Lotus Elise Tyres

Drive a Lotus Elise? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Lotus Elise
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (35) 98% 76% 92% 93% 75% 72% 94% 86% 206,505
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (28) 94% 72% 91% 91% 70% 75% 91% 84% 166,100
Nankang AR 1 (18) 91% 50% 87% 89% 78% 74% 87% 79% 49,591
Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 (8) 88% 76% 83% 84% 64% 63% 80% 77% 122,016
Yokohama Advan A032R (1) 100% 70% 90% 70% 50% 50% 100% 76% 5,000
Federal 595RSR (45) 86% 68% 79% 81% 73% 59% 79% 75% 190,203
Yokohama Advan A048 (9) 96% 53% 96% 81% 51% 56% 86% 74% 22,310
Yokohama Advan A050 (4) 98% 45% 93% 90% 33% 70% 93% 74% 2,000
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (46) 80% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57% 54% 66% 806,215
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289

Lotus Elise Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
replaced a full set of bridgestones with more oe spec bridgestones only to find the original compound has changed for my car. the new spec are as far as i'm concerned undriveable so bit the bullet and changed to a full set of yoko ad07's. what a transformation! the level of feedback is so much better with the car being far less twitchy as speeds rise. i thought that was just the way the car behaved but these tyres prove its not the case. dry road grip is as at least as good as before but not had that much dry roads since fitting so a bit limited in that knowledge. i was warned against very poor performance in the wet though but i feel this is actually better than the potenza's.
i have also been warned not to subject the tyres to extreme cold temperatures (-12 or more)which will cause permanent damage. if i drove my lotus in those conditions i would need my head tested anyway so this causes no problem.
price wise they were a tad more expensive than the oe spec potenzas but as that spec has changed now, it is no longer an alternative as far as i'm concerned.
really happy with this tyre and would recommend
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-18 17:29:58
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 given 87% (225-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I used to have RE040 on my first Elise but their grip was only average in the dry and merely acceptable in the wet. My second Elise had AD07's as standard and again they were OK but nothing special so I tried some AD08 on the rear and the transformation was not quite what I was expecting. Once the tyres were warmed up the dry grip is very good but the important thing was how much more progressive they are. Driving right up to and over the limit is not much more confidence-inspiring. Their wet grip is also better than my old ADO7 and miles better than RE040's. Deep water can be a problem but that would be the same for most high performance tyres. The other thing is that they were quieter than my AD07's. It's just a pity I can't get them in 175/55 16's for the front.

I would never buy anything else.
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-26 07:53:08
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 given 79% (175-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16 spirited miles
Got these yokos with the car and though they do rumble they stick to the road like something to a blanket.
I use my car to go to work and fun little trips and though the suspention is hard the feed back from these front tyres and the bigger rear tyres are great, they will let you know when they want to let go and once gone are very easy to guide!! I have now ordered a new set of fronts as the old set though still legal have lost it as I fear the winter cold has trashed the surface of them, they are rated for min -10 so I have been told and we have had a lot colder this winter. but these tyres ROCK.
tyre reviewed on 2010-02-21 18:24:01
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R given 77% (205-45-16-)
Driving on track for 1000 spirited miles
I run these tires on an Elise S in 205/45/16 front and 235/40/17 rear. I replaced the original AD07LTS with them for track use as I found the original tire to underperform in corner entry. I bought the AD08R as they are priced and positioned as a street tire and at that time I was not so sure about how much track work they will get. I ended up using them as my track day tire.
The tire is run on whole day events with 30 to 45 min sprints, 30 to 45 min pause, then sprint then pause etc.
When cold the tire slides along quite heavily and it takes longer than others to warm up on my light car. This can be totally different on heavier cars. Normally I need 20 min to leave the track first time for pressure adjustments. I run 1.9 bar front and 2.1 rear hot, also used 1.8 front and 2.0 rear lately which seems to work a little better.
Once hot, the tire performs really well for a street tire. Biggest point on my car is that I can brake much later than friends on Federal 595 rs-r or Toyo r1r or other sport street tires. When reaching the limit the car is very communicative and slides progressively. I never had any nasty surprises.
In the wet for the race track the tire is really bad in my impression as a driver, even though others were surprised how fast the car still goes given the little negative profile of the tire. But the car was definitely no fun anymore in the wet, constantly managing understeer and oversteer it was quite hectic.

My biggest concern over the tire is that they eventually start overheating in the afternoon sessions if a high pace is keeped up for the day. This leaves the car sliding around, however this is still progressive and very manageable but leaves the impression that best laptimes are lost because the peak performance of the tire already left when the peak performance of the driver arrives. For that reason I will switch to a semi slick for pure trackwork.

On the Elise the tire lasts quite long, a front tire lasting twice as long as a rear.

Pro:
Communicative
Progressive
Great dry grip
Performs better than your average sporty street tire, but of course it can not reach a semi slick
Lasts surprisingly long

Contra:
Sketchy when cold
Sketchy when hot
Bad on track when wet (acceptable for the street though as you one does not drive nearly as aggressive on the street)

Buy when:
You need a sporty street tire that can keep up on the occasional track day
Do not buy when:
You need a tire purely for track work
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-15 15:20:00
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 40000 average miles
I had an Elise for over 10 years running RE 040 LTS and then RE 040's (The LTS versions were much better) and then replaced my 2001 Elise with a 59 Elise on AD07's. Dry grip is pretty amazing and when it does eventually let go it doesn't bite like the RE040's used to.
So far wet grip has not caused me any concerns yet so fingers crossed.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-16 10:21:58
Writing about the Yokohama Advan A032R given 76% (225-55-16-W)
Driving on track for 5000 spirited miles
Fast. Sticky when hot. Superb lateral and longitudinal traction. Predictable.

You expect a few drawbacks with a cut slick but these aren't as bad as I'd feared. Managed to hold 80% laptime in the wet as long as I kept heat in them and they lasted a good 4 track days and some street driving.
tyre reviewed on 2007-06-11 21:48:20
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE040 given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 50000 spirited miles
I replaced my old RE040's with a new set all round and found the usual new tyre "squirmyness" but even after 500 miles the fronts still tended to wash out slightly in tight fast corners. It's improved with miles but it's not quite been the same compared to my old set at their best. I've tried newer Elises with ADO7s and found them to be slightly better all round but was concerned about wet weather grip. Decided to change my 2001 Elise for a newer one so I may know more soon as the Yokohama's are standard fit after 2006.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-18 09:56:15
Writing about the Yokohama Advan A050 given 75% (245-40-17-)
Driving on track for 0 spirited miles
These tyres come in different compounds. If you get Medium compound "M", the wear is better, but wet grip suffers (forget it if it is wet and cold!!!). "G/2S" compound works better in wet, wear is the trade off, BIG time. Probably because I would push harder in these tyres.
There is also a G/S compound which is somewhere between the two, but I have not tried it.
If you are looking for good wear and only use them in dry (warm/hot) weather, there is a MH compound (which stands for medium-hard, i think) similar to the "LTS" compound made for Lotus, this would be the one to think about.
I would still prefer Bridgestone RE-11S (WS2 compound) which has grip from cold and holds MUCH better than Yokohama A050. You have to like the feel of a harder sidewall though. Wear is of course proportionately worse....
Happy motoring!
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-31 13:38:47
Writing about the Yokohama Advan A048 given 71% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-01 22:22:55
Writing about the Yokohama Advan A048 given 70% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Sticky responseive and they sound like you're being pursued by a helicopter :). Ok maybe not that bad, but not a quiet tire, but really that wasn't what I was looking for. The grip in wet where there are no puddles is actually ok, but the wide tread pattern can make a puddle over an inch deep somewhat more exciting than desireable. Mind you I've never lost control, but the wonderful feedback of these tires and the Lotus suspension begins to tell me that I am not 100% connected to the road when the water gets deep and I have any decent speed.

If you want a SUMMER performance tire these are awesome but the buyer should be aware that they must not be stored, let alone driven below 14F. Failure to abide by this restriction *may* result in irreparable cracking in the tire side wall, and in some cases eventual tire failure. There are reports of folks successfully driving these in snow, but that's insane for grip reasons even before we get to the temperature issue.

The temp issue is important and this site comes up as one of the first hits for A048 cold weather lotus, so to save folks a lot of time here's a link to my blog where you can read about how to tell if the cracking has occurred and when you should be concerned by it. http://the111shift.blogspot.com/2010/03/yokohama-a048-cold-weather.html
tyre reviewed on 2010-04-21 19:35:32
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre