Land Rover Defender Tyres

Drive a Land Rover Defender? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Land Rover Defender
BFGoodrich Mud Terrain TA KM2 (3) 93% 83% 90% 93% 93% 87% 100% 91% 75,020
Goodyear Wrangler AT SA (9) 90% 86% 91% 87% 90% 91% 94% 90% 95,000
General Grabber UHP (17) 90% 85% 84% 75% 85% 85% 84% 84% 546,010
Kumho Road Venture MT KL71 (7) 86% 84% 82% 59% 93% 77% 76% 80% 100,123
Continental Cross Contact AT (7) 82% 69% 82% 80% 80% 74% 76% 77% 103,000
Cooper Discoverer MS (4) 88% 88% 70% 73% 73% 60% 80% 76% 23,020
BFGoodrich AllTerrain TA KO (8) 86% 71% 64% 68% 76% 69% 78% 73% 239,320
Silverstone MT117 Xtreme (1) 100% 30% 10% 10% 70% 100% 100% 60% 5,000

Land Rover Defender Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the BFGoodrich AllTerrain TA KO given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 40000 easy going miles
Fantastic, I had these on a 90 td5. No issues with these once I had them on the vehicle, went everywhere (at the time lived in rural N/E Scotland) snow, rivers, muddy fields, forests and roads. They wore really well, were extremely robust and didn't make much noise. Fuel economy wasn't great, but I was driving a un-aerodynamic brick with a roof rack.
Posted at 2015-10-11 10:14:36
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact AT given 97% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 average miles
bought as new-take offs with new wheels for my 2004 Land Rover, and these are well behaved on the road, with good support for offroad sites. Not brilliant in the mud as a full on MT tyre, but these are 50/50 M&S rated tyres which suit my 20,000 miles a year very well.
I recommend them over the UHP (General Grabber TR) which I had before, as a better all round all season tyre. For sure, slightly noisier and slightly lower (about 1-2mpg) than the TR, but the TR is 70% road biased. There's always a trade off, and this is one I'm happy with. I average 29.5-33.7 mpg depending on traffic and terrain.
Posted at 2014-12-10 13:37:51
Writing about the BFGoodrich Mud Terrain TA KM2 given 94% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 45000 spirited miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2014-11-13 11:49:06
Writing about the BFGoodrich Mud Terrain TA KM2 given 94% (225-85-16-Q)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2014-04-08 22:04:18
Writing about the General Grabber UHP given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60000 average miles
Driving Land Rover Defender. 26,000 mile Towing 2 ton trailer and 34,000 mile on M roads, A & b roads total of 60,000 miles,renewing in another 2k mile rear tyres would get about 5k more but will replace the 4.Will I be replacing with General Grabbers you bet, It's a no brainer!
Posted at 2013-09-23 23:08:52
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact AT given 93% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 24000 average miles
Cannot understand some of the reviews for the Cross Contact AT. These tyres are an excellent all round performer. They are less than half worn at 24,000 miles so I am looking to get around 50k+ out of them. They perform wet or dry are capable off road and have an acceptable noise level on a defender which is not exactly quiet anyway. My usage is 70% county roads 25% "A" roads or motorways and 5% off road. For any tyre to have to handle all of the above summer and winter is a big ask and this tyre is very good.
Posted at 2013-09-08 15:04:04
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact AT given 91% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2012-06-14 07:06:06
Writing about the Kumho Road Venture MT KL71 given 86% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
these are great tyres just bought another set foe my landrover defender but gone bigger size good on and off road
Posted at 2014-09-21 16:41:54
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer MS given 86% (265-75-16-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
Have these tyres on our Land Rover Defender. They are great, both for road use and offroad. I think this is one of the best compromisses between road and offroad ability on the market.
We have studded our tyres.

Posted at 2011-06-07 13:59:48
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact AT given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 average miles
not sure on other posts claiming unbelievably low mileage before wearing out. Mine came with the defender as new and have done 50,000 miles so far, with loads of life left. I anticipate at least another 10,000. Road noise is good (for a defender) and off road grip has been absolutely fine during mild conditions (green laning etc). They feel utterly safe at motorway speeds and have been extremely resistant to damage by sharp objects etc both on the sidewalls and tread, which doesn't show evidence of missing chunks as some other tyres out there do.
Posted at 2015-05-10 19:12:23
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!