliant. The two BIGGEST problems with this tyre which is why most people switch from them is COST vs WEAR. They wear fairly quickly and cost a bucket load.

That said, these tyres 'in my opinion' of using various sizes over 5 years drive the same in the wet and the dry virtually. The 18's are slightly more grippy then the 19's I found in the wet but other then that DAMN BRILLIANT.

I just decided to try a different tyre and went cheap. Through on some Maximus M1's and they are HORRIBLE compared to the Bridgestone RE50's.

Round a round about, slide out from under me......... no warning, not predictable. Never EVER have I had that happen with a Bridgestone RE50.

Stick with whats great even if it costs a bucket load of money, it will save your life.

PS. Depending on the car and the setup, I would say if you have a V8 you could get anywhere from 1-3 years on average with these tyres depending on your driving style and tune etc.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-16 06:01:21
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre