Jaguar X Type 2.2D Estate Tyres

Drive a Jaguar X Type 2.2D Estate? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Jaguar X Type 2.2D Estate
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (197) 88% 87% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,507,645
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81% 88% 81% 292,536
Pirelli P ZERO Asimmetrico (15) 87% 81% 85% 75% 80% 73% 74% 79% 303,043
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (54) 85% 79% 77% 80% 70% 79% 71% 77% 554,137
Autogrip P308 (21) 70% 59% 60% 52% 61% 66% 53% 60% 89,018
BCT S800 (81) 51% 30% 39% 38% 60% 32% 25% 39% 380,496

Jaguar X Type 2.2D Estate Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 given 84% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
I bought a set of 4 after reading the 2012 braking test on this website. Potted a graph of cost vs braking performance, and these Hankooks were a good compromise. (Incidentally, when you do plot performance vs price, you see how overpriced the premium brands are).
I cannot fault the Hankooks, they give confident feedback. I run 41psi all round to minimise pot hole damage to the alloys. Tyre wear has been even.
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-16 13:06:57
Writing about the BCT S800 given 84% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
After reading all the otter reviews rubbishing these tyres, I felt i had to provide my opinion.
Have had these fitted to front of my 2.2d x type for some time and have had none of the issues raised here, wet and dry.
I would recommend and will certainly buy again
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-13 11:03:50
Writing about the Avon Ice Touring ST given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
Put them on once max temp drops to around 8 (Oct/Nov) and take them off in spring when it gets to about the same (Mar/Apr). Only had to use them twice in snow, first time did a 3 point turn on top of Snake Pass - no drama, unlike Range Rover in front of me. Second time was on steep hill and got up backwards (fwd) after doing 3 point turn. Very impressive. Brilliant on roads with deep puddles - no steering twitch at all.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-01 16:14:35
Writing about the Pirelli P ZERO Asimmetrico given 63% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-14 20:41:57
Writing about the Pirelli P ZERO Asimmetrico given 56% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 27000 average miles
Both fronts worn out at 15k miles. Left rear had uneven wear gone in 27k. Prone to puncture easily and quite noisy for an assimetric. Not particularly good for a premium tyre with very little feedback. Now trying Cooper Zeon CS6, initial impressions good but time will tell
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-09 21:57:00
Writing about the Autogrip P308 given 39% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7000 easy going miles
Bought these for the front tyres nine months ago - ie approx. 7k miles and they are already near the limit. In the wet they feel that they don't have good traction (and I am not a boy racer) as on a hill start they start slipping. In the dry they don't inspire confidence. There are far better cheap Chinese tyres like the Landsail that I have on the back wheels.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-26 16:59:18
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 0% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Poor traction below 5 degrees.
Very disappointed.
Had them 4 days and traction control flashing every trip in this month of november.
The left front is the one with poor traction.
I noticed the uk drivers side front has a smile tread mark near the outer shoulder when rolling forward yet the passenger side tyre has a sad face tread pattern.
I have had them checked and they have been fitted correctly but they are non directional .
The poor traction lies in the tread pattern on the shoulder looking more like a directional tyre thats on the wrong side.
Previously i had goodyear eagle asymmetrical 3 tyres and they were astoundingly good in every department.
I do not recommend the goodyear efficient grip performace tyre at all for a heavy car like mine which is a 2.2 diesel jaguar estate.
Ive got a lot of torque, weight on the front.
I hate these tyres they are a rubbish grip.
If the tread was reversed on the opposite then i think it would solve it but unfortunately they are not.
Not fit for purpose !
I would possibly put them on the rear had i not wish them to wear out as soon as possible so i can get the goodyear eagle asymmetrical 3 back on the front.
I seriously dont think im going to make it through winter without a mishap.
I cant believe they are even legal
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-21 07:35:33
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre