tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Mercedes Benz CLS 320 Tyres

Drive a Mercedes Benz CLS 320? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mercedes Benz CLS 320
Falken ZE914 (43) 90% 82% 85% 80% 85% 85% 88% 85% 234,500
Barum Bravuris 2 (110) 86% 80% 81% 72% 77% 83% 84% 80% 1,243,559
Nankang SV1 Winter Plus (12) 82% 74% 75% 71% 82% 85% 78% 78% 72,000
Hifly HF805 (12) 85% 68% 73% 68% 75% 73% 74% 74% 64,653
Continental Sport Contact 2 (194) 84% 74% 75% 70% 60% 66% 60% 70% 3,688,767
Accelera PHI (74) 68% 49% 55% 54% 67% 59% 56% 58% 572,342
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (39) 68% 53% 55% 57% 65% 43% 48% 56% 433,584

Mercedes Benz CLS 320 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nankang SV1 Winter Plus given 93% (245-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
WOW - bought these tyres after seeing positive comments on Mercedes Owners forum. Mercedes CLS would not even move in light snow before, but with these winter tyres fitted it is as good as my Freelander 4x4 - have driven in snow depth upto 5 inches just fine, grips strongly in corners, climbs steep hills easily and brakes well coming down the other side. Fuel economy unchanged compared to my Summer Continental tyres. I was a tyre "Brand" snob - not any more, these are fantastic, and keep making me drive in the snow looking for other BMW / Mercedes drivers who are stuck - just to show off !!
Posted at 2010-12-24 11:59:07
Writing about the Nankang SV1 Winter Plus given 93% (245-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
WOW - advised from other Mercedes oweners and lets say my Rear-wheel drive Merc CLS was better in 6 inches of snow than the wifes Honda CRV 4x4 !!!
Utterly awesome performance and grip - as if there was no snow at all.
Anyone with a german RWD car will know how god awful they are in snow - this is the answer and at £55 a wheel, well worth the money.
I did 8000 miles over winter and the tread depth only lost 1mm (now 7mm deep) which is FAR BETTER than the Conti's that were on the car.
Definately buying again next year for my other car.
Posted at 2011-04-11 16:56:03
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 2 given 89% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
excellent tyres done 5000 on front 2 barius 2 not even signs of wear yet.will definately buy again
Posted at 2012-04-30 15:29:28
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 83% (275-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Excellent tyre, excellent wet and dry grip. The tyre suffered from road noise when new but was quieter after 3000 miles. The tyre wear was good they lasted me 15k on a big car. I would recommend them highly.
Posted at 2010-12-29 17:06:38
Writing about the Falken ZE914 given 76% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Replaced a set of Continental SportContact 3's for the Falkens after a successful time with the ZEIX 912s on my previous C Class. Contis had worn well on the treads but the inner tyre walls were totally shot after 22k. New set of Contis nigh on £780, new set of 914s ca £620 (decent saving of £160. Overall impressions are fairly good, the tyres are wearing well thus far - pretty even and no problems with sidewall etc. Handling on the Falkens is good but is not on a par with the Contis... the ZE914s are not a "Sport" tyre and I suspect theres a little more flex in the wall than to be had in the Contis. Wet and dry grip is good but again not up to the original Contis. Tyres are slightly noisier too but this is very much down to road surface quality;- a recent trip on French motorways revealed the Falkens to be very quiet when compared to the resulting noise imparted from the third world quality of some of our British roads. I have noticed no difference in mpg with the tyres - I regularly get 40mpg on motorways and 31mpg overall in mixed driving.... as per the original Continentals.
The 914's are decent value overall and Im not disappointed with them - the 914's are (overall) probably one of the best mid-range tyres available. Suspect though that I'll go back to Contis for the next set even though they're a bit dearer just for the better handling characteristics.
Posted at 2013-06-13 22:29:15
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 50% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
Absolutely horrible in the rain. Have had these tyres for 20,000 miles, so have done very well for wear. But the aquaplaning in the rain, just stick to the middle lane on the motorway.

make these tyres illegal please.

Thanks
Posted at 2011-04-04 13:53:43
Writing about the Hifly HF805 given 47% (245-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 easy going miles
On a 2008 CLS 320 CDI. Very pleased at the start but after less than 3000 miles the tyres became increasingly noisy. Had the wheel bearings checked, but these are OK. Now very alarmed to report all 4 tyres showing rubber delamination along major segments of the tread. This I'd on the inside edge so not visible at all unless you clime under the car or remove the wheels. Maybe a bad batch or maybe just unsuitable for this model but I have replace by Continental MO Sport Contact. Just not worth the risk I'm afraid.
Posted at 2014-06-29 21:02:15
Writing about the Runway ENDURO 916 Plus given 10% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 easy going miles
These tyres are extremely noisy under normal driving conditions, a problem I have never encountered with other tyres before. The noise is similar to worn bearings and a distraction to driving. When normal braking they are even more noisy as you come to a stop. When I asked the Garage to check he took a look at the tyres and said he had many customers with this problem after he had fitted a batch of these tyres. I would definitely not buy these again.
Posted at 2012-05-12 11:28:09
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: