Hyundai i40 tourer Tyres

Drive a Hyundai i40 tourer? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Hyundai i40 tourer
Toyo Proxes CF2 (62) 89% 87% 83% 83% 85% 86% 91% 86% 432,909
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (77) 89% 86% 83% 85% 86% 84% 84% 86% 708,175
Nokian WR A4 (12) 85% 90% 88% 79% 80% 88% 86% 85% 28,599
Nexen N Fera SU1 (83) 85% 79% 77% 78% 77% 83% 74% 79% 572,701
Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco (44) 83% 77% 78% 74% 71% 79% 68% 76% 687,364
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (50) 79% 72% 72% 69% 69% 72% 60% 70% 550,624

Hyundai i40 tourer Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian WR A4 given 100% (215-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Just perfect
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-19 09:39:10
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 100% (215-55-17-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
As a normal driver not an expert I could say that nexen tyres are quite decent tyres. Car handling is good and it's not loud inside the car. Price is good so you can't go wrong on that. I would buy them again and again. Recommended to all
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-23 09:50:40
Writing about the Toyo Proxes CF2 given 90% (205-60-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 spirited miles
Fantastic tyres. Fitted all 4 10k miles ago. By this mileage the fronts would be 2/3 worn. Not these they have hardly shed a mm, it’s usually the outer shoulder that goes first hitting the roundabouts quickly but these are withstanding the punishment really well.. so for wear rate they are brilliant. Wet grip is also fantastic, very confident inspiring, I’ve not had to slam on in an emergency in the wet but I’m happy I’ve got the best grip available if I have to, compare with rainsport 3 they are right up their in terms of wet grip and handling. But offer much more longevity, I’ve had the rainsport 3s and managed to get 10k miles at a push on the front, that’s taking them right down to the legal marker. I much prefer to change no less than 2mm
Buy again.. absolutely no doubt. I’ve found a perfect tyre, I no longer have to trawl thru review after review to find something good. Just buy and drive no hassle.. happy days
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-23 03:07:02
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 80% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 average miles
These tyres were fitted as original equipment and I've done 28000 miles on them so far on all manner of road surfaces; front pair still have 2mm left and rear 4mm so all still legal. With that sort of mileage its hard to fault them for the money.
Although they may not have the same grip (wet or dry) as some other tyres I can't say that I've ever had the scary experiences that some others note even on winding roads, perhaps they need to check their tyre pressures or wheel alignment (or even slow down a bit!).
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-09 16:08:15
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 5 given 77% (205-60-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 spirited miles
Tyres used on a taxi / minicab
Good wear, although the edges have worn first with heavy braking on roundabouts. But 20k miles on the front and 45k on the rear, in this use is very good.
Wet grip is decent and progressive loss of traction long before they give up. But you can get caught out on quick direction changes.
Dry grip is very good, in high temps they work very well. Cold temps not as well.
A decent amount of scrubbing in is required, probably 1000 miles or so.
Noise levels I have not noticed any difference from the hankooks they replaced.
Just about to order a set of 4 replacements
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-27 14:39:20
Writing about the Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco given 0% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
Driving 205/60 R16' Kontrol Eco on new Hyundai i40. Driving in dry conditions no issue but a little bit of wet weather and the drive becomes treacherous and the tires are only 4,000 km old so imagine the risk once the wear kicks in. Roundabouts are a definite go slow in any wet weather, just don't feel safe at all.
Even starting off from scratch in wet weather results in front wheel spin at low acceleration, definitely unhappy with the traction of these tires and have referred complaint to Hyundai for resolution.
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-03 11:34:22
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre