Land Rover Range Rover Sport Tyres

Drive a Land Rover Range Rover Sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Land Rover Range Rover Sport
Michelin Latitude Alpin 2 (2) 80% 100% 95% 100% 100% 100% 100% 96% 20,000
Hankook Ventus ST (15) 88% 82% 84% 83% 94% 89% 91% 87% 10,475,040
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88% 97% 87% 434,283
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (268) 90% 89% 85% 84% 73% 83% 80% 83% 3,577,734
Michelin 4x4 Diamaris (6) 90% 82% 88% 87% 72% 83% 72% 82% 154,500
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 SUV (4) 85% 95% 80% 80% 60% 88% 83% 81% 16,500
Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW (12) 83% 86% 79% 72% 91% 78% 78% 81% 292,000
Continental Cross Contact LX Sport (4) 93% 87% 80% 80% 70% 83% 70% 80% 80,500
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (242) 84% 93% 79% 79% 63% 83% 77% 80% 1,712,205
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (47) 90% 79% 86% 84% 66% 77% 73% 79% 373,670
Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac (4) 83% 78% 80% 75% 83% 70% 85% 79% 18,017
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (52) 85% 79% 77% 80% 69% 79% 71% 77% 535,137
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport SUV (3) 90% 83% 87% 83% 50% 67% 63% 75% 37,500
Continental Sport Contact (17) 85% 76% 75% 74% 69% 71% 70% 74% 259,589
Continental 4x4 SportContact (5) 90% 74% 74% 76% 50% 82% 64% 73% 79,066
Goodyear Excellence (116) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 75% 62% 72% 2,514,856
Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico (8) 80% 63% 70% 74% 63% 74% 40% 66% 166,000
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289
Fullway HP 108 (6) 60% 37% 35% 33% 62% 32% 13% 39% 55,000
Zeetex HP202 (3) 37% 23% 30% 30% 13% 17% 10% 23% 20,300

Land Rover Range Rover Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus ST given 100% (275-40-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40 spirited miles
Originally picked these up in summer 2014 for about £120 per corner, on the recommendation of a friend in the motor trade. Upon fitting, the difference between them and the previous tyres (Continentals with about 16k on them) was staggering. Quieter, better fuel economy, improved grip in both the wet and the dry, you name it and the Hankook Ventus ST beats the Contis hands down.

We've taken our car across France on the autoroutes at speeds that English police would claim is unsafe, and the Hankooks provide everything you could possibly want when driving a fast, heavy, expensive car. Great grip, precise handling, slow to wear down, surefooted in heavy rain. Really impressive tyre in every way. Whilst my other half drives like Morgan Freeman in a heartwarming movie, I like to squeeze every last ounce of performance out of the car - the tyres take a beating when I drive, and they have stood up admirably to everything I have thrown at them.

Fast forward to autumn 2018 and having done 40,000 miles we finally need to replace two of the four, because they are down to about 3mm. A bit of research demonstrates that although the price has risen to £157 per corner, the Ventus ST is still the best value tyre out there for the Range Rover Sport. Pirelli alternatives are more expensive but no better, Continentals are more expensive and distinctly worse. Bridgestone Duelers are far more expensive and arguably worse than the Contis, so that only leaves Michelin as a viable alternative... and they start at over £200 per tyre.

The Ventus ST isn't fabulous off-road. Wet grass is no particular problem, nor is gravel or shallow mud. When you start splashing around in deep mud however, you are going to find that there is a limit. It's miles better than the Bridgestone Dueler (we have these fitted to a Toyota Hilux and they are complete rubbish), but that's not exactly a benchmark!

A final mention regarding snow performance: living in southern England means we very rarely see any snow, so I can't really say how the Ventus ST performs in that regard.

All in all, I simply don't understand why these tyres aren't fitted as the default option coming out of the factory. The quite simply urinate all over the opposition.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-29 14:28:29
Writing about the Michelin 4x4 Diamaris given 100% (275-40-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
this is the best tyre I have ever had (used Continental and Goodyear on same car). It is precise, low noise, excellent comfort. Although it is an M&S tyre it is not meant for snow driving (braking)
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-26 15:20:41
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 100% (275-40-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 easy going miles
Beste tyre I ever had on the Range Rover Sport TDV8...Not noisy, very good handling dry and wet, absolut perfect..
What a difference after Continental 4x4 Sportcontact and Pirelli P Zero
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-01 21:37:51
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Alpin 2 given 97% (225-55-20-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres Looks like I will get 30,000 miles from a set
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-10 00:04:18
Writing about the Hankook Ventus ST given 94% (285-40-22-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 50000 average miles
I put these on my 2008 Range Rover Sport as the Pirelli Scorpions didn't seem to last too long, and I was amazed by these tyres. More comfortable ride, very quiet, fuel economy increased by 2mpg, and, get this, on a big heavy vehicle, these tyres lasted 50,000 miles!!! Will defo buy again for any vehicle
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-19 12:42:26
Writing about the Hankook Ventus ST given 93% (275-45-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
These tyres transformed my car. Swapped for Pirelli zero's that had approx 3mm tread left. These are way quieter and loads more grip. I can't comment on longevity as only done about 1k miles but very impressed so far will definitely buy again
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-24 20:21:35
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 93% (255-55-19-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
I've fitted these Uniroyal Rainsport 3 SUV after lot of days comparing all the possible reviews on the web, I also wrote to Uniroyal to ask more information about that. Well what to say, I can't be happier with my choice, these tires are simply amazing for a 2 tons and more size car like Range Rover Sport. I previously had fitted the Goodyear Wrangler F1 m+s, so loud, hard compound, they squeal at very low speed in all condition. Crap tires that fortunately is not produce anymore, btw these Uniroyal have beaten all my expectations. In dry road they ride smooth, no squeal, tons of grip and fast response, and this was the condition that was worried me. In the wet they are perfect as dry, so no complain at all. It seems talking to uniroyal that the compound is the same black chili used for continental, with a more wet pattern oriented design. I had to post the review in the no Suv categories because tyrereviews has not update the Uniroyal SUV field with the Rainsport 3. Wear seems pretty good after not too many miles, and the price is definely unbeatable. If you want a smooth rider with some of spirited drive (for the spirited drive you can have with a range rover I mean) these are the perfect shoes, so you can be safe in the wet and practically all the year round!
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-07 10:44:19
Writing about the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport SUV given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17500 spirited miles
Great tyres, had Toyos on my work van few times before so tried these on my Range Rover, good spirited driving on country roads and motorways, really improved the handling on a big heavy car compared to the cheaper tyres that were fitted before. Great on country roads and smooth on motorway cruising. 17500 miles so far and still 40-50%.Will certainly buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-02 21:03:38
Writing about the Continental 4x4 SportContact given 87% (275-40-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50 average miles
Third set of these on RRS and each time travelled at least 50,000 miles per set. Myth about poor wear.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-12 13:52:23
Writing about the Uniroyal RainExpert 3 SUV given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
I purchased a full set of the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 for my Range Rover Sport 3.0ltr HSE just at the beggining of 2018.
These tyres were great from the off, especially after i'd been riding around on a brand new budget set that came with the car. This transformed the handling and stopping distance immediatley!
Wet, dry and snow I have driven in this year and they've coped admirally and inspired confidence which is essential in a big heavy suv/4x4 such as mine.
On a purely asthetic note, they look good from the side view on the car and the tread pattern is a work of art!
I wouldnt hesitate to buy these again especially as i managed to get them for £125 each, which I considered to be good value for a tyre with the size rating 275/45/20 y speed rating xtra load......

tyre reviewed on 2018-03-11 16:06:29
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre