Mitsubishi GTO Twin Turbo Tyres

Drive a Mitsubishi GTO Twin Turbo? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mitsubishi GTO Twin Turbo
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
Falken Azenis PT722 (8) 81% 68% 79% 79% 88% 80% 69% 78% 76,852
Nitto NT05 (3) 93% 73% 83% 90% 57% 53% 87% 77% 3,300
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69% 65% 68% 312,033
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (118) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,656
Achilles ATR Sport (43) 62% 44% 56% 49% 62% 57% 42% 53% 344,990
Kumho Ecsta 712 (10) 69% 42% 51% 47% 74% 50% 31% 52% 150,250

Mitsubishi GTO Twin Turbo Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 81% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Pleasant surprise running these Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymm 2 for my fronts, has ample grip, good feedback and gives confidence even in the wet. I've gone through winding road / touge runs with them and they are superb. My only complain would be the wear on them... they do wear out pretty fast if you're aggresive, but I'd definitely buy them again!
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-08 10:37:12
Writing about the Achilles ATR Sport given 79% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2600 spirited miles
Using these tyres for the fronts of my car, really surprised at the level of grip it has. I was using Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 previously and I'm glad to have chosen Achilles as replacements, they perform very very close to the level of the Goodyears.
Stable during hard braking, limit is very high and gives ample signal before breaking traction. The most impressive is the wet performance, handled wet/damp winding mountain roads with ease.
Definitely worth the price paid, exceeding expectations.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-14 18:19:41
Writing about the Nitto NT05 given 79% (275-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Currently using NT05s for the rear of my Mitsubishi GTO TT, and so far they have been very very good. Did not expect an extreme performance tyres to have adequate grip in the wet / damp roads as well. They are also very progressive, which is confidence inspiring when attacking winding b-roads or spirited driving on the streets / highway.
The sidewall and overall design of the tyres look good as well. I've only had them for 3 months, but I've yet to find anything against the tyres. Very pleased with these NT05s!
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-18 00:51:41
Writing about the Goodride SV308 given 79% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
I have these fitted to a 280hp 4 wheel drive GT car and they are great for the money, they have a nice direct steering feel and are the extra load version. Grippy in the dry and almost as good in the wet, certainly a reasonable match for Kuhmos etc and other tier 2 brands but at a much better price, they run true and steer well at very high speed. I consider them to be quiet, and have low rolling resistance as I am getting 30-50km further on a tank of fuel.
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-12 10:38:29
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta 712 given 70% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 16000 average miles
The factory fitment is Yokohama Advans. They were replaced by a set of these Korean tyres by the previous owner just before I purchased the car. I immediately noticed how inferior (dry grip in particular) they were to the Bridgestone Potenza SO2 on my earlier model GTO I had been driving for 4 years. Two of the Kumho were failed at 21,000km at the six-monthly vehicle inspection for being "out of round" with 5mm+ tread still left. The remaining two have 2.5mm tread remaining at 26,000km. The tyres have been rotated at 8000km intervals.
For the price the 712 is an adequate high performance tyre for general city & motorway driving, but remembering how good the Bridgestone SO2 were, do not inspire great confidence for spirited driving on New Zealand's generally narrow & twisting chip seal surfaced secondary roads.
Replaced the "faulty" 712s under warranty with Kumho Ecsta KU31 which rate similarly. Am about to replace the last two 712s with Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-D3s and am hoping for a better outcome.
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-14 07:00:38
Writing about the Falken Azenis PT722 given 61% (275-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Works well in the dry, though for track use, it does break traction quite suddenly.
Not recommended for fast driving in the wet or on damp roads, poor grip in the wet with zero warning of traction loss!
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-14 16:55:39
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 54% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Pretty average tyre at an above average price. Plenty of others to consider rather than this.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-20 16:14:10
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre