Mazda cx5 Tyres

Drive a Mazda cx5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mazda cx5
Continental AllSeasonContact (11) 90% 95% 87% 91% 83% 88% 95% 89% 57,770
General Grabber GT (12) 88% 81% 76% 68% 87% 83% 80% 80% 138,207
Achilles Desert Hawk UHP (5) 85% 68% 78% 70% 78% 93% 85% 79% 63,000
Toyo A23 (2) 80% 80% 80% 80% 70% 80% 80% 79% 43,044
Yokohama Geolandar G055 Blue Earth (12) 77% 55% 74% 66% 79% 77% 60% 70% 111,221
Yokohama Geolandar G98A (13) 75% 68% 68% 73% 48% 61% 33% 61% 179,000
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289

Mazda cx5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental AllSeasonContact given 96% (225-60-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-19 21:10:58
Writing about the Wanli S1088 given 96% (265-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
I am surprised at all the negative reviews that Wanli is receiving. Because I have been using Wanli tires for quite some time already. So far, it has actually performed better than what I expected, given that they are cheaper than other tires. But they have good grip on the road, especially in the Philippine's road condition, where there are so many bumps and traffic is horrible. Grip is very good on both wet and dry road, considering that I like to speed up and then use sudden brakes whenever I need to. I will buy Wanli tires again. They are performance tires and not to mention, they are affordable too!
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-17 17:52:38
Writing about the General Grabber GT given 89% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Having 90% of the tyres in this size not matching the manufactures speed rating V, I had to research and shop around for a good replacement tyre I could trust for a good price. The oem tyres were Yokohama g98a which performed well in all conditions and I was generally happy with these but when they wore out the replacement price was 320AUD dollars each as well as a treadwear rating of 280 which I wasn't happy with. I found the gt grabbers were a new product which is a mid range tyre from the continental group from well known american general tyres. I picked the tyres for 165 Aud dollars each with a treadwear rating of 420. I couldn't be happier. They perform well in both dry and wet and are comparable to the Yokohamas for half the price. They will also perform better off road too as they are m+s rated. Would happily buy again. Thanks general.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-03 02:04:41
Writing about the Achilles Desert Hawk UHP given 83% (245-45-20-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-09 21:01:06
Writing about the Toyo A23 given 79% (225-55-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 43000 average miles
Impressive wear for an OEM CUV tire. I replaced the original tires with the exact same tire.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-18 01:04:48
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar G98A given 76% (225-55-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 19000 easy going miles
They spend very fast 31000 Kms: 3mm front axle, 2,5mm rear axle.
Good grip in dry, in wet at 20000 Kkms passing through a small puddle at 90 Kms / h the rear wheels slid sideways.
I would not buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-31 23:33:26
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar G98A given 73% (225-65-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 average miles
I got the car with this tyres, at 30.000km. They were OEM issue. The thread was ~3.5mm when I got the car, so on it's end of their life. After 7k km, they got down to 2-2.5mm. I drove with them either fast and slow, on various roads, highways and country roads. In general, they acted fine, pretty grippy for a worn down tire, quite difficult to make burnouts if you wanted.
Only issue I observed was in moderate and heavy rain, the car would became unstable and the tires would slip to left and right at over 80km/h on the motorway (although I was the fastest driver around :) ). So not that safe in this regard, although we could attribute this bad performance to the lack of remaining thread.
The noise level was ok, nothing to write home about. I just took the car with them, maybe I was used to that specific noise of the car. The wear is fine from my point of view, 35-40k km from a pair of tires is more than adequate.
As comparison, on a Civic, a high performance tire as Goodyear F1 Eagle Asymmetric 2 would worn almost completely in 20-25k kms.
Unfortunately, in the CX-5 size, 225/65R17 there are not many performance tires to chose from, so I find the Geolandars G98A perfectly adequate for the job, and I would happily get them again.

This one being a company lease car, they replaced them with Bridgestone Ecopia EP850, as the programme is arranged. I just drove 15km with the new Bridgestones, so not enough to get an opinion, but I kind of already miss the Geolandars. With the Bridgestones I can break traction at each start from the stoplights, a thing that would be hardly achievable in the Geolandars. Maybe they are new, I'll give them time to settle in.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-08 12:43:45
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar G055 Blue Earth given 71% (225-45-17-P)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 average miles
Too noise
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-16 12:17:20
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar G98A given 60% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 19000 average miles
Factory tyres on MazdaCX5 do most things OK, but @ 30000 km no tread left on the tyres, despite the fact that the wear indicators still have approximately 1 - 2 mm left above them.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-07 09:35:14
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar G98A given 56% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 easy going miles
These tyres were fitted from stock on our Mazda CX-5. The car has driven aprox 20000 miles now and the tyres are full of bursts/cracks. This is the first time we see this happening with an tyre. So for wear, we give it a 4. Everything else, a 6. Cause it's an "OK" tyre to drive, nothing special. But because of the wear and price of the tyre, we wouldn't buy it again and rather go for another brand.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-12 18:40:03
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre