Renault Espace MKIV DCI Tyres

Drive a Renault Espace MKIV DCI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Renault Espace MKIV DCI
Prestivo PV S1 (3) 97% 90% 93% 93% 93% 87% 97% 93% 22,000
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88% 97% 87% 434,283
Fulda Kristall Control HP (1) 70% 60% 90% 80% 80% 90% 90% 80% 0
Nexen Winguard Sport (19) 81% 80% 79% 64% 84% 81% 84% 79% 119,705
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Michelin Primacy HP (195) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 75% 65% 75% 4,311,094
Accelera Alpha (127) 65% 44% 54% 49% 69% 56% 49% 55% 1,078,578

Renault Espace MKIV DCI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 99% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40 average miles
An excellent tyre, especially for the price. I bought my first set based on a review in a motoring journal, which compared it with a number of others, and I also found that they felt just the same and performed just as well as most big-name brands. I was then palmed off with another budget tyre (Rockstone) which my garage assured me were just as good. At first they seemed ok, but first time in the wet they were positively scary! This makes you question the published ratings, since for 'wet grip' the Accelera is only rated 'E' whilst the Rockstone is rated 'C'. This is utter nonsense! So I am back with the Accelera Alpha, and they feel so much better, I won't fit any other tyre as long as they are available.
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-24 10:00:52
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 87% (225-55-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 4000 average miles
I don't really need to say much about these tyres except this: with them fitted you will be able to leave all other cars, including 4x4's, driving on summer tyres (which is most of them), in your wake on snow and ice. I will never drive again from Nov. until March without these on my front axle. (Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons on rear). Extremely impressive and no, I do not work for Vredestein. They might offer me something if they read this though!
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-20 21:56:25
Writing about the Nexen Winguard Sport given 87% (225-60-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-09 19:33:05
Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 86% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 95 average miles
The car has been mainly used for work carrying myself, at least one crew member, sometimes three plus our equipment averaging 50kg. This is my fourth espace and is the first one that I feel confident will stop ok in the wet! ( due to the larger wheels/tyres? ). All the espace models have been fitted with michelin extra load tyres but this is the best so far. I'm on the third set at 95,000 miles with about 10,000 left. My only gripe is the cost of these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-07 17:31:54
Writing about the Fulda Kristall Control HP given 80% (225-60-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Very safe tyres on snow, wet and dry. Low noise level. I'll bye it again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-02 19:38:45
Writing about the Prestivo PV S1 given 70% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 average miles
Have acquired a 2011 Renault Espace with the Prestivo PV-S1's on the front. Have done 2K miles since then & found mixed results. Don't know how old they are but feel they are degrading somewhat quick. Better suited to a smaller, lighter vehicle than two ton Tessie from Teddington! Good grip in wet or dry but feel every bump in the road. Believe they may be Yokohama's. Plenty of central tread depth left but outer 'shoulder' seems to be wearing down more quickly. Also my NSF has a tendency to go soft on me over 3 days. Will look into that tomorrow. ?Slow puncture, faulty bead/valve, old age, don't know. It's not a bad tyre, maybe not the best for a 2 ton Espace. Can't take a chance with tyres if carrying 7 people.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-06 22:37:47
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 51% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 9000 easy going miles
Nice Looking tyre no doubt about that but the wear is awful. Tracking / Suspension has been checked and all is ok. The tyres on the front have only lasted 9k which I was very dissappointed about. Shoulder wear is a big problem on these tyres on heavy cars in my oppinion. I dont wear `lead` boots as its a MPV so no racing car.

Would not buy these tyres again !
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-30 12:42:17
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 46% (225-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
OK in the dry, not so good in the wet. Better than expected on snow (and ice). Fitted to the car when I bought it. Felt twitchy at first but I got used to the flex in the sidewalls. Once settled into the turn, grip is actually quite good in the dry (bearing in mind I'm talking about an Espace 4!).
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-08 13:40:34
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre