Rover 214 Si Tyres

Drive a Rover 214 Si? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Rover 214 Si
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M2 (1) 60% 90% 70% 70% 60% 80% 90% 74% 11,000
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76% 70% 72% 214,929
Toyo Proxes 4 (44) 80% 62% 71% 65% 77% 75% 63% 70% 497,862
Autogrip F101 (14) 61% 42% 43% 34% 54% 49% 36% 46% 356,800

Rover 214 Si Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Proxes 4 given 87% (195-55-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
These were my first set of decent tyres and theres a notable difference in comparison to cheaper options. The one let down was the wet/damp grip. Although not bad, its not an awful lot better than normal tyres, at least not the same as the difference in dry grip.

Wear was very good, done 8k on them now and they've barely worn! Also very quiet and comfortable.

Also quite an attractive tread pattern which is a bonus.
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-02 21:46:01
Writing about the Firestone TZ300 given 86% (195-50-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 800 average miles
Brilliant tyres.

Installed a full set of 4 tyres the morning before a trip down to Newquay, Cornwall (250ish miles from Birmingham).

I'll be breif: Extremely quite. Extremely 'sticky' (good grip). After 800 miles (after getting home) they barely look used.

They do seem to help eat up the petrol though.

Would definately recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2010-07-07 13:36:33
Writing about the Dunlop SP Winter Sport M2 given 74% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 11000 average miles
ive had these on for over 2 years now and they have been amazing. traction in the deep snow and heavy ice is unbelievable.winter tyres are a must have for me now. they stay on the car all year round and even run fine in the summer however i find they wear more in the summer than i think a summer tyre would
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-23 21:35:12
Writing about the Autogrip F101 given 30% (175-65-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Tyres(actually "grip 100") fitted a year ago, and since then nothing untoward until a few weeks ago when the front drive wheels spun, starting off as the lead car from the lights in my town, on a wet surface. Have driven for 46yrs without an accident, and have never gone over the line at a junction, but I did the other day at the fairly busy T junction at the end of my road.
This time there were no vehicles waiting to turn right, so I braked the car gingerly on the wet road to make a stop before the white line......or so I thought. A few yards from the line, and making no excessive braking effort considering the conditions, the car's wheels locked up as if on ice, allowing the car to slide into the main road, with little sense of retardation. So much so that the whole car seemed to have entered the carriageway before it finally stopped just feet from a transit van waiting to turn right into the junction.
Luckily for me, there had been a gap in the traffic coming from my right, so I was able to swiftly reverse back over the stop line, without incident. My brakes checked out o.k., so I'm blaming the Autogrip tyres, more than I am blaming myself. To have slid so far forward has to be the tyres, and not any gross miscalculation on my part, at a juction I know so well.
I'll be changing all my tyres to a premium set; if I don't, likely next time, I won't be so lucky.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-11 12:12:11
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement