Mazda 3 Sport 2.2 Diesel 185 BHP Tyres

Drive a Mazda 3 Sport 2.2 Diesel 185 BHP? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mazda 3 Sport 2.2 Diesel 185 BHP
Kleber Dynaxer HP4 (2) 100% 95% 90% 90% 95% 100% 95% 95% 4,000
Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 (11) 87% 82% 75% 84% 93% 90% 94% 86% 56,750
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Toyo Proxes R30 (3) 83% 70% 87% 83% 77% 70% 77% 78% 63,040
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78% 74% 77% 1,381,255
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Uniroyal Rainsport (24) 79% 87% 70% 78% 72% 74% 65% 75% 467,577
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (122) 84% 74% 73% 75% 73% 75% 66% 74% 1,619,302
Goodyear EfficientGrip (119) 77% 66% 61% 58% 69% 71% 52% 65% 1,454,267

Mazda 3 Sport 2.2 Diesel 185 BHP Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Proxes R30 given 91% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 spirited miles
I had Toyo Proxes R32's originally fitted on my MAZDA 3 Sport 185 BHP Diesel. Initially I was unsure how well they would perform as I drive my car hard. However I was happily surprised with the eceptional performance in terms of handling and durability. I am only now changing my two front tyres after 25,000 miles. Rear tyres still have some considerable life left in them. I will be replacing with same tyres again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-16 16:14:05
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 90% (205-50-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 32 average miles
These tyres were brand new fitted to a car I purchased and matching all round.

I have found both dry and wet grip very good in these tyres, and these have even managed to handle very cautious snow driving without too much bother. I do not find that these tyres need to be "warmed up" before they perform at their best.

These have worn almost identically on all four corners of my vehicle although this might be helped by the spot on alignment check I had early on and ensuring the pressures are kept at correct levels. Approaching the end of their life the front tyres have started to wear a little quicker than the rears but have managed 32,000 miles of mostly motorway style cruising.

These tyres have taken some battering from the horrendous state of UK roads and not had a problem until today, some debris cut my front right tire and it quickly deflated while travelling at 50mph on a motorway (average speed cameras in roadworks). Despite not noticing immediately the car still held onto the road well and was stable to drive even with a my steering wheel pulling left and right. So top marks for stability when they have suddenly deflated!

I am happy with the performance of these over the last two years and I have now purchased a brand new set to replace both of my front tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-16 21:50:44
Writing about the Kleber Dynaxer HP4 given 90% (205-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 average miles
Awesome for the price. Amazing grip on dry roads. I didn`t think the car could stop so fast as i had to test it because of a car accident on the road. It gives a good grip on the wet surface but i try to drive pretty safe on the wet so i can`t tell more for now. Very little noise although the Mazda 3 is a car where you can hear all the sounds coming from outside, I can recommend it for sure, It is a good pick especially for the price i took it - 80 euro per tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-19 10:37:20
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 89% (205-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
these tyres are great for the money. Love them, they have been replaced by the ZV5 which are just as good. I had ZZ3's fitted to my previous car a Seat Ibiza TDI Sport and covered over 50000 miles (obviously not one set of ZZ3's) this encouraged me to buy again for my new car.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-23 22:32:37
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 89% (205-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Used to always buy avon zz3's, the zv5 replaced those. When looking for my latest set of tyres i decided to get uniroyal rainsport 2 however immediately they didnt seem right, few others drove the car and agreed, luckily enough the dealer took the uniroyals back and fitted the zv5's (which i should have bought in the first place.) The change in the car was instantaneous,grip was much better and the feedback was alot better. If they wear the same as the zz3 then they will wear uneven and probably not last as long as other tyres, but definately great tyre for the money.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-25 23:25:33
Writing about the Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Cant say much. Basically i was looking for not too expensive tyre and that was it. On dry it is great. Wet grip is not that good but on snow and ice it is handling extremely well. I drove 2000 km by now. Wearing is not something i can comment on but i am surprised the tyres are still okay given the fact i was driving on something most people would correct me if i say it is a road :D. I would probably buy this again. Not too many tyres are better than this and for the price it is a bargain.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-12 19:13:21
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 57% (205-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I purchased these on the review from this site, Once fitted (to the rear) i quickly noticed the car didnt quite seem itself. Thinking i was goin mad i asked my father to drive the car and he agreed it just "didnt feel planted" and "feels boaty". The balancing tracking was all ok, so put the tyres onto the front, prevented the boatiness mostly so i then looked into the reason why..............i noticed that the sidewall of the tyre is only 1 ply where as my standard tyres and tyres that i had replaced were all two ply thus stiffer/less roll. Im sure these tyres would be perfect for some one who wasnt as "spirited" a driver.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-23 22:24:04
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 57% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-18 22:40:43
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport given 0% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
Using The Rain sport 2 on my Mazda 3 sport 2.2 185BHP model and have done about 10K with them they are quite a noisy tyre but now the rear ones are producing excessive road noise as if a wheel bearings had gone so when I had it serviced I asked that the rear wheel bearings be checked. The outcome was that the inside edges of block treads had worn into a wedge shape causing the tyres to bounce. I returned to the tyre supplier and they have said it's a suspension problem(Rear shocks)which I find hard to believe as nothing has shown up on the service, the car is a 2010 model and not driven hard. If any one else has experienced the same and knows why this has happened I would love to know. I am now faced with having to buy replacement tyres and the worn ones are going to be sent to the manufacturer to be tested. So far very disappointed with these tyres, never had a problem like this before with tyres. I was also told it may be that these tyres just don't suit the Mazda 3!
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-12 17:47:36
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre