Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon Tyres

Drive a Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (387) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,666,737
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (147) 93% 91% 86% 88% 76% 81% 81% 85% 1,509,357
Neuton NT5000 (62) 89% 78% 82% 77% 84% 85% 86% 83% 698,734
Syron Race 1 plus (15) 86% 81% 74% 74% 84% 86% 83% 81% 73,600
Continental Extremecontact DWS 06 (3) 93% 87% 80% 87% 73% 67% 77% 80% 67,500
GT Radial Champiro HPX (11) 87% 87% 87% 86% 70% 68% 71% 80% 115,000
Kumho IZen KW27 (29) 77% 76% 75% 73% 82% 84% 76% 77% 290,800
Sailun Atrezzo 4 Seasons (3) 77% 77% 73% 80% 70% 70% 90% 77% 16,000
Lassa Snoways Era (11) 77% 75% 76% 75% 76% 79% 73% 76% 174,966
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Kumho Ecsta LE Sport (29) 78% 72% 74% 73% 71% 76% 65% 73% 325,378
Fulda Carat Exelero (16) 74% 79% 69% 73% 72% 69% 59% 71% 194,000
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (200) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 59% 58% 69% 3,359,928
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (47) 74% 68% 62% 62% 65% 55% 54% 63% 379,781

Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho Ecsta LE Sport given 99% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Just bought another set of these tyres for me car after loving the previous set. Really can't fault them at all and they're a lot better than a number of the Bridgestone, Goodyear and Michelin's I've had before!
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-05 14:54:35
Writing about the Neuton NT5000 given 96% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22 spirited miles
I ran a set on my Saab 9-5 Aero after finding the premium brands lasted for on average 12,000 miles of spirited driving, I had tried the well known premium tyres all about the same.
The Neuton was a departure for me as I had always tried to buy good tyres and was nervous of how these would do.
Simply put. These are fantastic, dry grip was a match for the best (most expensive) and wet grip was in the realms of having to be doing silly speeds to provoke a nasty response!
They rode amazingly well very compliant for an XL tyre and were far quieter than the tyres I had previously tried.
I think these are fantastic and found that they are made by a very well known tyre company. I would happily buy them again and did so for my wige's GTi and again they were superb.
The tyres gave me 22,000 miles of service quite outstanding for the price. I would recommend these to anyone looking for a premium budget tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-07 16:16:27
Writing about the GT Radial Champiro HPX given 94% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
What are deamed as budget to mid range tyres, you won't go far wrong with these tyres on your car. They are predictable, give excellent grip in the dry and in the wet, minimising aquaplaning. I am more than happy with these tyres on my 250bhp Saab and i would not hesitate to buy these again. Tyre wear is excellent, road noise is no worse than any other brand of tyre. At the price of £275 for 4 tyres, they offerd me superb value for money. By the way, my style of driving is 'aggresive' or 'pushing it' but the closest match i can select on here is 'spirited'!!
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-03 19:30:19
Writing about the Lassa Snoways Era given 90% (215-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 147000 average miles
I put snoways era on the front of my saab after 21000 miles coming up to winter 2009 and I have never used anything else when they are about 5 mm they go on the back and I put a new pair on the front.
The car has 171000 on it now ,it has snoways all round averages 37 to 38 mpg and I always see at least 50000 miles out of a pair .
These are pretty good tyres and they have often seen me home through deepest snow a foot deep on the final stretch of my journey ,I live in the countryside and snowploughs come around days late.i have driven many miles in my life 500 000 plus on one mercedes alone
In the eighties we had vredestein snow plus they were good but noisy , for the price the quality lassa are jolly good tyres
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-28 10:33:48
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS given 89% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 easy going miles
Well I'm amazed, after using Michelins for 10 yrs, then Continental and goodyear, 18mths ago after a series of punctures at the edge of the tyre I decided to buy some Sailuns after reading the Canadian review, which put them as good as michelins for comfort and grip (most important to me).
Changed the Continentals for Sailuns and the car was quieter, more comfortable ride and at 60 pounds each the next puncture wasn't so painful.
Yes the sidewalls are softer than the Contintals, but on country roads the grip is far superior and on snow and ice I'd never go back to Continentals.
The car is a 250bhp front drive saloon, this is the 4th car of the same type I've owned, so you can guess I've had several types of tyres over the years on the same type of car and for what I need the Sailuns have been the best so far, in fact just ordered a new set to fit before winter, they're that good. As for 'spirited driving' well that's not me but I can see how a softer sidewall would result in a more soggy sporting drive.
I also tow a caravan, hence the 250bhp and these tyres were only half worn after 12,000mls driving a mix of motorways / country roads, 3,000 with the caravan.
Where I live the roads are poor, muddy and pot holed, worse than ever over last 4 years, so I decided to switch to an all weather / cheaper brand.
I had all the doubts about cheap tyres, but after reading the motoring reviews/tests and trying them for myself I'm definitely a convert.
But as they say horses for courses, the general impression seems to be for comfort/price/daily driving get yourself a set of Sailuns, for sporting driving look elsewhere. But I would advise against mixing Sailuns with other 'stiffer' brands, that sounds like a recipe for problems.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-22 11:34:26
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 87% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60000 spirited miles
60000 miles on about 3,5-4 sets of these tyres all together. In a Volvo C3 they performed very good also.
They are excellent tyres! But I'm not so sure if tey give the same in rear wheel drive cars (i.e. MB or BMW)? That is the question.
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-27 02:04:03
Writing about the Syron Race 1 plus given 87% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
After 15000km still running and perform in my old Saab.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-01 15:37:50
Writing about the Kumho IZen KW27 given 86% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 average miles
Overall an excellent tyre - especially good on winter roads - these are winter tyres after all! I've driven in the UK and across the continent to Germany and back in deepest winter. I've driven in the high hills north of Frankfurt with steep snow covered roads and tracks and found the adhesion excellent. No comparison with my usual Michelin summer tyres which would be comparitely useless in these conditions. Normal driving/roadholding is good with a little less steering response than my Michelins - they feel a little softer when changing direction but nothing untoward. In the wet they are not as good as my Michelins but then I did buy them for snow/ice/winter use - especially for the Continent and Germany. They wear well for a softer compound and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-12 17:09:51
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo 4 Seasons given 85% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
After going through a front set of Bridgestones in 5000 miles and winter approaching decided to buy these 4 season tyres and am very impressed so far dry grip as good as bridgestones wet grip excellent noise level is very good and the tyres give good feedback to the driver can't comment on wear as only done about 1000 miles though still look like new, no regrets in buying this tyre and at £94 a pair bargain.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-17 21:18:54
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 79% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Noticably quieter than the Continental Sport Contact 2's that were on my car when I bought it. My car has had a remap so is putting out a lot of torque to the front wheels, meaning that I am close to having to replace the front Eagle F1's after a year and perhaps 10,000 miles. A little disappointing.

Within this time they have performed very well. In wet conditions they generally do well with standing water but will occasionally aquaplane in the heaviest of conditions. Dry conditions a nice sporty, tight feel.

I would recommend these tyres. It's just a shame that they've not lasted longer.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-29 11:36:17
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre