Mercedes Benz SLK 200 Tyres

Drive a Mercedes Benz SLK 200? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mercedes Benz SLK 200
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (18) 95% 98% 93% 93% 89% 93% 93% 93% 120,730
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance (5) 92% 94% 88% 90% 90% 94% 94% 92% 128,000
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (111) 96% 88% 91% 86% 84% 84% 91% 89% 887,889
Michelin Alpin 5 (14) 85% 96% 87% 77% 87% 92% 94% 88% 95,600
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (98) 94% 93% 87% 89% 83% 84% 85% 88% 469,134
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83% 81% 84% 464,400
Continental Sport Contact 3 (234) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,093,337
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (170) 83% 76% 77% 71% 77% 70% 67% 75% 3,416,640
Continental Sport Contact 5 (166) 89% 84% 80% 77% 52% 74% 57% 73% 1,785,461
Toyo T1R (269) 84% 70% 75% 74% 62% 70% 71% 72% 3,459,173
Pirelli P Zero (87) 86% 73% 79% 75% 64% 68% 61% 72% 1,593,173
Pirelli P 7 (74) 80% 69% 71% 68% 75% 66% 59% 70% 1,648,753
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (116) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,296,656

Mercedes Benz SLK 200 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Alpin 5 given 95% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Got them for a skiing trip to the Austrian alps. On the way there I drove them at high speed on the German Autobahn (limited to 210 kph due to H index). None of the usual noise and other discomforts. Very good in the rain and on wet roads. Even on the dry they grip much better than the fatter Nokian summer tyres I currently run. On snow and ice they are superb.

Had Vredestein tyres (used ones that came with the car) before and never felt comfortable with them. Drove on snow covered mountain roads at night and had tons of fun without the usual panic attacks. On ice I was fine too. Only when I had to get out of the car (e.g. Hotel park site) I realize how dangerously slippery it was.

Kept them on for a while after where they had to cope mostly with wet roads and mild snowfall. There the high level of comfort and great road feedback came into play. When taking them off I didn't detect much wear at all (despite some "fun" driving in the dry).

All in all Michelin produced yet another great Alpin Tyre. It's so good, I wish winter would last a bit longer.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-02 20:42:29
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 860 given 94% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3900 spirited miles
Never had better winter tyre. Grip in wet, dry and snow is perfect. Wear is also good, after 6000km they have worn for 1-1,5mm. And they are quiet.
There are only two downsides. Sidewalls are pretty soft so car will loose a bit of steering response but not handling and because of thread design they pick up sand and stones so much that i have no color left on side skirts and rear bumper.
If roads in your country are sanded during winter you should consider buying mudflaps.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-24 19:27:22
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance given 93% (205-55-16-Q)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
Those were on my SLK for three winters. And they are perfect for wet roads and snow. But on ice they're useless. I've chose UG performance because they are silent tires. Used for 3 seasons and I think that these are good for another 3.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-01 08:46:15
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 91% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 45000 average miles
Just had to replace my front tyres after 45000 miles. deeply impressed.
tyre reviewed on 2010-06-20 17:45:44
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 90% (225-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24 average miles
Did 24k on these tyres on the rear of my Merc SLK, good quality tyre,they also look good, protect your rims,but more importantly did the job required on a car renowned for wearing rear tyre out at about 15k.
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-05 21:57:19
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 89% (245-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Changed SLK and these came as standard fit as against SC3 on old model. Runs quiet and v.good in the dry, but am not feeling the same confidence in the wet yet as against the old SC3, although can correct early through feel and feedback from car. Just covered the first 1000 miles, overall very happy but I don`t think they will be hugely long lasting.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-24 06:41:35
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 83% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19000 average miles
My car came with Conti SportContact5s and these are just as capable but last a lot longer.
Not too noisy either. Impressive in the dry and good in the wet.
Pirelli tyres used to be very frail but they have obviously upped their game.
I would recommend these.
Got 19k out the rears and 28k out the fronts. The Contis lasted barely 12k and 19k respectively.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-08 13:17:17
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 79% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
First six months (5000 km) it was the perfect tire. No slip at any conditions. Wet roads felt like dry ones regarding my previews continental sport contact 3. I was feeling that i had discovered fire with them! The next six months tires were great but not unbelievable as the first six months. From 12 to 24 months everything changed (15000 km +). Slip came often on dry. Breaking became more difficult at slow speeds with ABS involvement when more than 50% breaking power used. After 24 months and 30000 km the tire was really bad at any conditions except of highways were heating did its work and the car behaved good.
Front 225/45/18 rear 245/35/18. 30 months and 35000 km since initial condition tires performance is unacceptable. Thread is up to 5 mm at the front and 4 at the rear. Cars alignment and correct pressure are the reasons for the remaining thread. Normal driving mostly, high speeds only on highways. I wouldn't buy again not considering that it was the most expensive tire i could buy , but its perfect performance that i got used to at the beginning and vanished after 12-18 months giving me a great disappointment. Have not tried good year yet maybe i ll give it a shot. I will read some reviews and decide.

I hope i helped you, don't forget that this is the perfect tire when new and that the performance will be lost after 18 months in an every day car.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-05 20:36:45
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 70% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Tried the Pilot Sport 4 back to back with the Michelin Primacy 4, i.e. all tires were brand new and I compared the same car on the same day with both models of tires.

In all respects I'd the Primacy 4 tires are the best tires I've tried so far and much better than the Continenal PremiumContact I had earlier.

The main problem with Pilot Sport 4 are that they feel very hard. The road feedback is good, but it's a hard and unpleasant ride compared to Primacy 4.
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-27 15:44:04
Writing about the Nokian Z G2 given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Short version: Not bad, bought again once, but now they got to go.

Long Version: Nothing wrong when driving civilized. No trouble with comfort, grip or anything. When the driving gets more exciting, usually when the roads get smaller and windier, they do a good but not outstanding job. A bit of give on the back end on dry surfaces, enough to get a rush but not so much as to end up in the bottom of the valley. Not great on wet roads. The back end gets lose quickly and ESP steps in to keep me out of that valley.

What opened my eyes a quite a lot was the Michelin Alpin 5 I got for the brief winter period. They're thiner than my summer tyres but provide a LOT more grip on wet AND dry roads. The latter one came unexpected. Now as the front wheels need replacement anyway I look into a complete replacement that gives me more confidence in the wet and grips at least as good on dry roads as the Alpin 5 does.

My sizes: 205/55/R16 (front) and 225/50/R16 (rear)
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-02 20:57:30
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement