Jaguar X Type 2.0 FWD Tyres

Drive a Jaguar X Type 2.0 FWD? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Jaguar X Type 2.0 FWD
BFGoodrich gGrip (41) 90% 80% 80% 81% 86% 85% 89% 84% 479,042
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (195) 88% 87% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,472,645
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Continental Sport Contact 3 (238) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,130,337
Riken Snowtime B2 (5) 74% 66% 62% 52% 86% 88% 80% 75% 35,300
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Nexen N8000 (74) 80% 75% 69% 66% 68% 79% 71% 73% 536,342
Infinity INF 05 (66) 56% 31% 42% 40% 62% 45% 33% 44% 367,897
Fullrun HP199 (73) 48% 27% 33% 32% 55% 27% 24% 35% 477,951

Jaguar X Type 2.0 FWD Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 100% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 45000 average miles
I have just replaced a set of these.
45000 miles mostly on motorway on a Jaguar X Type I cannot fault them.
I am told you can expect about 20000 on these cars with Pirelli.
There was no noticable difference from new to worn out.
Extremely high grip in all weathers, brilliant in rain and snow on the M6!!

I have just put some Uniroyal Rain Experts on, sort of by mistake but based on the Rainsport 2 I think I will be very happy with them.

tyre reviewed on 2011-03-12 10:00:39
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 97% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 37500 average miles
I bought my jaguar x type with these tyres on it. it has been over 60.000km. I was looking for alternatives but now I am definitely going to buy same tyres again.

Before with other cars I tried Dunlop, Bridgestone, Syron, Continental. This one is best among all for the price.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-27 12:31:40
Writing about the BFGoodrich gGrip given 93% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
had these all round on my Jag X type, as opposed to the recommended pirelli , a great all round Tyre for grip wet and dry,quiet very good wear, and the cost very good. I wish they sold a fitment for my BMW5 series fun flats,but hey ho! cant speak highly enough of these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-13 00:21:11
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 79% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Until now I religiously stuck to Pirellis on my X-type. Firstly the hideously expensive (certainly in S Africa) P-Zero Assymetrico's then, more recently. the P Zero Rosso. As they wore the car's already pronounced understeer got worse, road noise and comfort were diabolical and I experienced severe tramlining. I needed new tyres and the Conti's were on a special. Well, what an improvement. The car is amazingly quiet and far more comfortable. Understeer is still there but far more manageable and the tramlining is now a thing of the past. So far I have done only 2000km so cannot comment on the wear. Also I have not really pushed the car to the "limit" but I feel confident they would be up to scratch.
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-16 12:46:21
Writing about the Riken Snowtime B2 given 79% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6000 average miles
As expected, much better grip in the snow than the Pirelli summers they replaced.
Pleasantly surprised that they are also quieter, and fuel economy has improved 5%. This is compared to Pirelli 16".
I also ran Pirelli 17" summer previously and found the move to 16" summer improved ride quality and reduced noise as well, so with the move to 16" and winter the effects were cumulative
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-26 10:50:50
Writing about the Nexen N8000 given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
Nice smooth tyre with good handling, but only lasted about 7000 miles to the wear marker, not goood.
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-08 14:48:52
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 44% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 12000 easy going miles
Had these fitted on all corners, X type Jag Diesel. After 12K, front tyres at just legal, the rears still show 4mm. Garage suggests due to wear pattern the rears are under inflated, recommended an extra 4psi up to 36psi.
Replaced the fronts with Avon ZZ5 (on offer via Tyre Shopper.com @ 108.50 fitted.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-05 18:31:15
Writing about the Fullrun HP199 given 31% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6000 easy going miles
Excessively noisy. I thought there was a bearing failure initially in the wheels and then the diff.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-19 14:56:24
Writing about the Infinity INF 05 given 24% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 600 easy going miles
I've driven mini's with bald crossplies that have more grip than these death seekers in the rain. Yes, I'm old enough... I've spent my time on race tracks, I drive about 30,000 miles a year usually in all road conditions so it's not as if I'm a beginner.

They came with some 17@ wheels I bought for my car, and I thought they can't be that bad... The wheels were mounted on my Xtype Estate diesel, and this is when the "fun" began. The Xtype is pretty good for a front wheel drive car, it has traction control, good traction, and to be fair can handle anything I've ever thrown at it. But with these things on I was constantly waiting for the front to let go, the rear to let go, or even on one occasion going around the A£-M25 roundabout in the damp, for all 4 to let go. And they did, at about 15mph. No warning, one bit you can feel some weight on the steering, a few yards further on the steering wheel is just something to hang onto until it finds some grip. Luckily it has managed to do this, needing a curb once to help it out. They stayed on the car only as long as it took me to find some Dunlop Kojac's to replace them with. In fact I reckon it would have more grip with just the rims in contact with the road...

To be completely honest at one point I thought I had lost the clutch. The car was just sitting there with the traction control light on continuously whilst I was trying to leave a laybye on the A34. I thought I must be on a diesel spill or gravel, but all that was out there was a puddle.

Actually I'm shocked that they are still for sale in this country. I looked at the dates of review, these tyres are date stamped last year.

If you value your life, the car, any lamp posts, in fact anything that you could slide into if a sparrow pee'd on the road in front of these tyres, don't buy them. Lethal. At any speed, and in any conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-14 12:23:24
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre