Saab Automobile 93 Aero 1.9 TTiD Tyres

Drive a Saab Automobile 93 Aero 1.9 TTiD? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Saab Automobile 93 Aero 1.9 TTiD
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (116) 96% 87% 90% 86% 84% 83% 91% 88% 928,889
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (145) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 86% 88% 87% 2,645,853
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (62) 83% 86% 82% 78% 87% 87% 91% 85% 705,444
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (49) 86% 82% 79% 78% 75% 80% 83% 80% 409,960
Vredestein Quatrac 3 (48) 81% 86% 78% 75% 76% 76% 80% 79% 539,402
Continental Sport Contact 3 (238) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,130,337
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Continental Sport Contact 5 (174) 88% 84% 80% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,855,881
Rotalla RU01 S Pace (11) 83% 77% 67% 61% 72% 72% 58% 70% 42,800
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (47) 74% 68% 62% 62% 65% 55% 54% 63% 379,781
Zeta Alventi (9) 69% 63% 51% 47% 44% 58% 53% 55% 33,285

Saab Automobile 93 Aero 1.9 TTiD Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 91% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 spirited miles
This is an excellent tyre, not that i've gone for premium brands in the past but the best i've had by a long chalk. i drive fast on duel c/motorway and have always felt confident doing so with this tyre. only once taking a big round about at approx 50 mph did the tyres let me know they were about to give way, so off the throttle and no problems. when the tread got very low (illegal) tramlining became noticable and wasn't so easy to put down my 180 bhp to the front wheels but that's to be expected with little tread left!

front wheels lasted around 16000 miles and back still going very strong after 22k so i consider that good wear rate for the torque i'm kicking out.

i've just upgraded to the conti sport 5 for better fuel efficiency and natural progression. will review that tyre in a few months.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-04 23:49:34
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 85% (225-45-18-)
Driving on for 1000 miles
Great grip in wet and dry. They are quiet but do leave me feeling like the car is floating a little but when needed I know the grip is there. Maybe I'm just getting used to them after my other tyres
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-08 17:41:17
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS given 84% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 250 average miles
I bought these based on what I read on this site and others. So far I have been pleased with the way they have performed. They replaced Dunlop Sport Maxx and I am not missing them yet. The wet grip is not as good as the Dunlops but in every other way they are better. When they do lose grip they are very progressive and you know you are pushing it. I had previously bought a car with cheap nasty Chinese brands on them and they were awful, grip just going when cornering in wet and damp conditions.

There has also been snow and ice recently and these tyres have been fine in that weather. I previously had continental sport contact on the car back in 2010 and in the snow they were awful. The tread pattern was radial with the lateral tread not deep at all and so once part worn down, driving in snow was like a train on icy rails.

I have only done a couple of hundred of miles so cannot comment on wear but will advise if I see any big issues with wear.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-15 17:49:55
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 83% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
I have just replaced the front pair I fitted in March 2014 with an identical set. These are probably overkill for my car but they are the best tyres I've fitted to any of my cars. (Kuhmo Ecsta, Pirelli P6000 (Horrendous!), Yokohama, Uniroyal Rainsport etc)
They originally replaced some Continental Sport Contact 3's which didn't last too long.
When I bought the Michelin PSS I half expected compromised wet grip and a lot more road noise than the Continentals. Whilst noise was similar (a few southern sections of the M25 are terrible for noise) the difference in grip was incredible. Greasy junctions I regularly use, where the Continentals made the ABS and traction control work overtime, were now navigated without either system coming into use at all!
The wear rate has also hugely exceeded my expectations at 25k for the fronts.
Would buy again and recommend to anyone :-)
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-03 01:22:16
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 3 given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-19 10:40:51
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme given 78% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-01 17:16:29
Writing about the Rotalla RU01 S Pace given 69% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
Bought four new tyres for my Saab 9-3 2008. Good tyres with nice grip and handling but a little bit too noisy in my opinion. Very good budget tyres for a "normal" driver.
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-17 20:21:03
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 67% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8000 spirited miles
Had continental sport contact 3 which did 20,000 miles on the front of my Saab 93 aero.bought sport contact 5 this year to replace,excellent grip in wet and dry but wear is very poor,need replacement after 8000 miles.going back to sport contact 3 which are almost as good but last much longer
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-01 17:31:37
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 34000 spirited miles
Just replaced a full set of these after lasting 35k I couldnt believe how long they lasted...but the noise was unbearable, the dron was ridiculous on motorways, not sure if it was the Saab but I cant see why nobody else has commented on the noise much.

I swapped to Michelin super sports reading that they were quieter but how wrong was I! Just bedding in a full set of 225/45/18 Super sports and currently regretting it - the drone is unbearable over 60mph - just imagine the wind blowing at high speeds down your street whistling a merry tune - that's Michelin sports for you!
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-02 14:05:26
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 44% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 7000 easy going miles
Very disappointed with the tyre wear - front tyres are 65% worn after 7000 driving locally only! When queried this with the UK company, spoke with the Customer Services Manager who thought they were racing tyres? Cost about £120 each; won't buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-13 18:17:05
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre