Honda Civic EX 1.6 VTEC Tyres

Drive a Honda Civic EX 1.6 VTEC? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Honda Civic EX 1.6 VTEC
Nokian WR D3 (35) 93% 91% 90% 89% 85% 88% 95% 90% 299,993
Starfire RSC 20 (1) 90% 70% 80% 80% 100% 90% 100% 87% 50,000
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 Ecopia (15) 87% 82% 73% 79% 81% 83% 69% 79% 152,020
Jinyu YH12 (27) 81% 74% 79% 69% 79% 80% 73% 76% 121,181
Bridgestone Turanza AR10 (3) 77% 70% 77% 73% 80% 75% 70% 75% 61,995
Kumho Solus KH15 (23) 77% 70% 71% 60% 78% 82% 73% 73% 226,229
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (61) 83% 72% 70% 63% 65% 73% 54% 68% 557,744
Nankang NS2 (189) 77% 58% 66% 62% 75% 64% 62% 66% 1,621,039
Event WL905 (120) 59% 31% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 45% 841,929
Silverstone M5 Synergy (16) 58% 30% 46% 45% 65% 37% 22% 43% 65,435

Honda Civic EX 1.6 VTEC Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho Solus KH15 given 98% (195-60-15-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15590 average miles
Have replaced the set of 4 original Goodyear tyres on my 2004 54 reg Civic that were found to be noisy and hard and wore out after less than 16,000 miles with a set of the Kumho tyres. The change was immediate! Very quiet and smooth with no 'vibration' feedback through the steering as before. Very good in the recent bad rains - gives full confidence, and have so far shown a slight improvement in fuel consumption. I have not yet undertaken a long motorway run, but on roads I have to use (Scottish Borders) they have been brilliant. Too early to report on wear, but I would certainly recommend them and would not hesitate to buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2009-09-06 09:04:08
Writing about the Nokian WR D3 given 96% (185-65-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-28 16:29:56
Writing about the Kumho Solus KH15 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
Further to my review in September 2009 when I replaced all 4 of my original tyres on my Honda Civic, I can honestly say that they were the best investment on the car that I have made. Up here in the Scottish Borders this year the weather has been awful, but the tyres just keep going and going - no problems with heavy standing water, ice or (occasionaly) dry roads. They are wearing well (they still look new) and will certainly be my first choice if and when I need new tyres.
Can really recommend. The car has never driven smoother or quieter.
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-08 10:36:30
Writing about the Starfire RSC 20 given 87% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 average miles
Top notch tires. Ran them on my civic for 3 years, must have got 50k miles out of them and they drove great. Rain/sleet/snow/dry pavement, couldn't ask for me and price was top notch. $400 four for 205/55/16! Love cooper products and this one didn't let me down!
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-17 14:30:15
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 Ecopia given 83% (205-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Very excelent sport tyre, I can recommend it!
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-26 17:39:52
Writing about the Jinyu YH12 given 83% (205-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
excellent tire i was really surprised when i saw they were not a popular brand. i cant believe the tire did not slip in the rain, not even at a stop or red light. with the oil on the ground all tires slip when you accelerate. i have burned up many o tire in my day spinning donuts all around town on the road in the dirt and gravel, none have lasted as long as these did. they out performed all of the name brands i ever used. i picked up a used set and tried to drive them into the ground in several burn out competitions but they wont quit, they are balded and i still am able to drive on them without the loss of grip. i will buy jinyu tires again just as soon as they pop i dont think it will be anytime soon good job jinyu keep up the good work no slacking please
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-04 09:13:43
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 given 74% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on track for 0 spirited miles
I think they are OK . As good as the yokohama c drive which was equipped just before this one
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-01 23:14:43
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza AR10 given 64% (185-70-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11495 spirited miles
These tires look good but that's about what I can say. These tires aren't rated by utqg except for temperature. I haven't lost control of the car in heavy cornering however under braking these tires are a bit scary. My car doesn't have ABS and under lock up they just slip without any grip whatsoever. I use them on both my cars and even with ABS the tires don't provide much grip. I cannot figure out why since the cornering grip is sufficient to take a tight bend at 90kmph. Under braking these do not cope well.Road noise and water evacuation wise they do perform well. For a car without ABS stay away as it's better to have a tire with a utqg rating for traction a minimum of A.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-12 02:16:41
Writing about the Event WL905 given 50% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 250 easy going miles
Hmm - replaced a set of 4 different winter tyres with Event Futurum HP. Much better than my old ones and no problems so far. I am a cautious driver in a 1.6 litre hatch with no sudden braking or accelerating. Tyres are happy at 80 on the motorway and no 5-10mph loss of grip for me so happy so far.

Very surprised at some of the reviews here and have to put at least part of this down to driving style but am going to test these in a car park to find the limits.

Would definitely go for a premium tyre if I had a performance car though.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-13 17:33:27
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 49% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Very bad on wet conditions. An underpowered 110HP FWD could wheel spin easily and under-steer significantly.
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-15 08:09:08
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre