Mitsubishi Evolution Tyres

Drive a Mitsubishi Evolution? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mitsubishi Evolution
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (233) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,263,907
Syron Race 1 plus (15) 86% 81% 74% 74% 84% 86% 83% 81% 73,600
Dunlop Direzza DZ03 (3) 100% 63% 90% 90% 87% 30% 100% 80% 7,060
Nexen N8000 (74) 80% 75% 69% 66% 68% 79% 71% 73% 536,342
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (198) 84% 70% 75% 72% 66% 60% 58% 69% 3,333,928
Marshal Matrac TX KU17 (8) 81% 68% 64% 66% 71% 69% 61% 69% 92,014
Tracmax Radial F101 (5) 76% 56% 78% 60% 58% 66% 62% 65% 29,065
Dunlop SP Sport 600 DSST (9) 93% 62% 72% 80% 56% 29% 47% 63% 84,000
Federal 595EVO (37) 73% 44% 68% 63% 70% 54% 55% 61% 422,353
Infinity INF 05 (66) 56% 31% 42% 40% 62% 45% 33% 44% 367,897

Mitsubishi Evolution Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 93% (225-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Without a doubt, one of THE best tyres I've ever used. Had a full set on my Evo (already one of the best 4WD sports saloons) which was modified with HKS suspension. This may have contributed to my very high ratings for the tyre, but I have nothing bad to say at all about F1s. They wore quicker than I thought though...unless that was down to my driving?! ;oP
tyre reviewed on 2009-09-12 17:46:08
Writing about the Infinity INF 05 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15754 spirited miles
Decided to throw a set on after talking to Nissan GTR owner. Sceptical at first as this car is driven hard in all conditions.4 x fitted,balanced and aligned here in for $475. Have been on for just over 12mths now and have not one bad word to say about them.Have handled all conditions above expectations and outperformed the last Bigger Brand easily.Why would I go back to shelling out over 3k on the last set...never. The biggest surprise is the low feedback from the tarseal and this is when pedalled above 200. Wear is barely noticeable and this was also reported by the GTR owner...he went out to try and destroy them...extremely hard wearing.Will be stacking another set in the shed for the "JapJet" and going Infinity for the rest of my wagons.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-04 05:15:16
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 600 DSST given 87% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Having driven on Dunlop SP 600 tyres fitted to a Mitsubishi Evolution X for only two months(and 2000 miles from date purchase) I can't comment significantly on tyre wear - partly because I bought the car as a demo with close to 1000 miles on it. The initial tyre wear at the time of delivery seemed relatively high, consistent with some hard test drives. I will say that considering how much I love to push the car I'm not unhappy with the rate of wear since.

I was prepared to be dissatisfied with the SP600s based on reports I had read. However, the adhesion levels have been ridiculously high. I've never before driven a car that could encourage me to progressively increase cornering speeds and maneuver so much more aggresively, pleasure me and scare me, all at the same time, to the point of finding my hands shaking upon exiting the car; I have owned Porsches, Nissan 300 ZX twin turbos, a 7 litre Cobra Jet Mustang, a 5.7 litre Chev Monaro, and driven a 426 Hemi Charger and Ferraris.

The ride seemed excessively harsh until a tyre pressure check three days ago revealed 37 psi all round. Granted this would have been partly due a very warm summers' day in Australia. Mitsubishi recommend 32 front and 29 rear (cold). I settled on 34 front and 31 rear. As a result the ride is more comfortable but the Evo seems to have lost some of its incredible edge.

I've read and heard that lower pressures are better for tight twisting roads because there is more rapid and higher tyre temperature increase. I think however, for country drives with fewer extreme curves and more long sweepers, I'd opt for higher pressures.

To sum up the tires feel great, but how much of the handling is due to the Evo x's computerised computerised anti skid and yaw control? Obviously a lot.

My tire specialist tells me that Pirreli P Zero Rosso would be the ultimate replacement, or in second place Yokohama A 041.

PS. My tire specialist has just informed me that his staff would have inflated the tyre pressures to 36 psi cold when I was last there. Apparently if you don't run high pressures your tyres get chopped around, which probably explains why I was there - replacing a near new tyre. Considering there's no spare tyre on an Evo it's another reason to drive with higher pressures. Getting a tip tray truck to take you to get a replacement tyre is time consuming and inconvenient, not to mentionion embarrassing and expensive. A narrower than standard wheel and tyre are on my acquisition list for spare use.

PPS.
I haven't yet found the limit of dry handling capability - As previously mentioned much credit must go to the car.

I did manage to spin one of the wheels in the wet for an instant, but there was no sense of loss of directional control.

This is the right way to spell "definItely"
tyre reviewed on 2009-01-13 00:41:56
Writing about the Syron Race 1 plus given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 spirited miles
Bought these Tyres about 3 weeks ago now, was a little unsure due to owning an Evo 9 FQ340 remapped to over 400 horses as always used Eagle F1, Bridgestones or pirellis. But my god do these stack up, not only do the price considerably out match the others they handle Just as good if not better in some cases. ok track maybe not!!. but road use, not once yet have a twitched on cornering "remember Though i have ayc 4x4" but still they have done me proud and def buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-02 18:19:08
Writing about the Tracmax Radial F101 given 83% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Updating my previous review, I have now replaced the rear Falkens with Tracmax's, which I now have all round. The treadwear claims to be 180 but the fronts are now nearly a year old and are still about 70%. Ally this to their ridiculously low price and it makes them a serious contender. My only hesitation is that they're not too confidence inspiring in the wet, but since I don't take corners at full chat in the rain that's not a big deal.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-18 07:24:42
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza DZ03 given 80% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on track for 1500 spirited miles
Used for Tarmac Rally (Targa Tasmania) and Hillclimbs.
Best of breed - have used Bridgestone RE55S, and prefer Dunlop DZ03G for durability (even R1 compound)
tyre reviewed on 2010-02-21 09:48:04
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 73% (245-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
The grip in both wet and dry conditions is great. The tyres are a little soft but do give good feedback. The only problem I have found is that with spirited driving they do wear at an alarming rate.
tyre reviewed on 2009-11-03 05:22:32
Writing about the Marshal Matrac TX KU17 given 73% (215-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14 spirited miles
The front understeers a little in the wet and then the rear steps out if you push it a little moor. Push it more again and you can easily powerslide controllably round roundabouts, keeping the front pointing in the right direction and the rears giving it large in a sideways motion.

Generally, the tyres are great in the dry - inspiring confidence and allowing all 350bhp to be firmly planted through all 4 wheels.

In the wet though,you have to keep your wits about you as you can be easily caught out. Even breaks traction in 3rd when full boost comes on song...


Gav
tyre reviewed on 2009-07-08 11:42:22
Writing about the Nexen N8000 given 46% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I've used this set of tyres for a month or so.

The dry grip is there but it's just not enough for me. The tyre really shines in wet condition. I can drive up to 160-170KM/H during heavy pour. Thanks to its large grooves.

The downside of this tyre is the sidewall is way too soft.They should categorized this tyre under comfort not UHP.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-22 17:51:38
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 40% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 800 spirited miles
The worst tyre I have ever had on a car. I have had yokohama parada spec 2s, toyo t1r and a few other tyres on high powerd AWD car and these have got to be the worst. They have rubbish feed back and a 8k they only hav 2.5mm left
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-31 22:45:57
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre