SEAT Leon FR 2.0 TFSI Tyres

Drive a SEAT Leon FR 2.0 TFSI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the SEAT Leon FR 2.0 TFSI
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (340) 92% 89% 86% 85% 81% 88% 86% 87% 3,152,253
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (117) 90% 87% 84% 82% 57% 85% 69% 79% 847,613
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (104) 86% 78% 80% 76% 72% 81% 80% 79% 1,090,744
Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico (25) 87% 76% 79% 82% 73% 73% 69% 77% 536,516
Kumho Ecsta LE Sport (20) 78% 73% 73% 71% 73% 77% 68% 73% 244,547
Pirelli PZero Rosso (99) 81% 66% 70% 68% 58% 62% 55% 66% 1,178,262
Kumho Ecsta XT KU37 (11) 72% 60% 63% 60% 65% 68% 57% 64% 72,550
Runway ENDURO 656 (10) 54% 29% 47% 32% 31% 31% 20% 35% 194,200

SEAT Leon FR 2.0 TFSI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 95% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Very good grip in dry and wet, brake is fantastic !!!!
Super confort and low noise for sport tyres.
Road feedback lower than previous bridgestone RE050e, soft shoulder
Wear...i do not know... i only 1000 km.....
Sorry for my very bad english...i'm Italian : )
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-11 20:04:34
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 93% (225-45-17-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 spirited miles
This is great example of how the contemporary tyres are improved over the previous generation in every area, left aside feedback. Replacing the SportContact3, a tyre that really suited my driving style and my car's dynamic characteristics, was a gamble between the brand new SportContact5 and the F1 that paid off at the end, especially considering the noticeable improvement over the wear, at least 20% over the conti. Probably the only reason for grumbling is the limited amound of feedback, a deliberate choice in order to offer high level of comfort.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-27 15:54:24
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta LE Sport given 87% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
These tyres were on the back of my Seat Leon FR TFSI when I bought it and after 2500 mainly wet miles they are very good. Dry grip and wet grip is excellent with plenty of feedback. When pushed hard they start to drift slightly but it is progressive with plenty of feel as to what the tyre is doing. In fairness I've not pushed them too far in the wet as the Kumho Ecsta XTs on the front offer very little grip, but they feel fine especially in comparison.
Road noise is acceptable, they drive well and don't tend to follow changes in road surface and the only real criticism would be their tendency to squirm under heavy braking.
Tyres had about 6mm tread when I got the car and they only seem to have used about 1mm in 2500 miles, will probably put them on the front when the front XTs wear out and buy a new set for the rear.
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-03 11:04:09
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Fitted all 4 on a SEAT LEON FR (200hp) a year ago. At first i was rather cautious as it wat my 1st time with goodyears ever. Progressively i started pushing the tyres even more and more and they've proved to be far better than conti sport contact 3 and p zero nero's and michelin pilot sport 3 i had before. Braking, cornering turn in, they are great on the dry and equally on the wet but they always need some warmup. I recommend them and i would put them on again.
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-20 09:14:53
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 83% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Well, I have had these tyres on for about 300 miles so far and they are just getting scrubbed in. I suspect the reviewer below in the Fabia has not worn the tyres in enough at 100 miles. For the first 300 miles mine were pretty average, but now all the mould release agents etc have come off and the tyres are worn in a little I'm impressed.
Dry grip is on a par with the Pirelli P zero Rosso I had on before, but wet grip is far far better. Noise is down compared to the Pirelli and they seem a more comfortable tyre. The car certainly feels more planted on the road than previous
In regards for value for money, they are amazing at £83 a corner fitted from black circles, compared to £120 a corner for the Pzeros.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-16 11:43:23
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 79% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Bad feedback for sport tyre.....good grip...high wear
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-12 21:20:16
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta XT KU37 given 69% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
These tyres were on the front of my Seat Leon FR TFSI when I bought it and after 2500 miles mainly in the wet I'm looking forward to changing them. Not a bad tyre in the dry but do scrabble for grip under hard acceleration and cornering. In the wet the tyres lose grip far too easily and fail to inspire any real confidence especially when cornering even on just damp roads.
On the plus side road noise is minimal, they drive well, don't suffer badly from changes in road surface and at least when they start to lose grip it is progressive.
The wear seems average for the use and is probably made worse by the lack of grip.
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-03 10:51:04
Writing about the Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico given 59% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Worst "premium" tyres I've ever used.

Fitted as standard to my Leon FR

Horrible wheelspin and wheel bounce pulling out of junctions and even accelerating in 2nd gear. Very poor in the wet. Wet cornering is dreadful, you can feel the tyres start to slide on roundabouts at relatively low speeds

Would definitely not recommend. I'm replacing the fronts with Goodyear Eagle F1 well before they are worn out.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-10 10:03:28
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 57% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
These are the stock tyre on a SEAT Leon FR TFSI and to be honest, I never really expect that much from stock tyres since they're generally decided upon by what corporate deal the manufacturers can strike rather than whether it's a good tyre or not.

In the case of the Rossos, this is also true. They're not an awful tyre by any means, in the dry they're fairly reasonable but wet grip isn't very good (takes an age to get heat into them) and for the price, there are much, much better tyres out there.

If you really must have a set then they'll be fine, but honestly, you'll be far better of with a set of Eagle F1s, Conti Sport Contact 3s or Bridgestone RE050As... alternatively, get a set of Kumho KU31s which will walk all over the Pirellis and pretty much match the others but for a 2/3rds the price!
tyre reviewed on 2010-10-07 14:29:23
Writing about the Runway ENDURO 656 given 24% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I cannot actually find Runway Enduro tyres on the list! but had to choose something so chose wanli! Sorry. I was recommended these by a garage saying they were mid range. They are terrible, the road noise is excessive and the tread pattern is such that half of the rubber has been cut away. There seems little rubber that is in contact with the road.
They are made in china and i recommend that you do not buy them!.
tyre reviewed on 2011-06-29 22:00:48
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement