SEAT Leon FR tdi Tyres

Drive a SEAT Leon FR tdi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the SEAT Leon FR tdi
Ovation W 582 (1) 90% 90% 90% 80% 90% 100% 100% 91% 65,000
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (57) 95% 89% 92% 88% 90% 92% 92% 91% 395,100
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 (12) 84% 91% 86% 85% 88% 83% 93% 87% 115,000
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (225) 91% 90% 86% 85% 74% 84% 82% 85% 2,905,490
Nokian WR D4 (19) 83% 85% 84% 81% 80% 89% 84% 84% 64,096
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (132) 91% 89% 83% 79% 70% 81% 79% 82% 1,575,893
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (167) 85% 94% 80% 79% 61% 84% 75% 80% 1,098,895
Marangoni Meteo HP (14) 79% 88% 74% 68% 72% 82% 85% 78% 55,100
Barum Bravuris 2 (123) 85% 78% 78% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,393,081
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80% 76% 78% 574,601
Michelin Primacy 3 (80) 87% 82% 79% 77% 67% 82% 69% 78% 1,090,695
Lassa Phenoma (15) 80% 77% 73% 65% 88% 79% 81% 78% 171,390
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (51) 90% 85% 83% 82% 58% 79% 62% 77% 376,861
Pirelli P ZERO ROSSO Asimmetrico (25) 87% 76% 79% 82% 73% 73% 69% 77% 536,516
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (150) 83% 76% 77% 76% 73% 75% 78% 77% 2,457,523
Continental Sport Contact 3 (220) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 75% 68% 76% 2,979,297
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (114) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 72% 76% 75% 1,445,372
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (182) 84% 70% 75% 72% 65% 60% 58% 69% 2,987,878
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (49) 82% 68% 75% 66% 64% 60% 57% 67% 638,842
Pirelli PZero Rosso (99) 81% 66% 70% 68% 58% 62% 55% 66% 1,178,262
Mohawk M112 (24) 59% 34% 44% 38% 55% 46% 27% 43% 93,152

SEAT Leon FR tdi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 100% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 100 spirited miles
ok ive only had these tyres on for a few days after getting rid of the worst tyres ever kaiser but they are amazing they have completely changed the handling of my car and with so much torque to the front wheels my tyres couldnt handle it but these just grip and grip even in the wet i only slightly get wheelspin in 2nd gear whereas i used to get it in 2nd, 3rd and 4th. they are so much quieter on the motorway and now its such an enjoyable ride. as they grip so much its made my car feel quicker, and they look sooo good best looking sidewall on any tyre anywhere. they are very reasonably priced aswell at £97 a tyre from tyremen the only place i could find them i thought it was a bargain.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-04 23:00:29
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 93% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 21000 average miles
Ive had these on my seat leon tdi fr, i got 21kmiles out of the rears and only just 10kmiles on the fronts, they done well for me but I prob wouldnt buy again due to the fact that they have gone up to £140 a corner and I think theres other tyres out there that can do similar mileage for less money.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-16 09:33:23
Writing about the Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 given 93% (205-50-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 spirited miles
Excelent tyre and very good price/performance weight!
Super grip on high snow, it saved me for lot of times every time when i was on narrow streets, where the snow is soft and in large quantities.
Also very, very good on wet, with minimum aquaplaning.
On dry roads is more like a performance summer tyre, because it enters in temperature pretty hard, therefore its a bit slippery at brakes (strong, all the way brakes), but when its heated enough, it has an aextremely accurate grip, with no signs of understeer even i pushed the car pretty much onto the limits, despite the diesel engine on my Leon FR, that is heavier that benzines.
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-11 09:29:39
Writing about the Marangoni Meteo HP given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Hi

i have these fitted since nov 2011 ( now feb 2012)
i thought that by buying these i had stopped it snowing completely in the UK.
however, they are great in cold wet weather, clearing the road very well, you can tell its good as the car gets really dirty now.
but this weekend the UK has seen snow that stopped all roads airports etc

i made journeys where previously i wouldn't have got off the drive.
the traction both in driving and stopping are amazing. i was able to pass people who had to creep along and i bet they thought i was an idiot. but the ability of the tryes were so good.
every now and again i would test the brakes ( so you don't get over confident as you still need to take care) and found the grip V good, you do have to watch that others don't follow too close as you can outbrake them, not v good when they are following!!

you can brake on down hill junction and not have hope that there is no-one coming.

however it doesn't stop you getting trapped when the other cars just block the road by being stranded and wheel spinning and still sliding backwards!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

don't forget they are winter tyres and not just snow tyres so you get the benefit when its cold and wet too.

i have considerable driving experience cars motorcycles class 1 HGV ( as it was) both her and abroad with a brother in Zurich so have experience of "proper snow" too

i'm glad i fitted them this winter
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-06 18:02:25
Writing about the Ovation W 582 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Im using this type of tyre on my seat leon fr 225/45 R 17 , i can tell easily that is the best cheap price tyre of all time , last year i used michelin , this year i bought ovation and im so happy with this tyre , especially handling is perfect .
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-22 16:18:24
Writing about the Nokian WR D4 given 86% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 350 average miles
I fitted them 2 weeks ago to a spare set of wheels. Initially they had a dead/vague spot when centre. This has improved over a few hundred miles, I put this down to the release agent wearing off the tire and I also added a 2 more psi from my summer pressures. Now the feel a lot more responsive. Compared to my summer tyres which are 225 45 r17 Dunlop sport maxxx they are quieter and get improved economy around 4 mpg more. Dry braking is as good as the dunlops which have 3-4 mil of tread. I've not pushed them to the limit yet so cannot comment on progressiveness. Very impressed with wet grip and braking far better than the dunlops and nexen winsports on our other car. They exceed the nexens in every aspect particularly cornering where you get quite a lot of tread movement/wobble on the nexens. Haven't noticed tred movement with the nokians. Will report back later when the temps have dropped and have experienced more rain and snow.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-28 19:13:04
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 84% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
this is my 3rd pair of Uniroyal Rainsport 3s i have stuck with these as my choice of tire, previously i used to run on vredestein ultrac sessanatas and continental contisport 3, i went for the Rainsport 3s mainly from reviews, but mostly because of how well they work in the wet, i live up in Aberdeen Scotland so we have plenty of rain, not only do they handle well in the wet but also on the snow, (from yesterday experience)
I have used them on my previous Astra mk4 GSI and my current Leon FR, both front wheel drive,
another plus side is getting the power down at the front when accelerating if you have rubbish grip on the front your not getting the full potential from the cars acceleration, i had Contisport 2s on previous to uniroyals i wont lie they were brilliant tires but towards the end of there life span i just couldn't pull away without a spin, so having the uniroyals back on was like a breath of fresh air!!
i hope this review helped,
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-30 12:49:46
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 2 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 45000 easy going miles
Had these tyres on my front end for over 45k miles (90% of that was motor way driving with a light right food on the m62) More than enough grip in the dry and I only started to worry about wet handling when I was down to 3mm. I've just stuck another set on the front and am equally as happy as I was 45k ago. I now use mainly winding country roads and occasionally have fun with my 200+ ponies and I've never felt worried about the lack of grip. I'll be reposting when these need replacing with the mileage I got out of them now the driving is more suited to eating tyres. Would I buy again? I already have!
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-15 08:35:52
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P given 81% (225-45-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 spirited miles
These tyres came standard from factory on my Seat Leon FR; have got 40000km out of them and only now down to 3mm. I've found these tyres superb in the dry weather and dry roads; car literally grips like a train on rails. But as soon as a little rain comes, the car can become very dicey coming out of roundabouts ect. I'm not entirely sure if this is due to the power of the car and I haven't driven the car with other branded tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-07 14:07:13
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 80% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 spirited miles
Just about to change the tyres on the Leon after an enjoyable 14k miles on the Michelin Pilot Sports. The FR is 170bhp front wheel drive and the previous factory fitted Bridgestone Potensa's were quieter than the Michelins and a little more comfortable but there performance was shocking in the Wet / Ice grip felt almost non existent. The pilot sports on the flip slide have tonnes of grip in all conditions only down side is the road noise is a bit more but for the performance / grip gain its only a minor thing !
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-09 11:52:14
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre