Honda ST1100 Pan European Tyres

Drive a Honda ST1100 Pan European? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Honda ST1100 Pan European
Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 (38) 92% 85% 89% 89% 89% 92% 91% 90% 180,950
Avon Storm 2 Ultra (25) 87% 71% 76% 77% 89% 84% 83% 81% 169,700
Bridgestone BATTLAX SPORT TOURING T30 (8) 85% 73% 77% 66% 70% 80% 71% 74% 45,400
Avon Storm 3D XM (6) 82% 60% 62% 62% 88% 75% 43% 67% 18,008

Honda ST1100 Pan European Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 given 92% (160-70-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 40 average miles
Hi, Oct 2012, I used this review to decide which tyres to buy to replace mine on my 1997 ST1100 Pan (non ABS/TCS model) only this week. Thank you to the chap who wrote his review previously because I bought a matching pair of these BT023 based on him and have just been out for a 'sighting' run of about 40 A and B type country road miles. I was coming back and I just had to write a review of my own to repay the compliment and help someone else out. FANTASTIC is the word I'd use to describe them. The tyres have loads of feedback, they feel very very secure in particular, very comfortable, quiet tyres, NO STEERING SHIMMY OR WOBBLE AT ALL with both hands off the bars, lovely profile to them and the Pan rolls from side to side beautifully. I am not a hard rider but a very experienced road rider of some +20 years and these are superb even from the off. Once I've a few hundred miles on them they'll be no doubt even better. Haven't tried them wet but I anticipate good results. If you have an old Pan GET THESE!! They are a little more expensive than other named brands but boy are they worth it. By the way ensure you choose the correct profile tyres as they are different for the ABS/TCS model.
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-16 16:18:15
Writing about the Avon Storm 2 Ultra given 90% (160-70-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Fitted to a Honda ST1100 motorcycle. Good grip and seem to lasting quite well after 3000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2010-10-06 13:59:13
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 given 80% (120-80-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6500 spirited miles
The BT023s were a good match for the ST 1100 stable and predictable in the dry but a bit less so in the wet. The wear rate was reasonable with the front tyre wearing out before the rear. 6.5k on the front and 8k on the rear. No steering wobble as experienced with some other tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-21 14:11:15
Writing about the Avon Storm 3D XM given 77% (160-70-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9500 spirited miles
I have had three sets of these and found them a vast improvement over the Storm II Ultra.
I ride a mixture of solo and pillion in a progressive style. Average mileage is 9500 miles usually front wears first, dunno why??
Grip in the wet is good only ever had one slide, the front let go but recovered immediately, but three other bikes did the same on the same corner so must have been surface related.
Grip the dry is terrific with no complaints.
The down side on my bike the steering wobbles at around 30mph, only noticeable with hands off the bars or on a roundabout, the Storm II ultra was worse, does not do this with other tyre makes, but these are such good value I will forgive that as I don`t tend to ride hands free.
In summary, good value tyres with excellent mileage and good grip, my tyre of choice.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-24 15:53:48
Writing about the Bridgestone BATTLAX SPORT TOURING T30 given 74% (160-70-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
I have used several tyre makes over the years as i am a high mileage user average 10k a year, I look for value, grip and longevity.
I tend to ride in a progressive style with a mix of solo and pillion.
The T30`s give excellent grip on both wet and dry surfaces with no dramas.
However they are expensive to buy and only lasted 6000 miles, but are very stable.
In summary, good gripping tyres but do not last so are not great value, but this is my requirements, if grip was my only concern then these would be near the top of the list.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-24 16:01:46
Writing about the Avon Storm 2 Ultra given 59% (160-70-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
I have used these for the last time, the tyres do not suit the St100. The front tyre cause a steering wobble and can become dangerous at times, ie one handed whilst lifting the helmet visor. These initally felt good when compared to the cross ply tyres used previously, but when compared to the competion not that great.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-21 14:04:46
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre