Kawasaki ER6F Tyres

Drive a Kawasaki ER6F? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Kawasaki ER6F
Michelin Road 5 (7) 90% 84% 81% 83% 88% 94% 87% 87% 20,400
Metzeler ROADTEC 01 (11) 92% 91% 93% 86% 74% 92% 75% 86% 52,000
Dunlop Roadsmart (12) 88% 85% 84% 85% 83% 88% 86% 86% 45,970
Avon Storm 2 Ultra (25) 87% 71% 76% 77% 89% 84% 83% 81% 169,700
Pirelli Angel GT (9) 83% 81% 76% 76% 84% 84% 79% 80% 31,150
Bridgestone Battlax BT 021 (10) 86% 71% 76% 74% 79% 79% 59% 75% 72,250
Maxxis Supermaxx ST (6) 83% 77% 80% 78% 22% 75% 38% 65% 20,100

Kawasaki ER6F Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Road 5 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 spirited miles
6,500 miles and still going. I'd say they have another 2,000 miles in them at a guess. Even better than the Pilot 4's. I have them fitted on my ER-6F which has done 15,000 miles from new. These tires are almost as good in the wet as the dry, and they are excellent in the dry. Yes they are expensive but definitely worth it. I don't tend to hang about so ride fairly fast everywhere. These tires have taken me all over the UK in all types of weather on all types of roads, from motorways to country lanes. Superb and highly recommended and last a long time!
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-21 03:26:33
Writing about the Metzeler ROADTEC 01 given 89% (160-60-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
Expensive, but actually very very good tyres. Lasted twice as long as the Bridgestone Battlax 21's that were on it and were stickier throughout.

These are the best wet weather tyres I have ever used. They give much more confidence on initial lean in and corner exit than any motorcycle tyre I have ever used (and that covers maybe 20 different types) in the wet, and stop very impressively too.

In the dry, there isn't that much that differentiates it from other quality all weather tyres other than it seems to last much longer before the rear squared off. I believe it is a dual compound rear and that structure seems to work very well.

An additional note - I got a nail in the front tyre after about 4000 miles. It has remained there for a further 10000 and the tyre has not lost a single psi of pressure.

I will be buying another set of the Roadtec 01's, without doubt.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-10 15:56:31
Writing about the Dunlop Roadsmart given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 8000 average miles
My first tyres and first bigger bike. I had couple rear spins and slides on wet surfaces. On dry was good all the time. I can't compare to other tyres as it is first. Mileage 8000 and probably will do another 1000 miles.
Mainly commuting 50 miles round trip a day on A roads.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-07 20:03:56
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT 021 given 77% (160-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4500 average miles
I've seen a lot of reviews of these tyres and they have been pretty shocking. I think this is partly down to people running the wrong pressures. The Kawasaki manual recommends 32psi front and 36psi rear. Running these pressures the tyres are shocking, to the point of not wanting to ride at all. However I emailed bridgestone and they told me the pressures I should be running. This has transformed the bike beyond belief. Lots of grip wet or dry, and I'm looking to hopefully get 5500 miles out of them. I wouldn't get them again as I want to try roadsmarts, but if I bought a new bike and 021s were fitted I'd leave them on.
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-26 10:51:42
Writing about the Maxxis Supermaxx ST given 63% (160-60-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5500 spirited miles
These Tyre's offer plenty of grip in the dry and aren't to shabby in the wet either. I commute all year round on mainly dual carriage ways so the middle of the Tyre takes a hammering. My only gripe with this Tyre is its not dual compound. I've manged just 5500 miles out of the rear and its shot, if I compare it to my last Tyre a Bridgestone BT023 which is dual compound I got 10,000 miles out of the rear.

I fitted these Tyre's as a bit of the an experiment to see if the budget sports touring Tyre could compete with the big boys , Unfortunately in my case with the type of riding I do it doesn't, it's false economy for me to go for a cheaper Tyre, half the mileage but not half the cost. If spend a few quid more upfront and get almost double the mileage its dual compound all the way for me!

Good tyre but as I say Maxxis would need to bring out a dual compound sports touring tyres if I was to consider fitting them again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-15 11:13:01
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT 021 given 46% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-22 04:18:29
Writing about the Pirelli Angel GT given 33% (160-50-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 400 spirited miles
I had a set of the Angle ST and they were great, 14000K and still going when I sold the bike, and they handled good.

I am riding a Kawasaki 650 Ninja now and replaced the stock tires with the Angle GT, big mistake, ruined the handling - with tire pressure at recommend 32 and 36 the rear tire felt flat and tame, with 32 and 40 it improved the lackluster tracking of the rear tire coming out of a turn but the lively switching of the stock tire is still gone. Might get you good mileage, but not worth the loss of handling on a sport bike. All the pro reviews are only interested in getting to do another review down the road.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-08 07:22:02
Writing about the Avon Storm 2 Ultra given 0% (160-60-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Just changed from Bridgestones to Avon storms on my Kawasaki,what a transformation. Fantastic! Keep it up Avon.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-27 20:31:50
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre