Nissan Terrano II Tyres

Drive a Nissan Terrano II? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Nissan Terrano II
Pirelli Scorpion ATR (18) 95% 83% 86% 82% 88% 88% 88% 90% 511,605
Maxxis Bravo AT771 (11) 93% 89% 89% 87% 90% 84% 92% 89% 148,561
Goodyear Wrangler AT SA (12) 89% 83% 89% 84% 85% 89% 88% 87% 97,000
Gripmax GripMax AT (5) 88% 78% 88% 85% 78% 88% 90% 86% 16,500
General Grabber AT (13) 83% 76% 75% 74% 78% 81% 83% 81% 104,864
Toyo Open Country All Terrain (11) 87% 80% 77% 79% 81% 81% 95% 77% 179,500
Accelera Iota (35) 80% 68% 65% 65% 72% 66% 73% 70% 449,210
Hero Dyanstorm AT (2) 75% 75% 70% 30% 65% 85% 80% 69% 1,020
Hercules Alltrac AT (2) 80% 60% 45% 65% 40% 40% 50% 54% 7,000
Forceum ATZ (3) 50% 47% 47% 37% 57% 43% 43% 46% 586,000

Nissan Terrano II Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the General Grabber AT given 96% (235-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 easy going miles
Fantastic tyre for a 4x4 with upto 50-50 use in off road. I use for pest control, and drive mostly Flint tracks, wet grass, fording rivers over slippery rocks and mud, plus the runs into town for groceries. I wouldn't advice them for black ice (you need spiked tyres for that) but rough ice and snow is okay, and they aren't for deep soft mud (mud terrains are needed there), but as an all round tyre they are exc lent, and only use 1mpg more than my old "all seasons" tyres
These are the "new pattern" AT for Europe, and very quiet, with good rolling too.
I would def telly advise these for all year round use on a 4x4 or any car that's using "rough roads" quite often
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-01 15:05:21
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion ATR given 96% (215-80-15-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
The best tyre for my terrano II. Excellent grip off road, rocks mud and dry. Midle in grass and snow. Excelent on road dry condictions low noise for this type of tires. Very good on road raining situations especially stopping your car . Good in aquaplaning cornering and high speed cornering that are the two lowest situations of those excellent tyres. I strong recomend "the best tyre" on road-off road.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-08 09:30:12
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler AT SA given 94% (235-70-16-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 easy going miles
These tyres do good job, I drive on the Etna volcano, mostly on road, but I always go for few kilometers on a very "hardrock" trails. I go slow but , often , heavy loaded. I feel very very safe. The noise is normal. Definetly the most advanced tyres at the moment!
tyre reviewed on 2010-03-08 18:14:09
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion ATR given 89% (245-70-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 52000 spirited miles
I used this website to choose tyres and wanted to report back. I am really pleased with the Pirelli Scorpion ATRs - I live in Mozambique and they have been worked really hard. I bought them from Hi Q tyres at £150 each, fitted to a Nissan Terrano and they've lasted 2.5 years and done 52,000 miles. 75% of miles on fast but fairly rough tarmac cruising at 80mph but daily use on mostly broken potholed tarmac, mud/water/loose rocks (the school run) and lots of jiving in traffic. They have also done a lot in sand run at 0.6-1.0 bar (note the high tensile rim holds the tyre on at lower than expected pressures) and on rock in Lesotho (including Sani Pass and worse). Amazingly they have never had a puncture and the extra strong side walls are pretty much unmarked. My friends rarely run a set of tyres as side wall damage is very common here. One tyre ran out of tread, the other three had another 3000 or so miles left on them, but all four tyres were beginning to crack and the hardened rubber breaking off the edges off the edges of the tread in the last two months so I changed them. They are only guaranteed for 3 years and I think I have had my money's worth.

Unfortunately Tiger Wheel and Tyre ballsed up my order and fitted Scorpion STRs in replacement. These are definitely lighter in handling (but they are new...) and feel quite vague in comparison with the ATRs. I hope they last as well and will report back again.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-07 09:24:31
Writing about the Maxxis Bravo AT771 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 average miles
Just brilliant tyres
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-06 14:14:26
Writing about the Gripmax GripMax AT given 86% (245-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
Budget tyre low noise and great on road on my Terrano.Also balanced really easily which the tyre fitter said was a good sign
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-27 09:08:16
Writing about the Toyo Open Country All Terrain given 86% (245-70-16-S)
Driving on mostly country roads for 7500 average miles
Tried many types of A/T tyres on this vehicle,Toyo open country being the best all round tyre,going from sand in France during summer hols,to five foot of snow on the high peaks,and hundreds of motorway miles nothing will phase this tyre.
Although they seem to be a softer compound than say Pirelli/Kumho/Avon,all of which I have used and seem to wear slightely faster I would 100% buy these again as an all round A/T tyre
tyre reviewed on 2010-01-03 15:53:04
Writing about the Hercules Alltrac AT given 80% (235-75-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I bought these after reading reviews on canadian offroad forums, both these and the bigger more aggressive terratrac are highly recommended for tough off road use and superior in the winter, The tyre so far has proved very good, I have had some light winter use in snow and they stuck like glue, wet and slush was no problem, I drove a 1200 mile round trip to scotland in April without hiccup, they held their own in all weathers on various terrains. They corner very well to say they have a high wall side, quite noisy but no more than any other offroad tyre, similar to wrangler AT, They have a good looking tread pattern with extra sips for winter. So far I'm very happy and for the price they were a bargain at £55 a corner. will write back with wear rates soon. Only down side so far is the side wall seem a little soft, they were a nightmare to mount on the rims.
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-11 20:56:45
Writing about the Hero Dyanstorm AT given 74% (315-25-15-Q)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 easy going miles
31.5x10.5x15 Fitted to Nissan Terrano II. R50 Model. Done about 20,000km now. I would say bloody good value. These were replacements for Dueler tyres which were very good and so I was bit dubeous as to weather these would measure up. Yes a bit softer. I Thought a bit wandery on uneven tar but then discovered a worn rack end. Replaced and problem eliminated.Running about 5psi more air then old tyres for more lateral stability especially when towing a heavy caravan.Duelers were twice the price so I am happy with purchase. I dont believe I have lost much handling wise or even off road. I run 80 percent on tar 15% metal roads 5% off road. Buy. You wont be disappointed.
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-05 14:28:32
Writing about the Hero Dyanstorm AT given 72% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Bonus! Comes with 12.5mm tread not 8-10 like most brands. Tread does seem as a little soft but could be cause they are deeper tread then most.
Not quite as good in a straight line as the Bridgestone Dueller which they replaced but responds well to steering input.Will try reducing pressure a couple of psi and see. Good value for the money. I had Federal once before and they stayed rigid when loaded heavy to the rear when towing a large caravan without slopping side to side like some brands.
Beware! I replaced two front tyres with these and 4wd light came up due to rolling hight being 15mm different to 2 Goodrides which were on the rear with 5mm tread. So overall hight will be quite different to other brands I think.I had to bite the bullet and buy two more to match the front but the tyre shop traded in the old boots for a very fair price so it was wll worth it. I will not rate progressiveness at the limit above as I do not intend to drive like a maniac sorry guys.The last tyres were exceptionly grat being Bridgeston Duellers that never ever felt like they were out of ther depth both on and off road.
Hey these have got to be good value considering Duellers were twice the bucks for same load ratings etc.
Will post further when I put more kms on them and have towed again.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-19 00:59:29
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre