Mercedes Benz SLK 230 Tyres

Drive a Mercedes Benz SLK 230? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mercedes Benz SLK 230
Cooper Zeon CS8 (8) 88% 81% 81% 73% 82% 86% 88% 83% 89,600
Michelin Primacy 4 (42) 85% 84% 77% 79% 84% 86% 71% 81% 150,530
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,611,523
Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico (26) 87% 75% 79% 82% 73% 71% 69% 77% 536,516
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (99) 86% 76% 79% 78% 69% 66% 66% 74% 1,133,800
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (124) 70% 48% 56% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,233,457
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (45) 66% 53% 52% 54% 62% 41% 44% 53% 487,884
Event WL905 (126) 59% 31% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 45% 868,429

Mercedes Benz SLK 230 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
have these for around 5 months now .
had dunlop direzza 101 ,
and wow the car handles great now , i use to drive slow through rain .
and after driving in dunlop the move to pirelli was the best thing i ever made , the car is so much better and fun to drive .
its like i got a brand new car !!
i now what my next tires are
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-28 06:23:51
Writing about the Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico given 95% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
awesome tires only have them for a few weeks so cant attest for wear but so far they changed my car to a different car , lots of grip in the dry and wet .
quite and i would definitely buy again. much better then my old Dunlaps.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-18 14:35:33
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
This is the third set of Kumhos I have fitted I am that impressed with them. I have tried Pirelli P7s and Michelin Pilots before and the Kumhos beat them both - Pirellis by a mile and Michelins by a bit, but the Kumhos are so much better value. The wear is comparable to the Michelins and both wet and dry performance is impressive, with stopping distances improved over both P7 and Michelins in all conditions. I generally get 20000 miles from the fronts and 10000 miles from the rears.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-28 23:50:25
Writing about the Cooper Zeon CS8 given 87% (225-50-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 1500 spirited miles
I have these fitted to two SLK's having grown to like them on one first.
To be honest, they are not pretty, looking somewhat agricultural with tread rolling up the sidewalls a bit too much. But then that's there to aid the wet handing thing I guess so a small price to pay as in such conditions they are brilliant.
The SLK's are not a car that feeds tyre feel back to the driver much. But, as that means you have to have some faith in the tyre, by leaving it to do its thing without letting you know much about it, I've found these have given me that confidence quickly. In the wet there's little difference in the sensation of sure footedness, and far fewer flashes from the traction control indicator when pulling away firmly than previous tyres.
We like them, plus the free replacement accidental damage thing is something we've used a couple of times on other cars which is a real plus to have from Cooper Tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-08 23:46:56
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 84% (225-50-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
I've had these on the back of my SLK for a long time, so long I can't remember the mileage, they have lasted and lasted I'm finally down to the last mm of tread. I've been very impressed by the rear end grip these give, plus they are very progressive and let you know exactly what is going on near the limit. Very good wet weather grip, huge water shifting capacity judging by the plumes of spray behind me. As comfortable as any other tire. I would have used these again but my fitter does not carry them so I will be trying some Kumho this time. I would happily recomment this tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-04 09:55:38
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Against all the online research I purchased a set of Toyo Proxes T1R 91W's 205/55/R16 front and 225@s for the rears. I really had my doubts but a very good friend owns a tire garage with over 40 years experience. I can't say how I doubted his advice but man o man I'm so glad I had him fit them and had the tracking tweaked. Well 10K miles under the belt and there still running so well. Awesome dry grip and on hot days they just give and give and right on the limit you just start to feel a very progressive break away, always controllable. In the wet again great, they love heavy rain, but like any good tire greasy roads take way more care, but that's common sense.
They are on a highly modified SLK, we even had a track day on them which I thought would show some short falls but again they were good, not a track tire but the odd mad day, great.
As they where cheap I thought they'd feel cheap but no no no. Comfort? If you've been using run flats, then I would have given them an easy ten but if you pay more than double the price for some so called top brands, then you may say 8 is fare, so a 9 I think is the right choice on this Merc. As they are so comfy I uprated front and rear bushes and there still super smooth, so that surely is good praise for budget money. They get a poor fuel economy rating but I have seen NO reduction in mpg what so ever and I had B rated tires before!
Would I buy again? Oh yes and in fact I have a full set of Proxes R888R on order for my summer track day wheels.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-28 18:48:56
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 81% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
My car, a 2000 Mercedes Benz SLK 230came with these tires. Staggered fitment with a wider aspect on the rear.
Overall very pleased, i rear them as a aummer tire, as i live in a desert area. Plenty hot, and dusty. Top down every chance, so road noise is negligible. I trust these tires, they give good feedback, with a little twitch. Hot summer road temps help with a sticky feel to the road.
Always buy the best tires you can afford. And don't expect more than what you pay for. For me these tires will drive.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-01 21:14:52
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 79% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 700 spirited miles
Had these installed on my 1998 SLK 230 after my Bridgestone Turanza T001's were worn. I drove those tyres from new and I must say that these Michelins feel much better. Lower noise, better comfort. It gives the car a bit more "floaty" feel, but not in a bad way. Feedback from the tyres is good and they can cope with a pretty high cornering speed, without feeling too soft or unstable, though I must say that the Bridgestones gave better feedback during high speed cornering. But that is something these tyres aren't made for. Can't say anything about the wear yet, because I only drove them for 1000 kilometers.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-27 17:48:30
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 73% (255-35-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Had these installed on my 1998 SLK 230. The car is on lowering springs and Koni yellow shocks, therefore the tyres a bit more diagonally placed. These tyres wear pretty quickly on the inside, but that has something to do with the fact that my car is lowered. So maybe I am not the right person to say anything about the wear on these tyres.

One thing I can say something about is noise, these tyres are bit noisy. After that I replaced these Bridgestones with Michelin PS2's, I noticed that those tyres were a lot quieter. The Michelins also absorb the bumps in the road far better I must say. The Michelins also seem to be more stable during high speed cornering, that doesn't that the Bridgestones handle badly, high speed stability and grip is fine. But the Michelins are better.

Overall I would recommend this tyre if you can get it cheaply. Otherwise I would recommend the Michelins.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-27 18:07:24
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 62% (225-50-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Excellent in the dry, but in a light powerful RWD car in the wet, shall we say interesting.
Quite noisy on the road and the wear rate on a 140 rated tyre was spectacular, about 10000 miles for the rears and a little more for the fronts. However the car was driven with gusto so I expected a high attrition rate.
I might have bought them again but I can no longer find them in the size I require, so I opted for Pirelli Cinturato P7s, wear rated at 260 as I would like just a few more miles for my money
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-02 19:47:54
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre