Jaguar S type 3.0 Tyres

Drive a Jaguar S type 3.0? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Jaguar S type 3.0
Avon ZZ5 (79) 89% 83% 82% 85% 69% 81% 78% 81% 495,567
Landsail LS288 (26) 77% 66% 69% 64% 76% 74% 68% 70% 143,000
Continental Eco Contact 5 (62) 79% 67% 67% 67% 74% 67% 54% 68% 679,028
Hifly HF805 (44) 79% 66% 67% 67% 56% 67% 63% 66% 312,885
Pirelli P2500 (4) 70% 53% 68% 60% 83% 68% 58% 65% 66,000
Firestone TZ100 (7) 79% 66% 71% 67% 63% 54% 41% 63% 165,000
Primewell PZ900 (58) 72% 58% 54% 57% 57% 50% 42% 56% 980,274
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782

Jaguar S type 3.0 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Eco Contact 5 given 100% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Had these fitted to replace P6000s on my Jaguar S Type. What a difference!
Full marks all round. So quiet on most road surfaces and a real feeling of grip.
Precise handling and total confidence.

Brilliant, so glad I waited for them to become available.
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-23 07:36:24
Writing about the Hifly HF805 given 100% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 650 average miles
Hi,

My name is Kenny. I bought 4 x Hifly HF805 tyres on Tuesday 26 March 2014 for my 3.0 litre Jaguar S-Type V6 Sport after reading the gentleman with the Ford Galaxy's review on this page. To that gent, I would just like to say a HUGE 'thank you'. Cheers, mate, for your accurate, intelligent and trustworthy review.

After reading his review, I purchased the tyres from Gates Tyres, Workington, Cumbria. They were fitted to my Jag straightaway in Gates Tyres's superb tyre-fitting centre by a great tyre-fitter called Gary. I bought my Jag in June last year. There was shaking through the steering wheel when I got it, but I didn't mind. I thought it might be a wheel-balancing issue. My Jag is 9 yrs old, but only has 65,000 miles on it. It is in mint condition. It is Midnight Black, with full sport Black Pack option. She is a beautiful car to look at, and drive. The only thing that was spoiling the ownership of my Jag was the tyre issues - both front and back.

I was getting violent shaking through my steering wheel, but had NO idea it could possibly be caused by the tyres. I am an engineer, but I'm not a tyre expert. Gary told me that all 4 tyres were misshapen. Also, the tyres were perished (cracked) and made with a hard (crap) rubber compound. I had no idea tyres could be 'misshapen'. I visited Kwik-Fit in January 2014 who told me the same thing, but I thought they were just trying to get me to buy new tyres. The back tyres were making an maddening rumbling noise because of the high and low spots caused by being slightly distorted and misshapen. Gary showed me how to feel for these high/low spots when he removed the old tyres.

I was going to buy 4 x Dunlop Sport Maxx RT tyres. However, I had read terrible reviews about them. After looking here on Tyrereviews.co.uk website, I decided to try the Hifly tyres as a CHEAP way to find out if my steering wheel shakes were being caused by misshapen tyres. Well, guess what? I immediately drove along a stretch of dual carriageway at 70mph and had NO steering wheel vibration WHATSOEVER. Finally, my Jag feels like a Jag should be: assured and solid grip on the road at speed, and a super-smooth luxury ride.

My Hifly HF805 245/40/R18 Y tyres cost just £75 pounds each!! Compare that to £151 for ONE Dunlop Sport Maxx RT tyre on BlackCircles.com! Honestly, these tyres are AWESOME: good, soft compound. I do drive my Jag pretty sportily (..great fun!) and these Hifly tyres have fantastic grip.

Bottom line: the Hifly HF805 tyre is a fantastic tyre. 'Budget' does NOT mean 'crap' when referring to this Hifly HF805 tyre. I'm still not a tyre expert, but I know quality, good design and superb manufacturing.

I had to drive from the Lake District to London for a business meeting on Wednesday 26 March 2014. The day after my new tyres were fitted. Before, I was dreading the journey with the old tyres on my car. But with the new tyres fitted the journey was a dream. Finally, my cherished Jag feels like the luxury sporting performance Jaguar she always was! The weather was dry/fine/sunny on my 300mile drive to London: the tyres were superb. Fantastic, assured grip. Driving 300miles back home, I faced TORRENTIAL rain the whole way: the tyres, again, were superb in atrocious wet conditions, too. Felt just as safe as driving in dry conditions. Exceptional water removal performance due to intelligent tread design. I panicked a few times when I suddenly saw huge areas of standing water on the motorway as I was driving at 80mph. As all of you will also have experienced in scary such moments, you have ZERO time to react. But instead of potentially-fatal aquaplaning, these Hifly tyres just carved through all that water in a totally safe and reassuring way. Thank f**k!

Thanks again to that gent with the Ford Galaxy for his review about the Hifly tyres. And thanks, also, to the Hifly Tyres company in China for making such a fantastic tyre.

For all the reasons I've mentioned above, I'm giving this Hifly HF805 tyre a 10 in EVERY category. Do NOT hesitate: buy this tyre. You'll be extremely delighted and very impressed with it.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-29 12:33:40
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 87% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Fitted two fronts them as a replacement for some worn P6000s. What an improvement. Much more accurate steering, loads of grip with no drama, and a much more secure feel. Much quieter on road noise, too.

The Back tyres are next. Not many miles yet but definitely good!
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-03 16:44:09
Writing about the Firestone TZ100 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Earlier I wrote of my problems with the TZ 100 tyres On my S type Jaguar being noisy on smooth roads particularly from the rear, in my cars case the left rear.
Well I now owe the Firestone TZ100 a big apology, getting ever more frustrated with the noise (local mechanic could find no mechanical fault causing said noise)I took the Jag to the Main Jaguar dealership.
The Jaguar technician found the fault in no time,it was not the tyres causing the noise but the right rear wheel bearing! So TZ 100'S I truely sorry!.The moral of the story is even though the main dealerships charge like a wounded bull for their services, they do save you a lot of grief in the long run.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-15 01:32:53
Writing about the Primewell PZ900 given 78% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
was reluctant to fit these to my jag 3-0,and only been on 4 months to date, but they have been better than expected. much better than previous ZZ3's. Bit noisy and stiffer (97 load rating) and not the best in the wet,but predictable in the dry even on the limit- no sudden surprises! They have been at 130+mph (autobahn) and were steady and felt okay even with some hurried braking (dry)- too soon to judge wear. overall seem good value as they were cheap and my service guy recommended them as he also uses them. Don't know yet whether I will buy again.Will visit this review again next year to possibly update.
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-12 17:17:33
Writing about the Primewell PZ900 given 57% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Fitted these as a cheap option whilst trying to sort out an ongoing suspension tracking problem that had cost me 4 new avons in 13 months. Problem finally sorted and pz900's still in place. Used them at high speed and in various conditions and loads and have not been disappointed, especially the cost £320 for 4 tires all fitted + balanced. Not sure yet for wear life and if I would buy again. Down side - A VERY NOISY TYRE.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-04 11:10:35
Writing about the Firestone TZ100 given 54% (225-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Hi Tyres are actually Firestone Firehawk TZ100 (not shown on list)Tyres are generally good but road noise from the rear is unacceptable.Had one tyre replaced but unacceptable noise returned after 1000 km.Had no road noise from the original pirelli 6000's.
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-04 03:46:23
Writing about the Landsail LS288 given 53% (225-55-16-R)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 spirited miles
These tyres have weak side walls causing the car to sway from side to side at speeds above 55 mph, my car an S Type Jag has been checked over by a Jag garage and they say there is nothing wrong with the car and it must be the tyres.
Have sent e-mails and phoned and been told that some one will contact me
TWO WEEKS ON AND STILL WAITING FOR THAT PHONE CALL OR E-MAIL
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-15 11:24:37
Writing about the Pirelli P2500 given 47% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I drive a Jaguar S type 3.0, Pirelli tyres do slip in wet conditions, at first I thought because I did not know the road or something to do with my driving skills in wet conditions, but I realise its the tryres, with Pirelli tyres be more careful when driving on wet surfaces.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-06 10:14:07
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 31% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
These tyres are awful, They are noisy, in the wet they are lethal and even in the dry they are not great. Even being extremely cautious in the slightest of damp weather in a straight line the tyres squirrel around and the traction control light keeps coming on making stopping distances a lot longer than they should be. Do not buy. A good rule of thumb is tyres that last a long time generally dont have much grip. These prove that point.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-11 16:33:40
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre