Kia Motors sorento Tyres

Drive a Kia Motors sorento? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Kia Motors sorento
Michelin Latitude Cross (40) 86% 85% 81% 78% 91% 81% 92% 85% 656,766
General Grabber AT3 (7) 86% 80% 74% 71% 87% 81% 83% 80% 189,800
Nexen N Fera RU1 (16) 83% 74% 75% 75% 79% 85% 77% 78% 40,665
Kumho Solus KL21 (11) 73% 67% 67% 63% 73% 68% 71% 69% 212,230
Maxxis Escapade CUV CV01 (5) 80% 80% 90% 48% 75% 50% 53% 68% 75,000
Hankook Dynapro HP2 (5) 82% 66% 66% 64% 63% 70% 50% 66% 16,132
Continental 4x4 Contact (29) 80% 74% 70% 51% 50% 75% 51% 64% 597,085

Kia Motors sorento Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Latitude Cross given 96% (235-65-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6500 spirited miles
Bought 4 new MICHELIN Latitude Cross tyres in Dec 2016 to replace dreadful budget tyres that were sold with my used Kia Sorento XM.
The tracking was also adjusted giving the car much improved handling and grip. I have done some light off-roading with these tyres and not once did I have any wheel slip on hilly grass and mud.
They seem to wear well at 6,000 miles. Hoping for a snowy winter this year to really test them out in 4 wheel drive. They look quite aggressive and give you the added confidence that you can tackle almost anything the weather and roads has to offer. Also the car feels very stable at high speeds when fully loaded with the Michelins. Highly recommended
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-01 11:02:32
Writing about the Kumho Solus KL21 given 87% (235-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
Original tyres on my Kia Sorento 2014. So far done 25,000 including towing caravan and still have 4mm tread left
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-08 19:37:12
Writing about the Maxxis Escapade CUV CV01 given 87% (245-60-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
I read the reviews of this tyre and got worried it may be too noisy. I've had them fitted and have had no such issue, in fact they're quieter than the OEM Hankooks my car came with.
Excellent wet road grip and handling. Very happy.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-02 20:48:02
Writing about the General Grabber AT3 given 85% (235-70-17-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 easy going miles
I've rated them against other AT tyres with my marks out of ten....
I've put them on a 2913 Sorento as the occasional off road trip requires them. AT tyres....I think cheaper ones are so noisy with poor performance there not worth the hassle where as better all terrain tyres just have much better design and testing so using them on the road does not become an ordeal.
On the car were Pirelli Verde on the rear and Nexen on the front. On the road these were great.
While tyres is a subject all sorts of people get up on there soapbox for me its a totally personal choice between what you want,how you drive and what you will put up with.
Me I like all terrains on my SUV I believe at the minimum highway terrain's should be fitted as standard.
First off there well made, I do not think tread looks as good as some others(which matters to some) but they do have a nice sidewall.(no white letters on these)
On the road I do not drive fast and to be honest no massive deterioration in handling in the dry, noise it a tiny bit louder but really no great increase. The one place none road tyres(and this includes HT tyres) struggle is that damp condition after a dry spell where suits lifts oils and grime to create a bit of a slime. Here you notice a little more under steer but no great increase. When occasion I've had the push along a bit again excellence.
These are the best handling AT terrain tyres I've used by a mile....
In the recent snow where I actually went up ion higher ground with a foot plus on the lanes and they were excellent. The car actually stayed in front wheel drive mostly with me actually stopping on fairly steep gradient hairpin and pulling away easily. Braking and cornering were excellent. It obviously never got below -10 and in the UK this is where in my opinion an all season tyre suffices. You do have to obviously cut of traction control as it cuts engine power.
They are 3 peaks mountain snowflake labelled.
Off road apart from some tracks I did misread a grass field. I didn't think it was a boggy as it was or wet as I picked the higher line.....
The tyres were sinking in a good 10", the field was grass and soaking with this being one of the worse conditions for traction with the mud and grass creating a really slimy surface. While it wouldn't just drive out I did need to cut traction control and get the tyres spinning a bit.The tyres totally ejected all mud and grass....
They were probably nearly at the point where I would need to air down, in places it had dropped at least a foot bit it still drove out....Fantastic for an all terrain.
It was between these and the Continental ATR with the AT3 being a bit more aggressive. I would have picked the ATR(obviously Continental own General with General offering a more extreme tyre)
On the Sorento is a 235/65 r17 as standard and I just wanted a little more height.
I did need to replace rear springs anyway but fitted a full set of Eiback Pro which have maybe a 20mm lift.
The AT3 is offered in many more sizes and I fitted 235/70 r17. The tyre has totally exceeded expectations in all areas.
As an initial review it ticks all my boxes so highly recommended for the price(I think I paid about £118 a tyres at Boss tyres)
I think the only thing that would hold some people back is like I said earlier the tread is not as good looking as some which to be fair when people are so concerned how there car looks I think the tyres are a big parts of that.
They still look great and I think my Sorento looks so much better with these on so big thumbs up.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-25 10:50:23
Writing about the Continental 4x4 Contact given 84% (235-65-17-V)
Driving on mostly town for 50000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-18 00:54:55
Writing about the Nexen N Fera RU1 given 77% (235-55-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-09 01:13:11
Writing about the Hankook Dynapro HP2 given 61% (235-65-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
The tires were on the truck originally, after 12,000 km (8000 miles) it remains 7/32 and new they have 10.7 / 32 so wear quickly. I changed to 4 Michelin Premier LTX and the comfort and handling are really superior with the new Michelins.
For the speed of wear, time will tell me.
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-09 22:06:43
Writing about the Nexen N Fera RU1 given 59% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
The tyre at first seemed great on dry summer roads, but as soon as the temperature fell below 5 degrees and the roads were a little wet the grip deteriorated. Wheel spins when pulling off from junctions have become the norm.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-10 09:27:20
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre