MG ZT 190 Tyres

Drive a MG ZT 190? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the MG ZT 190
Nokian zLine (77) 92% 92% 91% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 604,390
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79% 73% 77% 1,145,558
Jinyu YU61 (43) 82% 68% 71% 64% 76% 78% 75% 73% 291,400
Continental Sport Contact 5 (179) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,923,448
Landsail LS288 (27) 77% 66% 68% 64% 76% 74% 69% 71% 148,000
Autogrip P308 (21) 70% 59% 60% 52% 61% 66% 53% 60% 89,018
Sunew YS618 (55) 61% 36% 47% 45% 53% 49% 33% 46% 413,762
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261
Autogrip F106 (9) 40% 24% 33% 29% 60% 49% 21% 37% 37,050

MG ZT 190 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 100% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Outstanding tyre! The last owner had fitted some Chinese Death Rings to the front and it still had some worn Sport Contact 3's fitted to the rear, which made for an interesting combination, so much so, that I would try and avoid driving the car in the wet if at all possible! The Sport Contact 5's have transformed the car and whilst driving the car recently in torrential rain, I had complete confidence! Well worth the money!
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-03 16:23:11
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 87% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Probably the best wheels I have used on wet surface. A must have for the scottish weather.
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-12 22:29:09
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 given 78% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Had 4 of these fitted to my MG ZT 190 about 3 months ago to replace some nasty budget rubber that came with the car.

The first thing i noticed was the steering feel in the corners. very light and quite responsive.

Road noise is exceptionally high IMO, but they provide good enough performance to let that one go.

The feel superb 99% of the time, i do a big mixture of town, motorway & 'Spirited' B-Road driving.

They do tend to wander a tiny bit on the motorways, but not severely.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-13 19:51:52
Writing about the Jinyu YU61 given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 easy going miles
I've got YU63's on my ZT and had both YU61 on my Accord and yu61 on a Rover 75.

Great tyres for the money and much better than some premium brands. Not quite as good as Avons but great tyres. Best from China for sure.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-08 10:16:49
Writing about the Jinyu YU61 given 61% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 average miles
I've had these on the front axle of my MG ZT for the past 18000 miles. The GT Champiro HPYs on the back axle have worn out already whilst the Jinyus still have about 4mm tread left. This surprised me, as it's a FWD car. Anyway, my general impression has been mixed. They're not bad in the dry; my main observation is that the sidewall is quite soft so the turn in isn't quite as crisp as it was with the old tyres (Landsail LS988, another set of budgets which were on the front wheels when I bought the car).

The wet grip is a different story. I won't use the overused term 'lethal', as in reality I just adjust my driving style to suit the lack of wet grip, but, understeer is ridiculously easy to induce and pulling away in the wet at anything quicker than normal, it'll spin the wheels. Admittedly this isn't usually a big issue, but part of my commute involves pulling onto a NSL/60MPH road from stationary from a very short sliproad; this can be interesting in the wet....

Aquaplaning resistance seems fine, although they're a bit on the noisy side. I wouldn't buy them again, but they're not THAT bad.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-23 19:42:50
Writing about the Sunew YS618 given 46% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
Bought 4 of these for my mg zt 190, and the tyres i had on before were better and they were worn out as i had just bought the car!!!!
It has taught me a lesson, never to get budget tyres again. done 1500 miles with them and won't be doing many more as i am getting rid!!!!!!!!!!!
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-28 11:09:24
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 40% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
I'm puzzled. If all tyres have to be made to a particular standard, just how low is the bar set? These were on the car when I bought it. If you like excitement and thrills at remarkably low speeds in the wet, then these will be ideal. Otherwise - buy something else. Like a Spacehopper or a Pogo stick.
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-17 07:00:08
Writing about the Landsail LS288 given 37% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
These tyres are ok in the dry, but hopeless in the wet. So unless you never drive when the road is wet, avoid at all costs!
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-16 10:32:24
Writing about the Autogrip P308 given 23% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
Had these on the back of the ZT car came with them which is the only reason they are there really. If you enjoy crazy sideways lift off oversteer action these are the tyres for you. Truely scary in the wet, noisy and unresponsive in the dry.

Was wanting to get rid of them for ages but even after 12000 miles they weren't wearing. The assumption is that they are made from the same plastic they make cheap household goods from, you know the sort, that nasty hard shiny stuff...

Anyway i digress, dont put a price on your safety. Buy decent tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-30 15:00:24
Writing about the Autogrip F106 given 18% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Abysmal. These were on my MG ZT 190 when I bought it. Poor in the dry, dangerous in the wet. How can these be legal?
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-22 14:22:23
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre