Hyundai i30 CW CRD Tyres

Drive a Hyundai i30 CW CRD? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Hyundai i30 CW CRD
Nokian WeatherProof (25) 81% 88% 81% 81% 74% 89% 79% 86% 219,414
Sailun Atrezzo 4 Seasons (3) 77% 77% 73% 80% 70% 70% 90% 77% 16,000
Michelin Energy XM2 (34) 79% 74% 75% 72% 85% 71% 68% 75% 663,325
Bridgestone Turanza Serenity Plus (2) 80% 50% 70% 80% 90% 55% 55% 69% 60,000
Infinity INF 040 (19) 64% 33% 43% 36% 55% 42% 32% 44% 57,319

Hyundai i30 CW CRD Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof given 93% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-11 21:28:12
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza Serenity Plus given 86% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I have these tyres fitted to a Hynudai i30cw, and went with the tyre fitters recommendation because they didn't have what I wanted. the tyres they replaced were the Bridgestone Ecopia PZ-X, so i was expecting the goods given I was after a quiet eco tyre.

These Turanzas have more rolling resistance, and it is evident by an increase in fuel consumption by about 10%, however the road holding characteristics of them is superb. they have an incredibly flat contact patch and probably the widest footprint I've seen for a 195 tyre.

They are quiet. very quiet. on very smooth pavement under hard acceleration they do make a strange slupry noise, but who cares when you can easily corner 15% faster with no tyre noise/squealing.

on wet roads they grip well, and at highway speeds they pump out the spray more than any other tyre I've had on this car.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-21 04:23:21
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo 4 Seasons given 83% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 average miles
I have been running these tyres for 12 months now on family hatch/small estate Hyundai i30. with varying loads from driver only to fully loaded with 5 on board plus camping gear. covered approx 9000 miles on the tyres. They are excellent. admittedly they replaced a pretty worn pair of Uniroyal rainmasters, but the transformation is fantastic. road noise is on a par with the previous and not particularly intrusive, the General Altimax at the rear are far noisier. handling is excellent in rain, dry, snow or ICE. we had a really heavy snow in teh welsh valleys this year and the tyres held their own, never once showing the traction control light. even in heavy snow or slush they just held, you could drive normally without worry. over the 9000 miles they have worn 2 mm, and still have plenty to give. Really cheap at £55 a corner. I also drive an Audi a3 and will be asking for these on that car when its due for a change. the dunlops on that were embarassing in the winter.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-19 15:38:39
Writing about the Michelin Energy XM2 given 53% (225-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
I recently purchased a set of these tyres as an upgrade to the previous Hankook Optimo Tyres that came standard on car. Those tyres had blotted their copybook with very poor grip in the wet and had caused an accident by way of aquaplaning despite having a decent amount of tread remaining.

So with the purchase of Michelin Energy XM2 I expected to get improved Fuel Saving, quieter operation over the Optimo's.

Sad to say that I am very disappointed by the XM2's.

Fuel efficiency: No Improvement (6.1-6.3 L/100 Km before and after).
Road Noise: No Improvement
Ride: The Tyres provide a harsh ride on the kind of sealed road surfaces found at the Central Coast of NSW; and this includes the Sydney-Newcastle F3 Freeway. The tyres seem to absorb few of the minor bumps of this poorly maintained motorway.
Wet Grip : Better than the Optimos
Mileage: to early to say. I'm likely to replace these tyres before they wear out.

IMO these tyres are not worth the premium price paid
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-04 07:15:07
Writing about the Infinity INF 040 given 29% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly town for 2500 average miles
When we bought the Hyundai i30 diesel it had these Infinity INF040 front tyres. Looked almost new so I was happy with that. I had to do 200miles back home and noticed the tyres much louder than Pirelli P6000 which we had on our previous can. But the wort bit about these budget INF040 is how NO GRIP you have in wet. I mean moving off in 1st and then changing into 2nd gear on slight incline would make the traction control to go crazy!!! Our 1.6 diesel has got a bit of torque but the tyres should easily cope with that. In addition, going around the roundabout it would understeer badly. I am due to put new set of 4 Michelin Crossclimate tyres. Reading the reviews these should be the best all seasons tyres.
DO NOT BY Infinity INF 040 and if you have them on your car - CHANGE immediately!
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-28 07:51:56
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre