MG ZT T (190) Tyres

Drive a MG ZT T (190)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the MG ZT T (190)
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (150) 83% 76% 77% 76% 73% 75% 78% 77% 2,457,523
Continental Sport Contact (16) 84% 76% 76% 74% 71% 73% 73% 75% 247,589
Vredestein Ultrac (12) 82% 73% 73% 75% 71% 75% 76% 75% 169,000
Nexen N6000 (61) 81% 70% 75% 66% 71% 75% 66% 72% 605,469
Infinity Ecomax (13) 75% 69% 68% 62% 73% 70% 80% 71% 165,200
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (118) 69% 48% 56% 53% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,171,447
Sunew YS618 (50) 61% 36% 48% 44% 52% 49% 34% 46% 388,962
Rotalla F105 (19) 65% 29% 44% 36% 56% 57% 35% 46% 70,502

MG ZT T (190) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 99% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Amazing tyres. They replaced Bridgestone RE040s on the front and it has transformed the handling of the car. The Bridgestones had a number of nasty habits including being noisy, tramlining and having terrible grip until they warmed up (which took a while).

The Kuhmos by comparison have shown just how bad the Bridgestone tyres were. Tyre noise is considerably better, no tramlining and cold grip is now much improved.

It would be unfair to say they are good for the price....these are good tyres for any price! Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-26 10:30:05
Writing about the Nexen N6000 given 83% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
I was initially really dubious having always used Bridgestones but I am pleased to say it is a very good tyre for what it is. A quality value tyre that is not designed for hang it out performance driving. For every day driving, moving the family around at the legal limit it is absolutely fine.
On a hooligan note, I drove them at an average 90 mph for 6 hours in France last year and they were fine.
As they wear the wet grip diminishes a bit, pulling away quickly from junctions with FWD will spin them up (maybe the big grooves in the middle lessen the amount of rubber on the road?. )
After 12k miles I swopped the fronts and backs and am now about to buy two more as one of the family drivers has kerbed and split a rear!! Joy!!
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-08 09:12:58
Writing about the Infinity Ecomax given 80% (235-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I´ve got 4 of these on my MG ZTT 190 and they are great. Silent and grippy... I´ve had to do a full emergency break at one time from 90km/h and they sure did handle the awesome breaking power of the MG ZTT.

tyre reviewed on 2016-06-28 11:36:49
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac given 77% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Excellent dry grip and pretty good wet grip considering it is a summer tyre. Handling in the wet and dry is very consistent with lots of feedback through the steering.

I was expecting poor wear from these but they were excellent- far better than the michelin and toyo tyres previously fitted. I would definitely buy these again.
tyre reviewed on 2008-10-22 16:49:53
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact given 74% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 spirited miles
Reviewing has got to be subjective - particularly wet conditions surely the driver is a much bigger factor than tyre (see British GP 2008!) and unless we compare the same vehicle, judgement must be limited. That said, I have had this car for about 22,000 miles on same tyre with front tyres lasting about 11,000 (fwd 2.5 V6). The wet performance is very good (I don't remember a single scary moment, very aquaplane resistant on motorway and A road). Excellent grip and feel in the dry, but then for an estate, it really handles (car bigger factor than tyre?). Reviews so far are not convincing me to bite the bullet and try another brand for ?150 a corner, although I know this would make my review more useful!
tyre reviewed on 2008-07-08 10:27:24
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 71% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
These federal tyres had just been fitted to my MG ZT when I purchased it. They lasted 29,000 miles which I was amazed at. A bit noisy at slow speeds but for the money 10/10.
I have replaced them with Vredestein Ultrac's which are quieter, and turn in stronger but they were twice the price. I just hope they last as long.
tyre reviewed on 2009-03-20 20:52:06
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact given 51% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10500 average miles
Nice when new and middle aged. Good feel but quite noise-affected by road surface - but that applies to many makes.
As they got older (but not worn out) they lost their feel.
I just have 2 little moans; 1. Worn out after 10K of easy/mixed driving. 2. Rubber perishing/cracking in tread, I've never seen that before.
On the whole pretty good until they got old.
tyre reviewed on 2008-11-09 11:39:24
Writing about the Rotalla F105 given 46% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 average miles
These tyres are acceptable in the dry. In the wet? Forget it. I've managed to spin these things in 3rd gear on a wet road!

They are wearing quite well, but thats because I'm wary about pushing them on wet roads.

Noise isn't too bad, especially on wet roads; but you know whats coming next? It's because I'm wary of pushing them!

There's budget tyres, then there's these things.

Avoid.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-31 23:36:49
Writing about the Sunew YS618 given 20% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 7000 average miles
The worst tyre i have ever used. in the dry it's OK. In the wet....it's as skippy and jumpy as a kangaroo on steroids !!

Mine were on the car 2.5 years , loads of tread left, but then it just exploded when i hit a small pothole.
The inner wall split the entire way round !!! when i changed ALL the tyres...the other three had cracked all the way round too !!!!!
I will NEVER NEVER buy these. If I had been going at speed.....i would be dead, as would my children !!!
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-11 09:49:38
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement