Porsche Boxster 2.5 Tyres

Drive a Porsche Boxster 2.5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Porsche Boxster 2.5
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (135) 91% 88% 83% 78% 71% 80% 79% 81% 1,582,123
Bridgestone Potenza s02 (15) 88% 79% 86% 84% 66% 64% 69% 77% 160,300
Continental Sport Contact 2 (222) 85% 75% 76% 71% 61% 66% 60% 70% 4,071,532
Marshal Matrac TX KU17 (8) 81% 68% 64% 66% 71% 69% 61% 69% 92,014
Pirelli PZero Rosso (107) 81% 66% 70% 68% 58% 61% 53% 65% 1,298,802
Accelera PHI (118) 70% 48% 56% 55% 68% 60% 55% 59% 1,060,362
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (123) 70% 48% 56% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,213,457

Porsche Boxster 2.5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric given 100% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I have just had these put on the front and straight away I could feel they were really smooth and had tons of grip like I have never experienced before. The road feedback is awesome, very quiet and they handle brilliantly which instantly gave me confidence to throw the car around bends and they just don't let go.

I will be replacing the rears in a few days time with 265/35/18 and the way the fronts feel at the moment I know the handling will be even better with these on the rear. Currently I have P Zero with about 2mm left and although they are good tyres the Eagle F1 Asymmetric are just on a different level. I can not comment on wear yet as I have only covered 1k but if these last at least 15-20K I will be happy and anymore than that these tyres will be a standard fitment for life.

In the wet these tyres are awesome and give you so much confidence to push the limits and still feel safe. So if you want Ultra Hi Performance tyres look no further.
tyre reviewed on 2009-03-12 20:58:31
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric given 100% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I have now got these all rounnd on the Boxster and they are the best tyres I have ever had on any of my cars. They are superb wet and dry and have transformed the handling completely. They let you know when they are about to go and you can still push them a bit more which I like. And they come out top in Autocar 2007 tyre test beating the Michellin PS2, Continental PS3, Bridestone Potenza RE050 and Pirelli P Zero Rosso/Nero for a reason.
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-11 00:16:12
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 87% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2009-12-08 17:26:59
Writing about the Marshal Matrac TX KU17 given 83% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I have these on the rear of my Boxster and the tread is nice and they handle well. Im impressed with the performance for the price and these are a good mid range tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2008-08-12 19:23:42
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 68% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1400 spirited miles
Wet grip = Horrendous. The back end has come away and oversteered on roundabouts in the wet on a few occasions. This was driving at speeds I usually would have with the Hankook Venus V12 EVO K110 tyres (HIGHLY RECOMMEND) I had fitted prior to the Epi Accelera PHI tyres. Unexpected yet a good laugh nonetheless. Tokyo drifting around roundabouts! I also had an instance where I exited a roundabout (no drifting on that occasion! Boo!) onto a dual carriageway with a slight uphill gradient, I put my foot down in 2nd at low speed to get up to speed and also to leave some cock end in a pimped up BMW 320d E92 behind due to him being provocative via tailgating my the rear wheels lit up and the car snake tailed... regained traction easily enough and the roads were damp to be fair. It was either that or I'd have brake tested the little shit for being so irresponsible. I'd have won with the 4 piston Brembo monobloc's on all 4 corners. It wasn't like I was driving like a granny! Must have had the Porsche/BMW inferiority complex. To conclude; great in the dry, shit in the wet. So if your car is RWD be careful moist/damp and wet roads!
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-08 08:05:18
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 61% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 spirited miles
Have a porsche boxster and the rear tyres are bald after 8,000k. Very bad wear. excellent tyre in dry conditions but slippy in wet and pointless in snow. i'll shop around instead of buying them again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-04 09:59:11
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza s02 given 60% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 8000 spirited miles
A nice looking tyre, which I know is important to some people...., though really not that relevant! When I bought my car it had these tyres fitted, so I just replaced like for like. They gripped well in the summer, but lost all adhesive properties through last winter! When the temperature dropped as low as it did, the rubber appeared to go pretty hard, which led to a lot of slip, even when on dry surfaces. This was especially noticeable when parking, when, the first time I realised I had a problem, I thought I had a worn track control rod allowing the wheels to jump! It was a really strange sensation. As it was, and after inspecting all joints, it was purely as a result of the extreme cold affecting the tyre. I realise that summer tyres aren't even 50% effective in the winter, and hence why most of Europe switch to a winter tyre to maintain performance and grip. Of course 'N' rated winter tyres are hideously expensive, though can be purchased for £200 each rear tyre, and £160 each front tyre. Non 'N' rated can be obtained cheaper, but the practice of using non 'N' rated tyres, always causes extensive debate. The Bridgestones have only lasted me 8000 miles on the rear, were very poor in the winter, though are cheaper than Continental, and Michelin alternatives. If you are going to be using the car all year round, I would recommend switching to winter tyres in the winter once temperatures fall below 7 deg, until they rise again. A swap to a spare set of 16" wheels would reduce the cost of the winter rubber, or budget for the cost of swapping the rubber twice a year on your existing wheels for £10 - £15 a wheel (valve and balance). I have just fitted a pair of Continental Sport Contact 2 Tyres (N2), as I can't afford unfortunately at this time to put on winter rubber. I will review these tyres in due course, especially with how they fare over the winter. On a side note....., summer tyres also wear much quicker in the winter than in the summer!
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-22 17:24:03
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 17% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
These were on my 17inch 205/50/17 wheels at the front when i first bought the boxster. And they sounded like a propeler they were so noisy and absolute rubbish. I soon switched to Goodyear eagle NCT 5 and it felt like I had a new car the Goodyears were so quiet compared to these.

In fairness these are a budget tyre and value for money if you just want to drive in and around town and motorways as cheap as possible. But if you want a quite performance tyre then these are not it.
tyre reviewed on 2009-03-14 13:13:19
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre