Porsche 986 Boxster S Tyres

Drive a Porsche 986 Boxster S? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Porsche 986 Boxster S
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (142) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 86% 88% 87% 2,626,853
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (380) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 85% 86% 3,579,737
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (135) 91% 88% 83% 78% 71% 80% 79% 81% 1,582,123
Falken FK452 (207) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 74% 73% 74% 2,685,366
Toyo T1R (269) 84% 70% 75% 74% 62% 70% 71% 72% 3,459,173
Nankang NS2 (195) 77% 58% 66% 62% 75% 63% 61% 66% 1,712,039
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Bridgestone Potenza S02A (4) 75% 65% 70% 65% 63% 63% 55% 65% 42,500

Porsche 986 Boxster S Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 94% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 34000 spirited miles
42,000 miles on my 2005 Porsche Boxster S and I'm recently put on the 3rd set of tires. They're slightly fragil when road or driveway conditions are concerned, but dry ttraction was never in question. When pushed very hard, they communicated their intentions with clarity. I don't push as hard in the wet, but still verrrry good traction. Braking and steering feel also are excellent, (No understeer until stupid sets in). Tire noise is never an issue.
While on a 6,800 mile 2 week vacation I had a sidewall bulge on the L/F. Replaced 2 fronts with Nitto 235/35ZR19 and the grip loss was obvious. 35 series tires must be treated with care as potholes and concrete expansion have both caused me failures, (1 bulge & 1 bead cut).
Mileage is quite acceptable for the way I drive and the places. 10k to 20k miles should be expected for a 3,000 lb. car driven briskly.
I'll continue to buy these tires for this car.
tyre reviewed on 2009-12-30 17:34:58
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric given 92% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Coming from the Pirelli p-zero Rosso, I was pleasantly surprised. The Eagle F1 Asymmetric handles far better on both the dry and the wet. These tyres have the same "feeling" of pliability and grip as racing compounds. I disagree with a previous comment that they are "vague". In fact, feedback is impressive. To top it all, they remedy corner entry for my car: No more understeer!
tyre reviewed on 2010-01-18 16:00:56
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
In my opinion, why anyone would buy 'N' rated tyres at extortionate over inflated prices I do not know - I have got the new tread pattern T1 sports and the ride is both wonderful and confidence inspiring not to mention so quiet compared to the Perelli P Zero rosso's I have taken off. Porsche, you need to think again!
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-13 16:26:35
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 74% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
I think the problem with reviews is the wide variation of cars these tyres might be fitted to. It is hardly surprising that some cars can not generate the heat these tyres need to work. Be honest, pirelli do know what they are doing, cold they tend rub along the top of the road rather than dig deep and bond to it, on several porches i tested them on they are warm to the touch with in 3 miles or so and and offer absolutely huge reserves of deep grip. A fraction squidgy on turn in(being picky) but really fluid and brilliant on exit.On uk roads it will be struggle to ever use all this tyre has to offer,when hot they are sublime, A great buy, but be realistic with yourself the nero may be a better option. All that said they dissolved off my car in less than 6000 which means I may park my cash elsewhere.
If they were a bit cheaper and I would have no quible at all going back for another set.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-16 19:38:46
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 73% (205-50-17-N)
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
I have just purchased a 2003 Porsche Boxster with 4 New Nankang Tyres. Just finished reading all the comments here and I am at a loss as to these tyres being good or bad. The car has a fair bit of get up and go and to date, one month, it has not been in the wet. The little I know about tyres doesn't help me at all as to them being the "Bees Knees" of tyres. They are on the car, appear to satisfy my needs, I am a gentle driver, so I will keep them and use their on coming history as a guide line for the next set I will have to purchase.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-15 23:09:58
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 73% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
These tyres were on car when I bought it, old school Boxster - no traction control etc.
They grip well, let you know when they're going to let go and are great fun, comort not a strong point (35 series profile) what do you expect.
Limited tyre choice for Porsche (N series) but for me they're grat and I enjoy them.
Can't comment on wear - only 5k into car, expect 10-15k from rear and 25k from front based on wear when bought to when had to replace.
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-25 21:17:06
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S02A given 71% (255-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Bought a 986 Boxster S with these already fitted - took a note of current wear (7mm front & 2mm rear) and then used the car. 5mths and nearly 6k miles of normal use later, wear update - front 6mm & 1.8mm rear, so they're hard wearing. There's plenty of grip when tyres are up to temperature but they're rubbish cold.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-19 14:54:19
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 64% (265-35-20-N)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 spirited miles
I need a high performance tyre that will give more miles.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-11 14:01:55
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S02A given 60% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4500 average miles
The only issue that i have had is with the wear rate 4500 miles
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-03 09:07:31
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 53% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Replaced my Uniroyal Rainsport 2 with a set of Falken F452. Bedded the tyres in and after that I drove as per normal. First thing I found out was that white lining is a bit of a problem. Secondly the wet weather grip is not all that I hoped. In the wet it is a bit like driving by the seat of your pants it gets a little twitchy this is at moderate speeds.
Would I buy another set, probably not. They are good value for money and may suit other vehicles better than the Porsche. The wear rate is good. These were bought after reading tyre reviews.
Next set I am thinking of some Vredestein Sessanta
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-02 11:57:52
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement