Rover 45 Tyres

Drive a Rover 45? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Rover 45
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (25) 84% 93% 76% 73% 65% 84% 82% 80% 156,303
Federal 595RSR (45) 86% 68% 79% 81% 73% 59% 79% 75% 190,203
Event Potentum (8) 84% 71% 65% 77% 73% 71% 81% 75% 66,030
Kumho Solus KH16 (4) 75% 65% 75% 70% 83% 80% 68% 74% 20,030
Michelin Pilot Primacy (50) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71% 65% 73% 974,067
Avon ZT5 (29) 81% 67% 73% 65% 73% 74% 60% 70% 342,422
Michelin Energy (38) 69% 63% 58% 61% 85% 75% 63% 68% 898,474
Nankang NS2 (201) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,759
Barum Bravuris (18) 79% 57% 64% 65% 65% 68% 51% 64% 291,017
Kenda KAISER KR20 (58) 65% 46% 54% 54% 71% 55% 49% 56% 437,012

Rover 45 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Event Potentum given 91% (205-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 22000 spirited miles
I have had my first set of these tyres on my car for almost 2 years now, these are absolutely fantastic tyres and I will use them again, I have still got about 5mm of tread left on all 4 tyres despite having a slightly more aggressive cornering driving style, very impressed with the way these grip the road, the only downfall in my opinion is that every now and then I momentarily loose traction in the wet (on roundabouts mostly)
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-25 09:53:48
Writing about the Avon ZT5 given 90% (185-65-14-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 43000 average miles
I have just changed a set of these on my Rover 45. I do around 800 miles per week on motorways and a set have just lasted 43,000 miles with life still left when changed. I have never had tyres last that long on any car i have owned.
They are good in both dry and wet conditions with especially good handling in wet when aquaplaning was a problem with other tyres.

I am only driving at 70 or so most of the time but can only say good things about these tyres especially when i got them for £200 fitted for a set!
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-14 11:39:46
Writing about the Federal 595RSR given 87% (205-50-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
Excellent grip!
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-08 19:20:34
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 73% (205-45-16-S)
Driving on mostly country roads for 19000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-10 20:14:19
Writing about the Barum Bravuris given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-03 19:04:52
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 68% (205-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Previously used continental spost contact which I have on a Scorpio Cossie but as the Rover diesel was more of a plodder and at the time decided that a budget might be a good idea. Now done over 14000 miles and there is still over half the tread left. In the recent snow they held there own as well if not better than the continentals, yes if you did something stupid they lost grip but what sort of idiot would do such things in those conditions.

They have been acceptable in the wet and with the abs can hold there own compared with some of the more premium brands and are showing an even wear pattern. On a long run driven is a sensible manor keeping to under 80 on the motorway and aproaching conders on country roads with a sensible level of anticipation I managed to do 440 miles on less than 7 gallons of fuel.

The only time I have noticed a significant drop in grip was near to a fuel distribution depot island and have put down to diesel on the carriageway as it has occasionally happened on dry days.

Would certainly suggest that they are a afr better buy for the budget conscious rather than a set of part worns with an uncertain past
tyre reviewed on 2010-03-10 11:36:27
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Primacy given 61% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 easy going miles
Very comfortable tyre that lasted ages! Just what it should do! Not sporty in the slightest though...
tyre reviewed on 2007-05-31 23:21:51
Writing about the Uniroyal RainExpert 3 given 52% (185-65-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Had many types of rainsport before and I have some old uniroyal rain tyres on the front of my car so I thought a pair of these on the back would be a good idea.

Unfortunately these come with a ridiculously soft sidewall, so the back end of the car wallows around like the tyres are really soft, this does not inspire confidence at higher speeds, it's so bad a gust of wind can make the rear end feel like it's sliding at 70mph

But once the tyres have rolled over the grip is really good, but, the grip is not worth the sacrifice of an incredibly unstable car.

Wouldn't recomend in this size to anyone, might be better as a lower profile.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-06 06:59:33
Writing about the Michelin Energy given 49% (195-60-15-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 easy going miles
A cheap hard tyre, i wasn't overly impressed with the rubber throughout the lifespan.
tyre reviewed on 2007-05-31 23:25:19
Writing about the Kenda KAISER KR20 given 49% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10 average miles
I inherited an old Rover 45TD with a set of these things and having always used premium brands previously I was quite impressed by the dry performance even though the noise levels were excessive but most of all they looked good but 10k through the summer and no complaints.

Then it rained, not heavily but on several accasions on a damp/wet road the front end has lets-go all-too easily to the point where I would consider them dangerous (All 3 incidents were below 30mph - 2 x pulling up for a junction and 1 x drifting gracefully across a downhill junction)

I am about to scrap 4 "good" tyres and put-on a set of premiums which is as expensive but nowhere near as bad as ploughing into a ditch/car/child

These things are dreadful in the wet.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-14 17:32:59
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre