Mercedes Benz CLS 320 Tyres

Drive a Mercedes Benz CLS 320? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mercedes Benz CLS 320
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (62) 95% 89% 92% 88% 89% 91% 93% 91% 429,120
Nokian zLine (63) 93% 94% 92% 90% 78% 89% 89% 89% 470,360
Falken ZE914 (80) 90% 83% 86% 81% 84% 84% 87% 85% 760,815
Nexen N Fera SU1 (45) 88% 80% 80% 79% 81% 87% 77% 82% 387,350
Barum Bravuris 2 (124) 85% 78% 78% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,393,181
Zeetex HP1000 (4) 80% 75% 83% 55% 85% 78% 83% 77% 38,000
Nankang SV1 Winter Plus (14) 80% 72% 72% 71% 81% 82% 76% 76% 100,000
Continental Sport Contact 2 (216) 84% 75% 76% 71% 61% 66% 60% 70% 3,957,962
Hifly HF805 (33) 78% 65% 68% 65% 58% 67% 65% 67% 190,785
Accelera PHI (105) 70% 49% 56% 55% 67% 60% 55% 59% 912,362
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (45) 66% 53% 52% 54% 62% 41% 44% 53% 487,884

Mercedes Benz CLS 320 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nankang SV1 Winter Plus given 93% (245-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
WOW - bought these tyres after seeing positive comments on Mercedes Owners forum. Mercedes CLS would not even move in light snow before, but with these winter tyres fitted it is as good as my Freelander 4x4 - have driven in snow depth upto 5 inches just fine, grips strongly in corners, climbs steep hills easily and brakes well coming down the other side. Fuel economy unchanged compared to my Summer Continental tyres. I was a tyre "Brand" snob - not any more, these are fantastic, and keep making me drive in the snow looking for other BMW / Mercedes drivers who are stuck - just to show off !!
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-24 11:59:07
Writing about the Nankang SV1 Winter Plus given 93% (245-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
WOW - advised from other Mercedes oweners and lets say my Rear-wheel drive Merc CLS was better in 6 inches of snow than the wifes Honda CRV 4x4 !!!
Utterly awesome performance and grip - as if there was no snow at all.
Anyone with a german RWD car will know how god awful they are in snow - this is the answer and at £55 a wheel, well worth the money.
I did 8000 miles over winter and the tread depth only lost 1mm (now 7mm deep) which is FAR BETTER than the Conti's that were on the car.
Definately buying again next year for my other car.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-11 16:56:03
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 89% (245-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Purchased these tyres to replace a set of Falken ZIEX914's (had two sets of these on this car). Ive been totally happy with the Falkens apart from one issue with these tyres and that is poor rim-protection for the notoriously easily scuffed 5 spoke alloys on the post 2008 facelifted CLS. After a bit of research I opted for the Vredestein's based on their chunky in built rim protectors. A set of four tyres including fitting came in at a reasonable £460 at my local tyre fitters. First impressions are good. The Vredesteins are a sportier tyre than the Falkens and have a stiffer sidewall that gives a slightly firmer ride - not too firm though and the car is still supremely comfortable on a long journey. The CLS is a big, heavy, powerful car but is surprisingly agile and I have noted sharper handling particularly when cornering with the Vredesteins when compared to the Falkens. Dry grip seems on a par with the Falkens and they are similar with overall quietness - road noise is low apart from on poor quality road surfaces. They seem to be fine in the wet though I have noticed that the traction control cuts in earlier than I would have expected when pulling away sharply on damp surfaces. Wet and dry braking seems fine too - no problems noted thus far. Too early to pass comment on wear yet as Ive only done 1200 miles on them:- Id be surprised though to get significantly better or worse than the 16k Ive consistently had for the rears and 18k for the fronts from previous sets (Falken, Bridgestone and Continental). And yes, the rim-protection is excellent on these tyres - Ive touched the kerb a couple of times already and the extra protection has saved me! Recommended at the price.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-29 11:13:36
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 2 given 89% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
excellent tyres done 5000 on front 2 barius 2 not even signs of wear yet.will definately buy again
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-30 15:29:28
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 83% (275-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Excellent tyre, excellent wet and dry grip. The tyre suffered from road noise when new but was quieter after 3000 miles. The tyre wear was good they lasted me 15k on a big car. I would recommend them highly.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-29 17:06:38
Writing about the Zeetex HP1000 given 78% (245-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 average miles
PROS:
- quiet
- comfortable ride
- cheap
- protective board
CONS:
- not many, I believe grip is not as hard but nothing major for a normal type of driving

Would buy again. Price-quality ratio is unbeatable.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-26 12:10:34
Writing about the Falken ZE914 given 76% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Replaced a set of Continental SportContact 3's for the Falkens after a successful time with the ZEIX 912s on my previous C Class. Contis had worn well on the treads but the inner tyre walls were totally shot after 22k. New set of Contis nigh on £780, new set of 914s ca £620 (decent saving of £160. Overall impressions are fairly good, the tyres are wearing well thus far - pretty even and no problems with sidewall etc. Handling on the Falkens is good but is not on a par with the Contis... the ZE914s are not a "Sport" tyre and I suspect theres a little more flex in the wall than to be had in the Contis. Wet and dry grip is good but again not up to the original Contis. Tyres are slightly noisier too but this is very much down to road surface quality;- a recent trip on French motorways revealed the Falkens to be very quiet when compared to the resulting noise imparted from the third world quality of some of our British roads. I have noticed no difference in mpg with the tyres - I regularly get 40mpg on motorways and 31mpg overall in mixed driving.... as per the original Continentals.
The 914's are decent value overall and Im not disappointed with them - the 914's are (overall) probably one of the best mid-range tyres available. Suspect though that I'll go back to Contis for the next set even though they're a bit dearer just for the better handling characteristics.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-13 22:29:15
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 71% (245-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 13 average miles
Great dry grip and decent wet grip, but wear v. poor. I drive quickly-ish on good straight roads (mainly motorways) but I'll be lucky to see 13,000 miles out of a set of rears put on in Feb. last year.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-14 22:50:02
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 69% (245-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 11000 average miles
These are comfortable, quiet and grippy tyres which inspire confidence in both wet and dry conditions, but even with a relatively easy going driving style like mine (I try and eke as many miles out of a tank of fuel as possible), these tyres are just too soft for a heavy car like the Merc CLS and wore out way too quickly for me to ever consider buying them again. I bought them in April last year and they're already almost totally bereft of tread after only 10 months and 11,000 miles. With a deeper tread depth from new, the Nexen N8000's I had on before them seem to be slightly harder wearing and just as comfortable and grippy, but I think I'll give the (allegedly) longer lasting Barum Bravuris 3HM's next time as I just can't be done with the time, trouble and cost of having to replace my tyres every year.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-02 15:49:51
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 50% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
Absolutely horrible in the rain. Have had these tyres for 20,000 miles, so have done very well for wear. But the aquaplaning in the rain, just stick to the middle lane on the motorway.

make these tyres illegal please.

Thanks
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-04 13:53:43
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre