Mazda Mx5 2008 Tyres

Drive a Mazda Mx5 2008? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mazda Mx5 2008
Matador MP 44 Elite 3 (16) 90% 84% 85% 71% 81% 78% 88% 82% 65,313
Yokohama Advan A11A (2) 90% 75% 95% 95% 95% 75% 50% 82% 1,000
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77% 83% 81% 1,856,713
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (155) 89% 86% 83% 82% 59% 83% 70% 79% 1,425,323
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,601,523
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Three A P606 (34) 77% 72% 70% 66% 70% 76% 73% 72% 197,801
Primewell PZ900 (58) 72% 58% 54% 57% 57% 50% 42% 56% 980,274
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47% 28% 44% 95,152
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261

Mazda Mx5 2008 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Yokohama Advan A11A given 89% (205-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I went through 2 sets of these the last 70.000 km. Ages really well. Road feedback is very good, and the sides rigid. Grip is ok (not exceptional) in the dry, maintaining easy control, while offering the opportunity for some rear-wheel drive fun. On wet tarmac you need to be careful, especially during braking.
Not availiable any more, too bad cause I had gotten used to its quirky nature. I will go for a Michelin PS3 , since I can't seem to find a better opyion in these dimensions.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-21 07:23:54
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 89% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 30000 average miles
After 45000km it still grips reasonably well and still has at least 20000km worth of tread. In my case the wear is good althought I mainly drive in town with occasional fast bursts. The only negative i find is soft side walls and slow steering response
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-28 16:22:55
Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 86% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 spirited miles
On my MX-5 the Bridgestones were not very good, the Goodyear GSD3's were good but these are better. Makes the car handle better by far and is good in the wet - until they wear down of course. Good mileage, around 16,000 on the fronts and 14,000 on the rears. So happy am having more fitted on the rear today.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-26 10:08:30
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 80% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
Value for money tyres! Gives you more than you expect. Takes some time to warm them but then they grip very nice. I'd buy them again
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-07 18:04:59
Writing about the Matador MP 44 Elite 3 given 80% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 300 spirited miles
I have just fitted those tyres in my 2007 Mazda mx5.

First impression is very very good grip in slippery dry roads.
Also, i feel that those tyres feel a bit harsh comparing to my old Michelin Pilot Exalto but with much more feedback!

I’m very happy with them so far.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-14 20:12:02
Writing about the Three A P606 given 67% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I bought these as a comfort/winter runaround tyres for my MX5. I have been surprised by the grip in both wet and dry, comparable to good quality Falkens for example. Turn in is definitely softer than sports tyres but this is to be expected. These tyres do have very soft sidewalls so wouldn't take well to abuse such as kerbing and might be more subject to damage from sharp edged potholes, they do however give a very comfortable ride without noticeable tyre noise. All in all a good alternative at the low price and much more capable than other "cheap" Chinese tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-12 18:37:48
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Exalto given 51% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 40000 spirited miles
Those tyres have very good grip in dry roads when they are new but they wear very fast.

Performance in wet roads are below average.

For this price i would buy something else.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-17 19:31:44
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 40% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Awful. I have a MX-5 and if it wasn't for the traction control id be dead in the wet. Anything other than 100% dry condition and you have no grip, I've accidentally had the rear end out at 15mph!!! I'm not a fast driver and these should not be legal. Now its coming in to winter these are getting replaced with something that actually grips in the wet. I've driven racing slicks in the wet and they are on par with them. AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-29 14:02:49
Writing about the Mohawk M112 given 39% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 average miles
The only tyres iv ever had that i would actually say were bad. The grip in the dry is ok but only ok but as soon as the road turns even a little bit damp they have as much grip as a greased eel! Worse is the fact that they will completely let go with no warning what so ever useless and even dangerous tyres! Also frequently needed air in despite no slow punctures. A full set of these mockeries was fitted new to my car when i bought it 2nd hand but have now replaced all 4 with some avon zv5's before the mowhawks kill me! Avoid like the plague
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-18 21:48:13
Writing about the Primewell PZ900 given 35% (205-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
When I purchase my secondhand 2008 MX5 it came fitted with nearly new Primewells PZ900. The PZ related to the amount of grip, Practically Zero and 900 was the number of degrees you would spin through in the wet before disapearing through a hedge backwards. Two weeks after the purchase of my car, whilst fitting new Yokohamas, my friendly local small independent tyre specialist made me pick up one of the Primewells in one hand and then in the other, one of the new Yokohamas. The Primewells were twice the weight and the tyre walls were four times as stiff but then they were considerably cheaper than the price of the Yokohamas.

tyre reviewed on 2012-02-12 11:24:27
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement