Mazda mx 5 Tyres

Drive a Mazda mx 5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mazda mx 5
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (71) 89% 86% 83% 85% 86% 84% 84% 85% 656,362
Continental ExtremeContact DWS (8) 83% 89% 79% 78% 86% 90% 89% 85% 174,000
General Exclaim UHP (1) 90% 80% 90% 80% 100% 70% 80% 84% 20,000
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (265) 90% 89% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,525,472
Uniroyal RainExpert (129) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86% 85% 83% 1,253,762
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (102) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78% 82% 82% 815,927
Linglong Green Max HP010 (9) 81% 78% 78% 79% 85% 76% 89% 81% 104,177
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (47) 86% 81% 80% 78% 75% 80% 83% 80% 405,960
Nankang NS2R (30) 92% 69% 86% 88% 74% 56% 79% 78% 102,511
Goodyear DuraGrip (13) 83% 74% 68% 70% 77% 76% 78% 75% 280,470
Falken FK452 (207) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 74% 73% 74% 2,685,366
Zeetex HP1000 (10) 80% 73% 75% 62% 83% 74% 70% 74% 167,030
Toyo T1R (272) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,484,183
Goodyear Excellence (114) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 75% 62% 72% 2,503,056
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (152) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 64% 71% 2,231,801
Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27 (12) 78% 60% 75% 55% 80% 81% 62% 70% 178,000
Federal 595EVO (37) 73% 44% 68% 63% 70% 54% 55% 61% 422,353
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289

Mazda mx 5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo T1R given 99% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Amazing tyres! Loads of grip in the dry and wet! Which gives you the confidence to go faster and faster! Then when you do loose the back end they feel graceful and easy getting back into shape! No big tank slappers! Got a Mazda mx5 1.8 with new lowering springs and shocks all round! I would never buy a different tyre than the proxy T1R for my Mazda! And recommend them to anyone. And so cheep! £34 a tyre on camskills website, it was £73 for to tyres delivered to my door! Bargin!
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-22 16:09:24
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 93% (195-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-18 22:06:09
Writing about the Uniroyal RainExpert given 93% (185-60-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Fantastic
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-03 11:40:25
Writing about the Nankang NS2R given 92% (185-60-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
I Just mounted, tested the tyres on the road for around 150km, they fit perfectly on the car. They have much more grip, handling and responsiveness than in any other road tyre of any premium brand, except that you must warm them before trying to go fast.
These are semislick tyres for the road (180, hard wear), for the track there is probably something better (if you pay twice or more). You must be careful on the wet (but i tested when cold and new, 7°C and after torrential rain). Excellent braking in any condition, just slippery on very wet hairpin bend.
The perfect choice for an old mx5 NA with neither power steering or braking assistance. Better 185 60 r14 than 195 50 r15 on country winding road. Miata at its very best!
After few km on the roads, i have no idea of wearing, at present. It seems regular.
Despite they are reinforced tyres, they feel relatively comfortable (also on gravel, but my tyres have high profile!) and not noisy .
Very high value per money.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-17 21:42:41
Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact DWS given 91% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
So I am the fellow from Seattle who wrote the review on these from Sept. 2010 below. Having put 30,000 miles on them I thought it was worth re-posting an update. All in all I have to say that some 14 months later I am still very satisfied with the Conti ExtremeContact DWS. I made it through a rainy and unseasonably snowy & cold 2010/2011 with no issues, mishaps or surprises. On the snowiest days I didn’t drive my MX-5 simply due to this car has no ground clearance. I did however drive it on lightly snowy roads and they beat my expectations. In the rain, they are wonderful. We are back in our rainy season and they still perform very well. I still view these as one of the best tire purchasing decisions I have made. I’ll be curious to see how they perform over the next year since in the US at least a tread warranty is not offered (or wasn’t when I bought them) which may mean their longevity is an unknown. For road trips and comfort, operate them at exactly the recommended inflation values for your vehicle. I tried overinflating them by ~3-5 psi which did improve cornering/sidewall firmness but also made the ride harsher.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-18 15:29:21
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 90% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Quality doesn't always come with a high price. Perfect tyres!
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-15 22:42:28
Writing about the Goodyear Excellence given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 spirited miles
Excellent improvement in wet weather handling, dramatically reduced aquaplaning when hitting puddles at high speed. Very confidence inspiring.
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-11 21:20:16
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 given 90% (205-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-26 18:11:55
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 88% (205-50-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
Have had these on my MX5 for about 3 months now. Great once they have warmed up, but like the Yoko Advans they replaced, cold damp days make the car feel a bit too "twitchy" at the front for my liking esp. in damp conditions. I think this is the problem with "Summer" tyres in general, rather than the GSD3. In fact in the first couple of weeks I had the tracking checked, and re-checked - then twigged that the problem started when I switched from the Nokian winter tyres (March of 2012). Adding about 3-4 lb pressure over standard helped. Once they get warmed up going they really are great on twisty roads, wet or dry.
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-27 19:44:11
Writing about the General Exclaim UHP given 84% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
I purchased a 08 MAZDA PRHT Miata which had a pair of General Exclaim UHP all-season tires. I am overall very happy and impressed with these tires and would buy they again if given the chance. Nice aggressive looks, great in the dry as well as wet. Snow driving is not the best - driving slow and steady in snow is a must. Probably doesn't help that I have a RWD roadster. Quite unless your ripping around the corners at the limits of the tire. Seems to be treading well and long. I didn't know the company General before driving of the Exclaim tire but now I will continue to purchase from these company.
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-08 18:13:28
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre