MG MGTF Tyres

Drive a MG MGTF? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the MG MGTF
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78% 74% 77% 1,381,255
Nexen N2000 (13) 81% 75% 75% 65% 82% 76% 78% 76% 191,000
Fulda Carat Progresso (13) 78% 72% 75% 74% 71% 72% 70% 73% 165,400
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67% 57% 63% 753,482
Hankook Ventus K104 (11) 68% 42% 50% 44% 55% 61% 42% 52% 76,040
Runway ENDURO 656 (12) 55% 31% 47% 35% 32% 34% 20% 36% 208,200

MG MGTF Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 94% (205-50-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
Hi, I have had these tyres on an MG TF 135. I don't know where this negative press comes from about their lifespan. I got 20,000 miles out of the rears and the fronts are still going!! Not even half way. Fitted them 9 months ago. Plus I have been known to push them quite hard! Even when I ran them to the legal limit, still had brilliant traction in wet and dry. They are OK in snow to. With my rear wheel drive MG and only a couple of mm from the limit, I had one instance where they failed, and the back end went for a walk. But easy to correct.(I must have done 1,300 miles in the snow.) I would highly recommend these tyres. Have run them on a Saxo VTS, Fiesta ST, Golf GTi and now the MG. They are great value for money, and give some of the 'bigger boys' a right run for their money!! They do well under 'pressure'.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-11 16:52:42
Writing about the Nexen N2000 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 spirited miles
Running these for 18 months - good choice. Wear is barely visible, road feel is very good and the ride is good as well - note my car! Would certainly have Nexen again.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-28 19:39:25
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 84% (215-40-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
These tyres really are the best fitment for an MG TF. They have more grip and are quieter than the original Goodyear GS-D2's and are also more comfortable than Kumho KU31's & Yokohama S-Drive's. I expect them to wear quickly as the treadware number indicates but that's not a problem for me as the car is only for weekend fun! Overall a great tyre at a sensible price and ideally suited to a mid-engine car.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-05 11:08:27
Writing about the Fulda Carat Progresso given 79% (195-55-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Had these on my TF (so i can actually comment on grip as it should be) and they where fantastic.

Fulda was a brand I was aware of and other tyres by them have impressed F / TF owners before.

The tread pattern drained water very well and felt planted even on the motorway in the heaviest of rain. Around tight country roads they excelled giving very good grip and a controllable limit with plenty of feedback.

I cant comment on total wear. They were on the car when I bought it and looked about 7mm - after 7000 miles of spirited driving they had around 5mm left. The TF and F dont really wear fronts out fast due to the RWD.

On a Mid engined car with a proper RWD setup with no traction control they performed very well. I added a set to the rear about 3 months before selling the alloys and they performed very well too.
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-18 00:14:53
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 77% (215-40-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Changed to the T1-Rs after a long stint on EagleF1 GD2s. The TF seems to really like the T1Rs and are as good a replacement for the Manufactures recommended GD2s. The tyres provided shed loads of grip in the dry while maintaining an acceptable amount of grip in the wet even when driving enthusiastically. They reduced cabin noise compared with the F1s and were as comfortable to use. The only downside is that they seem to wear slightly quicker than the F1's but to be honest, the lower cost and higher dry grip negates this! Top tyre for the car and will buy again!
tyre reviewed on 2008-10-31 10:35:07
Writing about the Nexen N3000 given 77% (215-40-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Cant really comment on wear but these tyres grip very, very well in the dry. They are a tad louder than old set but most V tread tyres are the same.

Overall very good indeed.
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-24 12:10:44
Writing about the Hankook Ventus K104 given 57% (215-40-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
Not too bad at all - had these on the front and they spent about a month there while waiting for my new tyres.

Responsive and crisp with a good wear rate - not suitable for wet use on anything other than a 4 door saloon though as grip was not good at all.

Previous comment about proper suspension setup is probably about right. The TF rivals and probably just beats the MX5 on handling (I drive both regular) and they both make good use of the performance of a tyre rather than just being steering tools.
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-24 12:34:48
Writing about the Runway ENDURO 656 given 54% (205-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 800 spirited miles
Don't even think about Runways on a performance car.

I had a pair on a couple of replacement rear wheels I bought for the MG TF. The tyres were almost new and still had the molding flash on them.

In dry conditions felt OK, grippy in the dry but fairly progressive; the car would make gradual transition into a drift as the back wheels lost grip. Nothing scary and easy to control and the limit was pretty high. Pretty much ideal performance for a mid engined car.

In the wet they seemed to have no grip whatsoever leading to oversteer anywhere. Not good, wet days involved a lot of tip-toeing around.

After a about a month they started cracking around the treadblocks and breaking up. They looked like they were falling apart and in a pretty dangerous condtion. I put the car in my garage removed the wheels and took them to the fitters in my other car, I wasn't going to drive on them again...

The tyre fitters who put the replacements on wondered if they'd overheated. I'm not so sure as there were no signs of blistering and the edges were well defined, the rubber on hot tyres tends to walk around a bit and this didn't appear to have happened. I don't think you can generate that much heat on the roads.

Transferred my old Toyo Proxes from my old (buckled) wheels on to the new rims and the car was back to it's grippy, predictable self.
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-01 14:14:58
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 43% (205-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 400 spirited miles
Fitted to replace worn Kumhos on an MGTF,
Wanted good wet grip tyres the result.
Shocking! car came a wobbly mess they even let go on a bend I used to take a lot quicker with the kumhos.
Car is wobbling about when you get over 60. very dangerous, I have emailled Uniroyal twice but they haven't responded. I have changed the tyre pressure but nothing has improved matters an expensive mistake do not buy!
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-20 13:49:15
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre