MG MGF Tyres

Drive a MG MGF? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the MG MGF
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (34) 98% 76% 92% 92% 75% 72% 94% 86% 198,505
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Event Potentum (8) 84% 71% 65% 77% 73% 71% 81% 75% 66,030
Yokohama S Drive (60) 83% 68% 75% 76% 70% 68% 68% 73% 575,003
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Pirelli PZero Nero (129) 83% 66% 71% 71% 68% 64% 60% 69% 2,197,506
Nankang Noble Sport NS20 (26) 73% 59% 68% 60% 76% 71% 58% 67% 311,070
Event WL905 (126) 59% 31% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 45% 868,429
Triangle TR968 (67) 55% 32% 40% 38% 61% 38% 31% 42% 469,650

MG MGF Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Event WL905 given 94% (225-40-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
I don't understand the negative comments on these tyres. I can only assume the originators are driving as if they are at Santa Pod Dragster circuit. I found no problem in dry or wet conditions nor on motorways or country roads. Perhaps it's just that the tyres are better suited to certain cars but for the MGF I have no hesitation in recommending the WL905.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-10 00:52:50
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R given 90% (205-55-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
The MGF is picky when it comes to tyres and tyre sizes. Therefore to be specific:
2x Yokohama Advan Neova AD08R 195/50 R15 82V
2x Yokohama Advan Neova AD08R 205/50 R15 86V
that replaced (the by many beloved... as long as the road was bone dry) Toyo TR 1 185/55 R15 / 205/50 R15's. The Toyo's were a good summer tyre but squirmy in the wet and the limit of cornering speeds wasn't much higher that say a VW Golf before things got "interesting".

Despite the concerns of Rover MG of under steer with 195/50 in the front I decided to risk it (185/50 R15 being almost impossible to get these days). The tread pattern is more of a racing tyre than your standard V tread (Toyo TR1). This means 1. huge blocks of road gripping rubber, 2. a much more rigid (stable feeling) tyre and 3. a very unique look to the car. Under steer has never been an issue and I've had a lot less over steer than I did with the Toyo TR1's and factory Goodyear tyres (so many years ago).

Cornering speeds: 90 degree unbanked turn = 60 to 70km/h
Swerving between cars / obstacles speed: 80 to 100 km/h
Burnout minimum revs: 4000 rpm (TOYO 3000 rpm)

This is a tyre you want to drive hard. Arrive home after "a bit of fun" and you'll smell the rubber. Extremely stable with plenty of grip on dry surfaces, and less tread wear / sidewall deterioration than the Toyo TR1 after 2 summers (which needed balancing every year). Breaking feels more controlled and changing gears at high revs will actually surge the car forward.

Here we have roads with traffic obstacles in the centre of the road that cover only half the lane in concrete paving stones. The AD08R will actually pull the steering wheel towards the centre line because of the grip (unlike the Pirelli, Toyo or Michelin I've had on other cars on this road). Response / feedback from changing surface conditions / quality is incredibly clear.

I'm supposed to mention comfort as well: if you want to know about comfort, buy a French car and move to a retirement home, and don't be surprised when an MGF overtakes you for being old.

If you're going to invest in your MGF as a true British performance sports car, these are about as good as you can get to performance summer tyres without having your own pit crew changing from racing slicks to treads every time it rains. That is, until Yokohama bring out their replacement for the AD08R.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-06 22:59:27
Writing about the Yokohama S Drive given 86% (195-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
Ive had these tyres for around 13 thousand miles on the back of a rear wheel car driven hard ! did do 3500 in the summer going to spain and back on motorways but fantastic tyres cannot fault them atall ! in the dry they stick like glue and are generally quite (do have a convertible so may well buff noise out anyway ! i paid 110 for 2 brand new tyres and would buy again ! pirelli p zero in the front and they are awful cant trust them in the wet atall front slips before the back in a rear wheel drive car ! work that out ! best bit still to come, i have 2 ml left !!
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-29 13:57:34
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 80% (215-40-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
I've only had these on an MGF, and they are pretty picky what tyres you have on. Everything about this tyre shouts performance. Great grip in the dry, you always feel in control when pushing hard. Makes you feel confident in the wet. Great feedback. For the price (or even twice the price) nothing else can touch them. They do tend to wear fairly quickly but you can't have everything.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-31 15:38:17
Writing about the Event Potentum given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
I am on my second set of these tyres and have found them to be of comparable value to much more expensive tyres. No problems with handling in wet or dry or road noise. My car is a MGF sports car and I would not say I am easy on the tyres but I am impressed with these. I used Event WL905s prior to these and was at first dismayed when they were superceded by these but my fears proved unfounded. I would recommend them.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-13 21:03:49
Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 76% (215-40-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
(Australia) Have had these and other Falkens on the front and rear (currently just the rear) of an MGF. The front tyres are currently Nankangs which are good, but the Falkens definitely have the edge on those. We previously had a Series II Mazda MX5 which came on Pirellis and was terrifying in the wet until we switched it to Falkens. Dry grip never ceases to amaze me, ditto wet grip, progressive breakaway, quick recovery, good steering feel. Can't comment on noise as these are pretty noisy cars anyway, but for now they are my tire of choice, I can't imagine it's worth spending more, especially having been let down so dangerously by one of the big Euro names.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-17 21:49:55
Writing about the Nankang Noble Sport NS20 given 70% (215-40-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
(Australia) I have these tyres on one end of an MGF and Falkens on the other, this was not my ideal, and I thought I'd be itching to replace the Nankangs. However they are as good as the Falkens in most respects with the only noticeable difference that they are a little less 'crisp' turning into a corner. I now have the Nankangs on the front and the Falkens on the back and am quite happy. Greasy off-camber bend on my way to work that has given me big moments in other cars on other tyres, the Nankangs grip to a very respectable speed, then understeer mildly and predictably in the wet. Would probably buy Falkens next time for that slightly better feel but these are an excellent tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-17 21:38:33
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Nero given 57% (195-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
Looking at other reviews everyones seems to big these tyres up... i cant say the same in the dry i havent worried they are good, in the wet they are ridiculous i cant tell whether they are gripping or what they are doing ! slide all over the road when very wet and if you want to use your breaks then thats comedy because you will slide like your on ice !! wouldnt buy again may be its because my cars rear engined and rear wheel drive and they is not enough wait over the nose to holt it down !

soft compound yokahomas are the way to go ! spot on tyres on the rear

never the less 13 thousand miles and they got 3 ml of tread !
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-29 14:10:03
Writing about the Triangle TR968 given 26% (205-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Do not buy these tyres (or any triangle tyres for that matter). These are the worst tyres ever. I was driving along a wet road and coming up to a slight left hand bend when the rear wheels lost traction, would not regain traction and I ended up in trees. I was only doing 45mph in a rear wheel drive MGF. I only just bought it a few weeks before and never thought about checking the make of the tyres at the time. I will never have budget tyes likes these on my car again and will check before I buy from now on. I've compared the wet grip of these tyres to a Falken and the triangle is 21% compared to 87% - enough said. The wear is excellent. I don't think they will ever wear as they are so solid, thus slippy.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-18 12:29:58
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement