Renault Tyres

Drive a Renault ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Renault
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW (13) 83% 85% 78% 71% 92% 80% 78% 84% 322,000
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Michelin Energy XM2 (34) 79% 74% 75% 72% 85% 71% 68% 75% 663,325
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (173) 83% 76% 77% 71% 77% 70% 67% 75% 3,498,766
Continental Premium Contact 2 (181) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,185,189
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (18) 78% 63% 76% 64% 69% 79% 67% 71% 250,035
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (143) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64% 54% 67% 2,099,560
Accelera PHI (128) 70% 47% 55% 54% 67% 59% 53% 58% 1,140,962
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782

Renault Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime K105 given 100% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
I have 4 Hankook Ventus Prime K105's fitted to my vehicle for the last 12 months and covered over 20K mostly motorway driving. The tyres have responded well in all conditions and even after 20K there is still plenty of rubber left. I swapped my manufactured fitted Mitchellins for the Hankook's and I would recommend them to anyone. Brilliant tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2010-04-04 10:13:14
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 93% (255-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
It's the best Dunlop tyre I've used. SP9000 and SP01 are rubbish. Maxx is a big improvement, henc e being the flagship tyre. I buy Dunlop because they are reasonably priced for a premium brand. Credit crunch time.

Better than Michelin PS2 in the wet. But not as good in the dry. Still top quality tho. I've done emergency stops with Dunlop Maxx and the wheels did not lock up a bit, really really impressed and saved me an accident. Unfortunately got a speeding ticket because the noise from the tyres encourage me to drive fast. Wear ok. Overall, a tyre which gives you confidence. Next time I might go for GY F1 Asymetric it is's cheaper. I would only go for these 2 brands becuase of their quality/price combination. I've seen the Maxx very popular on the Audi Q7s, BMW X5s and 5 series, mostly on german motors. I've also seen them on the Jag XK ( i think)...don't really know Jaguars too well...but aparently the maxx help to make the Jag feel good...
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-20 00:24:06
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 90% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7600 average miles
I have a 225/40/18 on front and 255/35/18 on a back,and I tell you one thing?If your driving style is normal and you don't use them in winter time,you'll be fine.I have 400bhp in my Merc and I don't have a problem with those tyres so far! Eric
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-12 13:13:52
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 89% (225-60-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35000 spirited miles
Have always been a Michelin man until bad wear on Primacy HP, tried Continental Premium contact 2 ( again tyres did only 17000 miles on Motorways). Tried Pirelli P6000 Powergy and I have to say they have been the best tyre wear I have experienced. Just taken off the rears after 35000 miles with still 3mm on, but with winter approaching wanted more tread. Sad to say cannot find any more of these, (Pirelli have dropped range). The only thing I would add is tread does not look to have a good grip for snow so have decided to try winter Vredestein tyres for the first time. Wanted to buy some P6000 for spring and summer to store but as I said non availabe.
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-23 21:53:40
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 80% (195-55-15-H)
Driving on mostly town for 13000 average miles
Very recommended tyre. Much better comfort, dry and wet grip whem compared to the OE Bridgestone 591. Low noise as well. Wear is good, but worse than Bridgestone. I predict 25-30k miles, compared to 42k my Bridgestone lasted (driving in Brazil). This tyre is very resistant to pot holes: never got bubbles despite some impacts they received.
tyre reviewed on 2008-08-27 22:18:16
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 79% (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
Recently replaced some P Zero's with these (225/40's front and 255/35's rear on a Merc CLK) and am pleasantly surprised. The P Zeros were far from worn out but were very poor on wet/icy roads and gave almost no feedback which was at times, almost scary (particularly in the recent bad weather. A full replacement set of the same would have cost me £900+ so the ZZ3's at £480 all in represented a major cost saving.

I have only done around 1500 miles on them so far but am very pleased with the hushed progress and stable feel in all conditions.

I used ZZ3s on my previous C Class and found them excellent then so had no qualms about buying more. Totally different profile of tyre on my CLK but they look and feel great. I will of course be interested to see what wear I get from them but I doubt the P Zeros would have justified the extra 70-80% cost in that way either.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-06 23:18:12
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 77% (275-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Had 19inch versions of these on my E Class. 245/35ZR19 at front and 275/30ZR19 at rear. Think the dry grip is quite good but its ability to get rid of water in what it's really good at. Traction control doesn't have to work over time with these tyres.

However, these are very soft tyres, rather like the Milchelin Sports so don't expect to last long. You would find small stones easiy penetrate these tyres.

Overall 8 out of 10 and have replaced my first set at rear with the same again because they have the best alloy protection design. If you curb the wheels, you're more likely not to have scratched your wheels with these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2008-07-27 00:39:50
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW given 73% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
THIS IS THE SECOND SET .I USED THEM FIRST ON 16" RIMS ON MY MERC ML.CHANGED ML'S BUT THIS ONE HAS 17"RIMS AND THE TYRES FAIL HORRIBLY ON MUD OFF ROAD.MY IMPRESSION IS THAT THE 16"RIMS DEFINATELY COPED BETTER.HOWEVER THIS IS A VERY GOOD ALL TERRAIN ROAD TYRE
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-30 11:19:14
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 73% (255-35-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 13500 average miles
Bought some for the reasons when I bought the car. Soon changed the fronts from 'hong Kong specials' to match. Covered 13,500 miles and need changing (maybe should've done this 500 miles ago). Nice treacle pattern and not to expensive. Not amazing in the wet and I always have that niggle in the back of my one when 'making progress' especially in the tighter bends. All in all, I don't regret buying them but I will not be purchasing again. I will probably go back to michelins, Toyo's or maybe the kumho's which, although cheap(ish) seem to have excellent write ups.
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-13 10:40:08
Writing about the Michelin Energy XM2 given 54% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 14000 spirited miles
I bought a Mercedes E-class coupe two years ago with these tyres fitted. They are still on the car and I cannot get them to wear out. I find grip levels with these tyres compared to Pirelli P7 tyres on my other car to be very poor. I am likely going to change them before they wear out. There are very few "performance" tyres in 15" so it appears it will be Conintental Premium Contact next. These tyres do appear to last a long time however. But I drive mountain roads in Queensland and these tyres are frightening even in the dry. I will avoid "long-life" tyres in future.
tyre reviewed on 2015-12-20 13:31:18
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre