Land Rover Discovery 1 1996 Tyres

Drive a Land Rover Discovery 1 1996? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Land Rover Discovery 1 1996
Cooper Discoverer ST MAXX (1) 90% 90% 80% 80% 90% 100% 100% 90% 3,000
Event ML698 (7) 90% 90% 89% 89% 93% 77% 93% 89% 29,700
Avon Ranger (10) 90% 90% 89% 78% 96% 81% 85% 87% 152,000
BFGoodrich AllTerrain TA KO (9) 88% 70% 67% 70% 77% 70% 80% 74% 261,320
Pirelli Scorpion STR (26) 83% 72% 76% 77% 68% 71% 67% 73% 834,761
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61% 59% 69% 939,170
Toyo Open Country HT (9) 70% 33% 54% 51% 83% 63% 31% 55% 103,000

Land Rover Discovery 1 1996 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion STR given 100% (235-70-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 spirited miles
Probably the best tyres I've ever bought, had the last set for 4 years on 3 cars over all types of terrain and motorway. Taking into account the fact that the tyre is 70/30 on to off road rating a very good all round tyre. Extremely tough. I'm on my second set.
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-03 17:29:05
Writing about the Avon Ranger given 100% (235-70-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
We have had Michelin, Good Year and Pirelli nothing matches these! No matter where we go what we pull the never seem to wear, this is our second set of Avon's and if were a bit late they will take corners surprisingly hard surprising us and others!!. Dry or wet they never let go! The side walls hold up well considering the disco ways 2.7 ton. It has never been stuck although we haven't really taken her off road properly the tyres will cope with wet grass, messy mud ruts and snow! which is all we need really. They are very quiet long journeys are no problem 80-90 mph. Overall excellent think we have found a tyre for life
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-14 15:37:53
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 given 100% (950-90-26-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-06 06:01:56
Writing about the BFGoodrich AllTerrain TA KO given 91% (235-70-16-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 75000 average miles
Best tyre I've found for grip longevity and value for money so far they've done 75,000 miles and still got 4mil of tread
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-23 19:21:27
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer ST MAXX given 90% (245-75-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 easy going miles
Had these fitted new to my old Discovery 300Tdi as an upgrade, and they were a great choice.

As quiet as a road bias tyre despite the chunky looks, were surprisingly grippy on tarmac in the wet or dry, (never aqua planed for example and were always grippy and progressive) and obviously didn't have any issues in grassy fields. I never had the opportunity to take them offroad seriously, but I suspect they'd be a safe choice given the tread pattern. I had them on for about 3000 miles before I sold the truck, and the tyres had barely started to wear at that point. I had no issues with punctures or tears and in fact I'm looking for the same again for my current Discovery V8.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-20 13:17:44
Writing about the Event ML698 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
I have a set fitted to my Land-Rover Discovery. The vehicle is used for marshalling on rallies, often in muddy forests, and for towing both glider trailers and a car trailer. With the glider trailers it is sometimes necessary to retrieve gliders which have landed in fields.

Both on and off-road these tyres are excellent. They have good road-holding and excellent handling characteristics and are very predictable.

The wear rate is good and they provide excellent driver confidence.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-02 22:05:00
Writing about the Event ML698 given 87% (235-70-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
I have a Land Rover Discovery 1 which I use for towing glider and car trailers and for helping as a retrieve vehicle on British rallies including driving well off-road.
The dry grip is better than expected and in the wet these tyres clear deep water with ease.
The wear rate is better than normal with such a chunky tread pattern and the steering feel is excellent as is the handling. Road-holding is good for an all-terrain tyre.
I shall definitely buy these again when the current set is worn out.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-17 20:44:54
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion STR given 83% (235-70-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Very good tough tyre excellent in the wet or dry make sure you get the STR's not the STR A there is a distinct difference in tread pattern and so grip in snow
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-13 17:59:36
Writing about the Toyo Open Country HT given 0% (245-70-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Hi,
I just bought a set of 4 here in Muscat, Oman for my old Landrover Discovery this morning. They cost OR60 each including balancing and full wheel alignment check. I was replacing a set of 2 year old Pirelli Scorpions, that despite worthless their 5 year warranty, were completely shagged(no longer round and lots of bumps as the steel had gone inside). I will let you know how they go !!
tyre reviewed on 2010-04-01 15:01:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement