Land Rover Range Rover P38 Tyres

Drive a Land Rover Range Rover P38? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Land Rover Range Rover P38
Avon Ranger Sport (1) 100% 100% 80% 80% 70% 80% 90% 86% 20,000
Maxxis Marauder II MAS2 (8) 95% 83% 75% 80% 82% 85% 81% 83% 69,160
Toyo Open Country AT plus (1) 90% 0% 80% 80% 70% 70% 100% 82% 3,000
Nokian WeatherProof SUV (7) 85% 92% 83% 70% 60% 87% 92% 81% 34,300
Linglong Green Max HP010 (9) 81% 78% 78% 79% 85% 76% 89% 81% 104,177
BFGoodrich AllTerrain TA KO (9) 88% 70% 67% 70% 77% 70% 80% 74% 261,320
Kumho Ecsta X3 KL17 ASYMMETRIC (2) 95% 80% 70% 35% 0% 75% 90% 74% 150
Pirelli Scorpion STR (26) 83% 72% 76% 77% 68% 71% 67% 73% 834,761
Continental Cross Contact UHP (31) 86% 79% 75% 74% 53% 72% 64% 72% 757,387
Achilles Desert Hawk HT (4) 73% 65% 68% 65% 77% 58% 55% 66% 24,227
Falken ZIEX ZE329 (9) 73% 54% 56% 58% 35% 49% 36% 51% 120,599

Land Rover Range Rover P38 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Linglong Green Max HP010 given 96% (255-65-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre on my 1996 2.5 DSE Range Rover, will buy again definately.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-11 13:56:36
Writing about the Maxxis Marauder II MAS2 given 94% (255-55-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-12 23:46:07
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof SUV given 86% (255-50-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 average miles
Weatherproof SUV on Range Rover P38 diesel. During the hottest summer for years and 6000 miles (2000 around Scotland) only wore down 2mm. I have used them in wet and very pleased with the grip over that from Pirelli Scorpions it previously had. As an off-roader I have used them at our 4x4 site, as well as going to marshal at others. They do very well and are actually better off-road than Falken AT we also have. The Nokians have a kevlar type layer in the sidewalls to give better protection against damage and punctures.

Will buy them again and also when the time comes see if I can get them for our other vehicles.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-30 18:08:35
Writing about the Avon Ranger Sport given 86% (225-55-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Work well in sticky mud, grip reasonably in snow and ice.. Great on the motorway.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-21 22:00:38
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta X3 KL17 ASYMMETRIC given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
Just purchased two new for the front of my Range P38. The car was originally running on Scorpion ST's but they are now no longer produced and the newer model Scorpions didn't look as good for the money. Paid £165 for two and thus far feel good. The weather and driving conditions have been hot (30 degrees) but so far so good. Well worth the money and feel more responsive than the Scorpions that have just been removed.

I will update more as I use these tyres as I think they are a bargain for the money
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-18 20:34:40
Writing about the Toyo Open Country AT plus given 82% (285-60-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 average miles
Good combination of offroady tire and on road behavior. Quiet on high speeds, bit less comfort but good feedback from the strong sidewalls.
Good dry grip from the relative soft rubber, expect good snow handling.
Have about 5000km on the tires and no visable wear yet.
I have not yet driven these in the wet and snow, wil update.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-22 09:31:31
Writing about the BFGoodrich AllTerrain TA KO given 81% (245-65-16-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 65000 average miles
Outstanding all terrain tyre. Good road performance, with good grip in wet or dry, acceptably quiet under all conditions and excellent in snow. Superb performance off road regardless of surface. They've done 65k miles on (70%) and off (30%) road so far and are only 2/3 worn. Would highly recommend and will definately be buying another set.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-06 10:45:26
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact UHP given 79% (255-55-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
Put a pair of these on the front of a Range Rover, lovely tyre but they
wore out in just 5k (gentle) miles. My Range Rover is driven very calmly
and I couldn't believe that these tyres were worn out in just 5k. Shame,
as definitely would have bought again if wear was accetable.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-23 14:21:00
Writing about the Achilles Desert Hawk HT given 72% (255-50-19-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150 average miles
These were fitted to my range rover when I bought it, having seen the name I was a bit dubious as to their ability. I haven't driven far, but so far so good, they have good traction in wet and dry, with no noticeable wheel spin. The temperature is quiet low at the moment but haven't experienced ice or snow. I think with having 4wd it is helping a little but generally i can't complain. I will give further feed back in a month or so.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-01 22:20:36
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion STR given 47% (255-55-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 average miles
Bought to replace Pirelli Scorpion ST in the same size, which were brilliant tyres on road, pretty good off it and gave 60k miles before needing replacement. The STR was a huge (and expensive) disappointment after the ST. Dry grip about the same as the ST, wet grip definitely worse, useless off road and in snow and lasted 28k before needing replacement. The only positive thing I can say is that they were slightly quieter than the STs. Would not recommend and will not be buying again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-06 10:39:39
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre