Mazda 3 MPS Tyres

Drive a Mazda 3 MPS? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mazda 3 MPS
Hankook Ventus S1 Noble2 (18) 91% 89% 85% 85% 76% 93% 93% 87% 133,500
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (15) 90% 85% 87% 84% 81% 83% 90% 86% 95,300
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (33) 91% 88% 89% 86% 84% 82% 80% 86% 123,710
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (101) 91% 89% 84% 82% 81% 91% 81% 86% 391,081
Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 (30) 88% 81% 80% 78% 80% 86% 83% 82% 325,260
GT Radial Champiro HPY (22) 88% 80% 74% 73% 61% 77% 73% 75% 210,215
Minerva minerva F105 (16) 59% 41% 47% 38% 53% 48% 31% 45% 155,400

Mazda 3 MPS Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 93% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1300 spirited miles
Supplementary to the previous review: When i wrote that SportMaxx RT2 are one class down than Goodyear Asymmetric 2, i meant about comfort and noise and not in general. Also i forgot to say that these tires need more air because they are soft. I put 2.6 bar in front and 2.3 bar in rear.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-29 08:47:03
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 91% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1300 spirited miles
Had Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 before and i decided to buy from its subsidiary company Dunlop. I had Dunlop long ago to a previous car and what i remember most is that they were very sticky in the dry. And yes i get this feeling again! I have much better info from the steering wheel and you must go beyond the laws of physics to get the car out of the road when cornering! As for the progressiveness i like an "airy" sound they do when you corner to the limit so you know what it's going on. You get no fear from these tires as in every driving mode spirited or not all happens in smooth way! Goodyear was very quiet and very comfort. Maxx RT 2 are one class down than Goodyear.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-28 12:13:29
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 Noble2 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
Driven 20k KM so far, still put a smile on my face.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-04 11:35:09
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 86% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Just swapped 4 worn Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tyres for new Goodyear Asymmetric 3 on my Mazda3 MPS. Haven't had these tyres very long hence the N/A rating for wear and progressiveness but overall there doesn't seem to be much difference between the two variants.

The car does seem to turn in marginally better, the new tyres are fractionally quieter, total grip and comfort levels are unchanged in my opinion.

The side wall height also looks the same, tread patterns are very similar but the rim protection is less pronounced than before and probably won't protect your alloys very much (the older ones didn't offer much protection but they were better than these) .

Excellent value for money at £380 for 4 very capable performance tyres. Hopefully the newer technology will see them out perform the older variant over the life span of the tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-08 10:35:00
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS91 given 73% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17000 spirited miles
Very impressed at the overall performance of the tyre and consider it very good value for money.
Confidence inspiring and good feedback.
Only issue would be the wear & tear, which I feel could be better.
Definitely recommended and would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-22 15:50:03
Writing about the GT Radial Champiro HPY given 71% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Was surprised at the level of grip these GT Radials offered, grippy in the dry and was vert good with spirited driving. Even in the wet I experienced very little aquaplaning despite hitting some slight puddles on the highway.
It was still giving good feedback in the wet when slightly new, and decent levels of feedback towards the end of its life.
Highly recommended as a reasonable budget mid range performance tyre, if it held up well on a FWD 380Nm torque car like the Mazda 3 MPS, it can definitely be a good set for most performance JDM turbo sports sedans/coupes.hatchbacks.
Just be sure to rotate them accordingly.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-26 10:26:05
Writing about the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-30 18:24:17
Writing about the Minerva minerva F105 given 47% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 6300 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-03 07:13:27
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement