Skoda MK1 Octavia VRS Tyres

Drive a Skoda MK1 Octavia VRS? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Skoda MK1 Octavia VRS
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (56) 88% 83% 80% 76% 86% 85% 85% 83% 526,200
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (49) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78% 74% 80% 393,670
Infinity Ecomax (24) 78% 72% 72% 68% 76% 74% 82% 75% 246,220
Nexen N8000 (74) 80% 75% 69% 66% 68% 79% 71% 73% 536,342
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (50) 79% 72% 72% 69% 69% 72% 60% 70% 550,624
Barum Bravuris 3 (6) 72% 63% 75% 67% 63% 68% 72% 68% 44,000
Federal 595EVO (38) 73% 45% 68% 64% 71% 55% 56% 61% 422,353

Skoda MK1 Octavia VRS Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 96% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Had 4 of these fitted to my Skoda Octavia VRS to replace the Uniroyal RainSport 2s. Straight away, what a difference, they are so much quieter, and much firmer around the twisty's. The comfort is also notice and there is much less road noise transfered through the cabin. I would also say these are as good if not better in the wet. The biggest difference I have found is fuel economy...with the Uniroyal's I could only get about 26mpg around town and at most 38mpg on the motorways at 70mph. With these I am seeing 30mpg+ around town and 42/43mpg on the motorway driving in the same fashion. At 1st I couldn't believe the figures but you can actually feel the difference.

Very, very impressed. So much so, I have just ordered a set of 4 for my Mk2 Golf. Will update once I have covered some miles.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-22 10:14:25
Writing about the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport given 93% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on track for 0 average miles
the 3rd time tha i put it to my car Track day car and daily car no comments amzing tyre

tyre reviewed on 2016-10-30 16:34:17
Writing about the Federal 595EVO given 87% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
Amazing tire....overal
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-09 20:37:48
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 3 given 83% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I'm spectacularly fussy about my tyres - being an ex racer and track-day instructor, I shamelessly obsess over rubber, even on my road cars!

I've been running Michelin PS3's on my Porsche 911, which have been great, and so going with what I know, have been using the same tyres on my daily drive Skoda Octavia VRS for a few years now. However, if I am honest, I have not really been that impressed with them on this car....they perform fairly well, but longevity is not a strong point at all.

Coupled with the fact that the old Skoda is ageing and worth buttons these days, to spend close to another £500 on a set of Michelins again last month seemed to be a wee bit unnecessary.

So I started looking for an alternative. After a good deal of searching, reading and inviting comment on the internet and one or two specialist car forums I frequent, the Barum Bravarius 3 was mentioned more than a few times.

Digging deeper - I found that they're a 'mid-range' tyre (and NOT budget!) and come very highly recommended by people who seem to know what they're talking about, and aren't 'brand snobs' - they just appreciate performance and value, whatever the name.

I also found that Barum is a Czech company, owned by Continental. Well, my Skoda is also a Czech product, representing the thinking man's car of choice - so it seemed a good match. This was re-inforced after I looked on the Barum website and found an endorsement explaining that this tyre is recommended by them for Skoda Octavia.

So with this in mind, coupled with a price of just over 200 quid for a set of four fitted onto the Skoda's 17 inch wheels, I took the plunge.

And well....first impressions were extremely favorable. A pleasing combination of low noise, good feedback, grip and traction all round. Great so far.

But now after the first 1,000 miles - the tyres have scrubbed in and settled to the car's geometry, and I actually can't believe how good they are. I honestly don't think that they could be beaten, especially for the price, and I feel like I have 'discovered' one of those well-kept secrets that only those in the know use and appreciate...

My advice - give these a go, before the whole world catches on and the price goes up. I am sure that you won't regret it!

tyre reviewed on 2016-05-13 04:39:32
Writing about the Infinity Ecomax given 80% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
The label that was on my tires is Fuel :E and Wet:B
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-11 18:11:42
Writing about the Infinity Ecomax given 77% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
The Infinity Ecomax replaced the Pirelli Zero Nero.
After 600 miles they are ready to get the best of them.
In the dry they are good from 1st gear. When cornering i feel the soft sidewalls(fitted polyrethane silent blocks).In the wet I find I have to warm the tyre up with 1-2 miles of careful driving before being spirited.
Ware: After 13000 miles seems to have about 10000 miles more.
The noise in the cabin is acceptable.
Pirelli's was better except wear.
I get these fitted and balanced 260 euros, allmost 200 euros cheaper than Pirelli's.
It's good tyres and i'm thinking buying them again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-25 10:34:59
Writing about the Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 given 71% (205-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
These were on a Octavia VRS i purchased recently. Have now driven them for approx 1000 miles. Must admit to being fairly impressed, Ive tried many tyres over the years and the cheaper ones are usually not worth having - frequently being OK in the dry but awful in the wet.

These tyres have proven to be capable in both the dry and the wet, which for such a reasonably priced tyre is rare. No idea on wear as yet, but I am tempted to buy a set again when these wear out.

Only thing I would say is that they seem to need inflating slightly more than some other tyres, perhaps a slightly soft sidewall, this can lead to a very slightly harder ride than ideal.
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-06 13:15:50
Writing about the Nexen N8000 given 31% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
The worst tyre i ever put too soft that in every turn or change direction i was felt my car loose i can say tha this tyre turn my car handling to worst!!!
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-30 16:39:12
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre