tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Land Rover Defender Tyres

Drive a Land Rover Defender? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Land Rover Defender
BFGoodrich Mud Terrain TA KM2 (2) 90% 80% 90% 95% 90% 85% 100% 90% 30,020
Goodyear Wrangler AT SA (8) 90% 85% 91% 86% 90% 91% 95% 90% 78,000
General Grabber UHP (17) 90% 85% 84% 75% 85% 85% 84% 84% 546,010
Cooper Discoverer MS (4) 88% 88% 70% 73% 73% 60% 80% 76% 23,020
Continental Cross Contact AT (3) 83% 63% 80% 77% 67% 83% 70% 75% 32,000
Silverstone MT117 Xtreme (1) 100% 30% 10% 10% 70% 100% 100% 60% 5,000

Land Rover Defender Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the BFGoodrich Mud Terrain TA KM2 given 94% (225-85-16-Q)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2014-04-08 22:04:18
Writing about the General Grabber UHP given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60000 average miles
Driving Land Rover Defender. 26,000 mile Towing 2 ton trailer and 34,000 mile on M roads, A & b roads total of 60,000 miles,renewing in another 2k mile rear tyres would get about 5k more but will replace the 4.Will I be replacing with General Grabbers you bet, It's a no brainer!
Posted at 2013-09-23 23:08:52
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact AT given 93% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 24000 average miles
Cannot understand some of the reviews for the Cross Contact AT. These tyres are an excellent all round performer. They are less than half worn at 24,000 miles so I am looking to get around 50k+ out of them. They perform wet or dry are capable off road and have an acceptable noise level on a defender which is not exactly quiet anyway. My usage is 70% county roads 25% "A" roads or motorways and 5% off road. For any tyre to have to handle all of the above summer and winter is a big ask and this tyre is very good.
Posted at 2013-09-08 15:04:04
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact AT given 91% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2012-06-14 07:06:06
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer MS given 86% (265-75-16-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
Have these tyres on our Land Rover Defender. They are great, both for road use and offroad. I think this is one of the best compromisses between road and offroad ability on the market.
We have studded our tyres.

Posted at 2011-06-07 13:59:48
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler AT SA given 80% (265-75-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 easy going miles
A great tyre, really quiet and comfortable on road, doesn't sound like an off road tyre.
Posted at 2010-03-12 18:56:50
Writing about the General Grabber UHP given 80% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 spirited miles
I drive a Land Rover Defender. Prior to getting my most recent I always though the General Grabber TR looked good but would be a joke offroad.

When I bought my last rover it had them on and I instantly changed my mind. They do look good but they are fantastic road tyres, they transform this chunky clunky vehicle into a nice motorway car, noise is lower than any defender tyre, but the really surprising thing is these things are really good offroad.

They can handle any gradient of rock or gravel (an have had them on the gradient limit on wet rock, just as well if not better than the BF Goodrich Mud Terrain / and better than the Goodrich All Terrain TA), but forget it in mud - they are not a mud tyre. I've not had them in snow yet, but all ive heard from people I know running them.

Beacuse I have the cash im going to buy some beefy winter tyres for the hell of it, but if you drive a Defender, you should be running with the Grabber TR tyre in the summer it is great and a full 5 mpg better than a mud tyre on the road - that is important in a Landrover!

If you are a farmer or one of those idiots who drive in mud pits for the sake of it, get something else.

Oh yeah and the wear is phenomenal. Mine are half worn at 25,000 miles. My dad took a set off a rover which did 60/40 Road/offroad which had done 55,000 miles!!! Amazing, but be warned, at this limit, although the tread is still good i've seen the wires coming through the inner walls - check them!

Will buy again.
Posted at 2010-09-08 00:18:14
Writing about the General Grabber UHP given 73% (235-85-16-Q)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
General Grabber TR OK on the road and on tracks / grass. Not so good in mud especially when compared with the competition AT tyres from BF or Conti.

THey were OE on my Land Rover Defender - but the difference off road partiularly in mud and snow of the Conti AT tyre is amazing.

Land Rover now fit Conti Cross Contacts as OE - not surprising
Posted at 2011-10-07 16:53:19
Writing about the Silverstone MT117 Xtreme given 60% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
horrible on the road but awsome off road
Posted at 2012-12-21 22:53:36
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact AT given 40% (235-80-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 average miles
A total rubbish tyre, they came on my new defender, have done only driving on the road and are half gone after 3 thousands miles. Got stuck on grass. The 235 which is the width is not the tread width, the actual tread width is 185. That've ally annoyed me as I wanted 235 tyre width. I'll be lucky to get 7k miles out of them, very disappointed to say the least
Posted at 2013-01-28 20:37:51
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: