Mercedes Benz C280 sport Tyres

Drive a Mercedes Benz C280 sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mercedes Benz C280 sport
Michelin Primacy 4 (42) 85% 84% 77% 79% 84% 86% 71% 81% 150,530
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (52) 85% 79% 77% 80% 69% 79% 71% 77% 535,137
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,611,523
Nexen Eurowin 650 (2) 80% 80% 65% 65% 75% 70% 100% 76% 10,000
Dunlop Direzza DZ101 (8) 85% 68% 80% 79% 67% 76% 76% 76% 154,300
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (57) 86% 67% 77% 72% 69% 68% 60% 71% 829,195
Nankang Toursport 611 (7) 77% 50% 76% 71% 79% 74% 59% 69% 67,500
Nankang NS2 (199) 77% 58% 66% 62% 75% 63% 61% 66% 1,750,559
Accelera PHI (127) 70% 47% 55% 54% 68% 60% 53% 58% 1,134,962
Kenda KAISER KR20 (58) 65% 46% 54% 54% 71% 55% 49% 56% 437,012
Radar Dimax R8 (27) 66% 49% 48% 48% 66% 55% 50% 55% 208,906

Mercedes Benz C280 sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I switched to these on my Mercedes because I was delighted with the all round performance of Hankook Optimos on an Opel Corsa that I also drive (high profile small car tires are truly terrible).
The Ventus S1 Evo2's followed Michelin Pilot Sports and the difference is, less noise, lighter handling, softer ride and equally great grip. I can't really say in the wet since I almost allways drive on dry road.
I really like the performance of Hankook tyres and they make the most of both cars. I wouldn't hesitate to buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-18 22:26:07
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 84% (245-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 average miles
Had a set of these tyres fitted to my mercedes c280 sport 12 months ago and I have covered 11000 miles during that period. The wear rate has been excellent and they will easily cover another 6/7000 miles. Grip has been good both in the dry and in the wet. However road noise is above average and this is the only thing that is a negative. Overall I am really pleased with them and would definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-20 16:42:09
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 76% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Overall I am pretty satisfied with these tyres. Wear rate is looking OK and they do grip well in the wet as well as the dry. My only negative is that they do appear to be prone to tramlining!
tyre reviewed on 2010-10-20 10:47:01
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 76% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Brilliant tyres, the just as good if not better than many of the branded tyres i've tried. You can push them really stupidly hard in the wet and the especially dry and they just take it. When they and if they do let go its very predicable and easy to control.. Will buy again for sure
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-02 21:04:14
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 74% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 spirited miles
At first to say i don't have much comparison material because these tires where the first high performance tires i used. My used car came fitted with the standard 16" alloys + Michelin Primacy HP which i traded in for 18" alloys + the Dunlop Sport Maxx GT. The grip in the dry is outstanding in my oppinion. When i tried to make the car do a power slide to check the limits i found that they don't slide easely. And when they do slide it is very docile. In the wet they where less docile but stil good in my oppinion. In the snow theye are tricky and loose almost al there traction, but i maneged to survive whitout a scrach (18") troughout the Dutch winter. Comfort is reasenable good in comperison to the feedback which is outstanding. The only negative side is the wear. I managed to get 14000 miles out of my back tires and they are almost flat by now.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-30 14:19:50
Writing about the Kenda KAISER KR20 given 73% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-23 20:34:24
Writing about the Nexen Eurowin 650 given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Great winter Tire. I had them for two year on my MB Aand would by them
again and again. They are very good on Ice and Heavy snow. There is abosolutely no wear on the tires or very little wear. there grip on the snow is fantastic. I really fely in control of the care with these tires
They are a great tire for the price
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-19 02:59:11
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza DZ101 given 66% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
In the US it's branded as a drifting tyre, and thus it's easy to provoke the rear tyres to hang loose. Performs well in the dry, just don't try anything frisky in the wet on public roads - the grip isn't outstanding in the wet.
Not the most comfortable tyres in terms of noise and ride, but not annoying or overbearing. They are cheap, but tread is rated for only around 20k miles. I only planned to have the car short-term however, so it fitted the bill for me perfectly.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-25 23:04:43
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 60% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1200 average miles
It is the same standard size as I always have used.
For many years I have used Uniroyal MS Plus 66 on this well maintained car and nothing ells, very comfortable on any type of road and very quiet, also very stable in straights, although slightly slippery and soft in fast turns I felt good control and confidence in them, the grip was good enough for this car and very easy to control.
The grip with the harder, less comfortable and noisier, brand new Primacy 4 in turns are of course indeed faster, firmer, sharper and better, but on the limits they are chewing their way until they sometimes abruptly slip, especially on poor roads.
The Michelin's do have more feel to the road, the reaction and handling is faster, the Michelin's communicate better but it is surprisingly not a huge difference and no reason to be overexcited about, I had expected a more upgraded handling vs the Uniroyal's.
Better braking dry and wet, but again surprisingly not a huge difference.
In straights, while the soft Uniroyal's are completely planted on the road, the harder and firmer Michelin's are a little spongy and unstable, I do not understand why, it should normally be otherwise.
The Michelin's give me the impression that they roll easier, probably less resistance and consequently probably less fuel consumption.
Good in rain, maybe the Uniroyal's were slightly better in deep water-puddles.
Michelin's benefits are not worth the disadvantages on this car, in fact that is why I stayed on the Uniroyal's for so many years after I had Michelin HP's, I wish I had remembered that before I bought the Primacy 4.
With the exception of driving on poor roads, the Michelin's are not bad in any way, they are actually pretty good and better than the mediocre Primacy 3 but they do not suit this car and what I want.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-18 05:19:46
Writing about the Nankang Toursport 611 given 59% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9000 spirited miles
have these on the rear only.
Last forever! especially with the way i drive

absolutely no grip in the wet what so ever, if you drive in the rain dont use these , especially on the front, pure dangerous.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-16 15:09:06
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre