Honda Civic 1.5T Tyres

Drive a Honda Civic 1.5T? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Honda Civic 1.5T
General Altimax One S (3) 100% 75% 97% 97% 95% 70% 100% 90% 15,000
Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 (11) 87% 82% 75% 84% 93% 90% 94% 86% 56,750
Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 (33) 88% 81% 80% 78% 80% 87% 84% 83% 385,360
Yokohama Advan dB V552 (5) 77% 73% 77% 77% 70% 90% 77% 77% 48,000
Michelin Primacy 3 (146) 86% 81% 78% 77% 68% 81% 68% 77% 2,137,473
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (22) 75% 70% 70% 71% 59% 76% 67% 70% 152,360

Honda Civic 1.5T Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the General Altimax One S given 90% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
Very comfortable drive, great handling and much improved breaking.

There are a step up from the Altimax sport at the same price point. Great value for money.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-28 15:18:34
Writing about the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 given 87% (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 41000 spirited miles
I purchased a Civic 1.5T back in mid 2016 and they came with Continental MC5. First time using Conti, I didn't know what to expect and thought of just using it and till it wears out. What I do know is that the MC5 was launched in the earlier part of this decade and the tire technology would have improved a fair bit since then.I have used several brands during the last 20 years of driving the and I have to say these are tires that perform well in all aspects. Pricing, performance (wet & dry), comfort, durability....you name it. I have a tendency to have spirited drives 50% of the time and do lots of high-speed cruising on the freeway. Even with some hard cornering's, it holds it's line well and will give you ample warning before you go over it's limit. Remarkably and after almost 2 years and 65K KM, the tires are about done and about to reach the main wear indicator. This is the highest mileage I've gotten out of a set of tires and still holds reasonably well in the wets albeit at slower speeds. All 4 tires are evenly worn as I rotate them at every 10k intervals. To get the max performance out of them, I inflate them on the harder side (cold tires, 36-38psi) as I find the recommended 32psi just too soft for my liking. The sidewalls are on the softer side, hence the logic of inflating them harder - but not too hard till it performs badly in the wets!!!

In short, i'm happy with the tires and will recommend them to anyone who wants a slightly above mid priced performance all-rounder tire. The MC6 was launched late 2017 and I will be purchasing the evolution of the MC5 in a couple weeks time. Earlier reviews of the MC6 shows promising results and cant wait to try on the new shoes!!!
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-27 07:33:11
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 81% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Good tyers overall,wear is almost non existent but lacks a lot of dry grip, on wet they are just as good as dry, which made me give them a 9, but, the dry grip is not fantastic, i was expecting better (but not by much), luckily they came with my 2018 honda civic 1.5 turbo 182 hp and i did not buy them myself because i would have regretted the decision, if you are not driving very sporty(which i am, sometimes), they should be good enough for you, but if you do, you'll find them not very suitable in sudden direction changes where i feel it becomes a bit unresponsive due to the lack of grip, making the car understeer without even realizing sometimes, you just feel the car's front end going very subtle in an understeer, i had a mini cooper 1.5 diesel and i swear i could go harder on some of my local B roads and i had some petlas velox sport fitted on that, which apart from wet grip and wear, they were fenomenal, good handling for that power range, or maybe it was the chassis's kart like dimensions that helped it, but, sticking to the subject, i feel that these tyers are perfect for what they are advertised and Michelin did not lie, they are very good in wet grip, very good braking distance in wet, although i feel it is not so great on dry, comfort is nice, road feedback is okay unless you floor the pedal, handling could be better, but i really don't have that much experience with competitors, altough i felt my winter goodyear ultra grip performance gen 1 was at least similar in grip and handling, and that is... a winter tyre (more or less), buy again is around 7, i would buy them again if i were to have a van and kids inside it, as it provides enough sportiness for that kind of needs, but if you try to race someone with their fancy cheap nankangs, don't, they might beat you even though you go lower on pressure as i do. Also, as a side note, don't try to floor it too much on wet conditions, the wheel tends to hop in these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-26 08:16:37
Writing about the Yokohama Advan dB V552 given 77% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
I am using Michelin Primacy 3 and till date used them for a good 60,000kms in my daily driver 2015 Corolla, now I chose Yokohama Advan dB v552 for my Civic 1.5t and have been using them for a few thousand Kms, these tyres are comparatively less noisy compared to the Primacy's. The ride feels softer and comfy, they absorb potholes and cat eyes (road studs) really well. Talking about grip I feel that comparatively they are not too grippy in both wet and dry conditions but works good for me cornering feels better.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-05 19:55:32
Writing about the Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 given 75% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
To be fair it was ultimately price that took me to these tyres but they did have some decent reviews. They were fitted the day the snow arrived and the performance over the original fit Michelin primacy 3's was chalk and cheese but to be fair even the worst winter tyres generally work in proper snow. Where these nexen's really do surprise is colder temps and the greasy roads that the british weather excels in. Temps in the UK seem to bounce from around zero one day to ten degrees above the next day so obviously winter tyres tend to complain in higher temps, but again the nexen's manage to do this without the embarrassing howl of understeer that poor winters serve up. Wet braking is similarly good as well. I've used around seven types of winter tyre over the years,generally branded,and where these aren't as good as Michelin Alpin 4's/5's,there not a mile off. Factor in the price difference and once I see how they wear compared to the Alpin's(they were great) I would probably buy these again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-09 11:49:10
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth AE50 given 69% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
Noise getting louder after time.
Overall not bad.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-13 02:40:41
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre